Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
February 12, 2013

On January 25th, 2013, I watched and helped my friend stand on his skis for the first time in 2 years after having a major stroke. Jeff was a complete compassionate and professional teacher who helped me put a huge smile back on my friends face. I saw life pour back into my friend which brought tears of joy to my eyes. Your organization is a real asset to the world and I hope that more people see what this organization does for those who struggle with the cards they are dealt. My hat is off to you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The diversity and efficacy of their programming is outstanding; not only is their one-on-one attention unrivaled, but their follow-up with all their participants is one of a kind!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

In our small community with numerous non profits; Sun Valley Adaptive Sports sets the bar for comprehensive outreach year-round for both summer and winter therapeutic sports offered to a wide range of participants. From local children with challenges of all kinds to a Nationally recognized Armed Services program for PTSD, TBI, and physical injuries. The SVAS staff and community understand the symbiotic relationship to reaching out to anyone with a challenge and the long term benefit of learning a new sport or a coping mechanism through outdoor activities. I have been privileged to participate with family and local friends in the program and have seen the results over many years impact many people from all walks of life. I have taken the role of volunteer and donor at SVAS and am proud to acknowledge that over 80 percent of the SVAS funds donated goes towards their programs. From a small grass roots organization to a Nationally acclaimed Veterans' program, Higher Ground, SVAS is an organization the Wood River Valley can be proud of!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012

This was the best retreat we have ever been on! They made the wives feel special and welcome! Like we really mattered.it brought us together as a couple closer then we have been since my husband has been home from deployment!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012

When I got home from 2 years in Iraq I was a mess. Angry at the world, convinced that my injuries would keep me from being social or even wanting to garden. Between PTSD, TBI and numerous physical limitations I couldn't relate to people. Going to the Sun Valley Adaptive Sports, Higher Ground - Veteran's in Arms Program was the best experience that could have happened to me. The thing that happened to me opening up about feelings to others I knew could relate. The bond we developed was no simple thing. We understand what each other is going through and know that we are all there for each other, forever. It doesn't get any better than that. And the staff were ALL phenomenal. If I could I would buy a home right next door to them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sun Valley Idaho was the location of the retreat. Beautiful and serene. Even the dogs were happy. I learned that with a little boost I can leave the house without wanting to lose my temper or be hypervigilant... mostly. They taught me it is never to late to learn a new way to do old things.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have to look awfully hard to find what to change.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

How did you find this group?

I found this group through the Wounded Warrior Program.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I've learned that it helps to talk about what bothers me. I didn't used to believe it would do any good to open the old wounds but it does help. I found if I just said what was on my mind there will be those who have gone through the same thing and can suggest ways to deal with it.

August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

The folks at SVAS and Higher Ground are some of the greatest and most giving folks I've ever had the pleasure to meet. In the space of about 2 weeks, my wife and I went from not knowing anything about this program to being blessed that such a program exists. The staff took care of all the details and continues to follow up, even years after. From the initial phone call asking about my interest in attending, to program information about TSA's Veterans airport escorts, to helping me by letting me know that I'm not the only guy going through this and giving me tools to make my life better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 30, 2012

I attended the SVAS Higher Ground women's program and it was amazing. They took a group of women with severe PTSD and gave us hope again. It was the first time I felt "normal" since returning from Iraq. Every need we could have possibly thought of was met, and then some. They treated us like we were worthy of being treated not only as "normal" human beings, but even better. As if we had done something great (most of us barely believed we were even human anymore, let alone worthy of praise and adulation.). To anyone that dares to badmouth this program, clearly you have not walked in our boots and lived with the grief, panic and frustration of PTSD, nor have you found the relief offered at SVAS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

Sun Valley Adaptive Sports and Higher Ground was by far the best veteran camp I have attended. I am a OIF/OEF Veteran who has suffered 2 TBI's and a spinal cord injury. The staff and volunteers at Sun Valley Adaptive Sports taught me how to snow ski. It was amazing, I am now being scouted for the paralympic team and have Higher Ground to thank, they opened that gateway for me. Without organizations like this, many veterans stay confined to their own issues. However, at camp, I learned that many of the veterans I met, deal with the same issues. Bert and the team is AMAZING!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012

As a Disabled Iraqi vet with Traumatic brain injuryTBI, PTSD, and 13 surgeries to repair me, it left me feeling unable to do anything. As a very active outdoor person prior to the war it was very depressing to do nothing for years after my injuries. SVAS took my father and I fishing and showed me how to get around outdoors again. Along with the other nine disabled veterans with me, smiles were found, confidence restored and hope for our future. Airfare, transportation, first class meals, first rate guides and councling provided during the trip. I don't know of any veteran that has gone to SVAS and not had a great experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

SVAS is a most incredible organization. I am an injured Combat Vet from the Iraq war. When I came back from the war, I was pretty much closeted and afraid to do the adventurous things I used to do, it just seemed impossible. SVAS took me, and my comrades, through a week where we didn't just ski - we were taught life changing strategies. They really care that we care about ourselves, and care about each other. So, not only did I go from bunny hill to actually going down a mountain; I went from being scared about my future life to embracing it. I am a MUCH better person because of SVAS.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I took the confidence they gave me and started bike riding and scuba diving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it available to more veterans.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

My Veterans Administration Counseler.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To be more self confident, to not let fear stop me from trying. I am more active and more involved in the community. This year I am even the Cubmaster for the local Cub Scout Pack.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers