Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

Hello, I've been involved with the sun Valley jazz festival for over 25 years. the last 10 years I have chaperoned our current Miss Idaho(Miss America) contests as she hosted the festival. it is such a rewarding function. it enables fine musician and our older and younger community to par take in a wealth of music. All of the Miss Idaho contestants have named this appearance to be one of their top three.

it is so important to keep this genre of music alive and well.... Keep jazzin

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Our volunteer work at the Sun Valley Jazz Festival is always a highlight of our year. We travel the world around 8 months of the year and are so proud that our little home state of Idaho provides such an outstanding experience that easily matches other worldwide events and venues. The SVJF is always a very high quality experience in every way...music, organization, facilities, reasonable cost, beautiful venues, gorgeous surrounding area, professionalism, friendliness, fun, romance, etc. etc. etc. The organizers, especially Sonne, the Volunteer Mgr., makes our work a very enjoyable experience. We especially appreciate her efforts to schedule our work times convenient to our personal desires and needs. Patrons frequently comment how volunteers really enjoy their service and also ask us how they can become volunteers themselves. This event, and the opportunity to volunteer, is one of Idaho's nicest secrets, and usually takes people very pleasantly by surprise when they discover it. I wish somehow we could publicize it even more, because those who finally discover it usually return again and again. A major discovery of ours that causes us to never miss it is that the music is not just jazz alone, but also includes big band, gospel, R & B, Rock & Roll, Country, Classical, blue grass, etc....plus, dancing venues and lessons. We are in our 70's, nearing our Golden Anniversary, and fall in love again each time we go! Dick and Lawana Johnson

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The best 5 days of the year are in October at the Sun Valley Jazz Festival! My husband and I have attended since 2000. We have been volunteers for 4 years.The organizers treat the volunteers like "gold".They consider your wishes when making out schedules and appreciate you being there. We enjoy being part of this friendly atmosphere. The organization of the venues and free transportation is all very well done. The music is wonderful and varied with great talent from the young musicians to the more seasoned. The musicians enjoy performing in this beautiful setting for people who LOVE the music. Standing ovations are many to let the performers know they are appreciated. We look forward to this event every year! We always come away feeling upbeat and happy. As we drive back to Colorado we have many CD's to relive the music that ended too soon. Nettie & Bruce

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My first exposure to the Sun Valley Jazz Festival was in 1995; in 1997 I began volunteering and haven't missed a festival. Being a volunteer gives you an all inclusive feeling. Besides being helpful to the attendees and enjoying wonderful music, we are constantly being thanked for our help and appreciated by the Founders' family, the musicians, other volunteers and, most outwardly, by the volunteer coordinator, who does everything in her power to maintain a smooth working volunteer experience. Sun Valley is a beautiful setting, and the towns people are welcoming and friendly. This American- born jazz music is on the decline so the importance of this festival is one of awareness, promotion, and survival. In the last few years we have seen more young people participating in and enjoying the jazz at the Jamboree.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

A few years ago my husband and our friends came to the SunValley Jazz. We experience one of the most enjoyable days of music in a beautiful surroundings . We were greeted by volunteers that made us feel they were really happy to be a part of the festival. We talked about it and decided we wanted to become part of the family of volunteers . We joined about 5 years ago. What a great experience. Each year we meet new friends, the music continues to be outstanding and the sponsors fantastic. This year I was given the honor of becoming site manager for the IceRink. I had one of the greatest group of volunteers making my job fun. Thank you directors and fellow volunteers for making 5 days in October a time we look forward to and plan for the rest of the year. Special thanks to Carol,Jeff and Sonnie. If you haven't met them you're missing a great experience

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Sun Valley Jazz Jamboree is one of the most heart-warming events I’ve become involved with. The music is varied enough to appeal to almost every music lover. The Jamboree is not restricted to merely jazz music, it includes dance classes and competitions, movie day, vocal class, and other fun activities. The venues are well-thought out and easily accessed. The musicians are the best of the best and are very accessible to patrons; their love of music shows throughout their sessions and their planned or unplanned jam sessions. The volunteers are a happy, friendly FAMILY, with the Festival Directors and super-friendly Volunteer Coordinator as the family head. The managers of each area of the festival quickly become friends. I first became involved with the Sun Valley Jazz Jamboree to spend time with a friend who had moved to the East Coast, but became part of the family after just one year. I would greatly miss this event should I ever be unable to attend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This was my first year of being a volunteer at the Sun Valley venue for the Jazz Jamboree. It is so refreshing to volunteer for an event that everyone comes out of the performances smiling and happy. The feedback after each performance was always positive and "upbeat". The talent and professionalism of the groups that perform is second to none! The variety of bands chosen gives the guest an opportunity to experience different styles of jazz. The food at the venues is delicious and reasonable and the venues are easy to go from one to the other. I hope to be involved with this Jazz Jamboree for many years to come. This is one jazz event not to be missed!!! Nancy Mihalic

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My wife and I have been much involved in the Sun valley Jazz Jamboree for the past decade as Site Managers of one of the largest venues. We have the fun of enlisting many of our friends to help us and have become our extended family. The musical talent that comes together every October is just amazing. When we look at the impact the SVJJ Jamboree is having on both young and old, we are renewed each year and reminded of how fortunate we are to have this a part of our Community. Lynn & Sharon Bockemohle

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have attended the Sun Valley Jamboree for the last 11 years and it is without exception our favorite event. The bands are supurb as is the setting with all its venues. They do a great job of integrating the Sun Valley and vicinity comunity into the event. For many young musicans and their bands it is wonderful to see them develop and prosper. It is such a pleasure to be part of large gathering with such polite and caring people. Zane and Betty Smith, Springfield, OR

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Although it was my first year at the Jamboree, I did one thing absolutely right, attending with two jazz lovers who'd been to the Jamboree since its first years of creation. It is so obvious that the performers are world-class musicians. Being around so many people who appreciate good music is an awe-inspiring experience. Many times so poignant I was close to tears. I'm a journalist and good with words, yet am at a loss trying to describe the feeling present during that week. I'll give it a weak shot: Camaraderie, spirit, a common beauty, soul. My only regret is that I've missed so many years in the past, not understanding what Sun Valley's got going that last week of October. I'm now a jazz convert, something I'll share with my siblings, children, grandchildren and friends. Huge bravos to those who worked so hard to put this together! http://appetiteforidaho.blogspot.com/2012/11/sun-valley-music-in-mountains.html ---Look, you even inspired a blog. Loved every minute, can't thank you enough. ~Amy Larson

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers