Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I have been involved peripherally with this wonderful organization as a volunteer. They fulfill a great need for those who can benefit from an assistance dog. The staff here is amazing, doing lots of outreach projects such as providing dogs for inmates and working with them to train the dogs to be good service dogs. They get many of their service dogs from local shelters, providing yet another valuable service. They manage to do all this on a shoestring, with a dedicated staff and volunteer force. This is just a wonderful organization. I am proud to be associated with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

My husband and I were joint applicants for a dog, and we brought home a beautiful Golden Retriever just this month. There is no way to fully express our joy and gratitude for this incredible gift! He has truely changed our lives for the better. During training we met trainers and other volunteers and were very impressed with their thougherness and dedication. They care about the future of both their dogs and their clients. Overall, they are awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What an amazing organization! It just doesn't get any better - bringing together the best of humans and animals. I've been volunteering for Summit for quite some time now, yet ever year I'm impressed again by their professionalism and dedication. I love the people and the dogs, and it's all for such a great cause. I'm looking forward to being part of this group for many years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

A great organization with great people and wonderful dogs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As a psychologist and a longtime volunteer for Summit, I have witnessed the amazing changes a service dog can make in the quality of so many people's lives. Volunteering to interview applicants and assist in matching them with service dogs has been an extremely rewarding experience. Additionally, I have been very impressed with the dedication and integrity of the people working in the organization and the quality of their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

As I write this review, my service dog Togo is cuddled up next to me on the bed. There is no greater healing than this sensation of Togo gently breathing, with his body snug against my leg. Togo and I just completed our training together this month. There truly are no words to properly express my new life with Togo. Summit Assistance Dogs does so much more than matching people with their forever companion, they bring unconditional love into people's lives. When I applied for a service dog with Summitt Assistance Dogs, I had just lost my previous dog to cancer. They were so determined to find me a match to ensure my quality of life did not continue to decline. The expertise and dedication of the staff and trainers to find my match was absolutely incredible. After meeting Togo for the first time, I fell absolutely in love. Thankfully, Togo chose me as well. The training Togo and I went through was extensive and thorough. Ensuring that not only would I be competent in handling Togo, but that our bond together was complete. The staff and trainers did everything possible to work with my disabilities and supported me in every aspect of the application, matching and training process. I feel as if I've made life-long friends. It's not often that people can say they have changed a life. Well, the people of Summit Assistance Dogs get to go home every night and know that they have changed so many lives and continue to do so. It's obvious that everyone at Summit is there because they have a passion for what they do. I will be forever greatful to this amazing organization and the people who made sure that my life will be forever enriched by the skills and love of my boy Togo.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

LucSherry wrote: I received a service dog from Summit 2 years ago. I can't express fully, through words, how having a Summit dog has enhanced the quality of my life. Summit is very conscientious when it comes to placing their service dogs; they care that the right dog matches with the right person, and they're VERY good at knowing how to do that. Summit follows up, and stays in touch with their clients. Should a situation arise where dog and client have difficulty in meshing as a team, Summit's exceptional trainers will willingly work with them until the issue has been resolved. This organization's cornerstone is one of integrity, and compassion. They make a profound impact on the lives of the clients which they serve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Volunteering for Summit Assistance Dogs has been a pleasure of mine for at least 10 years. It is one of those experiences that fulfill the pledge that one gets far more out of the time spent than those to whom the benefit is given. In any capacity, my relatively minimal contribution has been welcomed and appreciated and it is this feeling of belonging that encourages us further. We volunteers are proud to be associated with everyone (and every DOG) at Summit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I had raised service dogs for another group, so I knew what kind of training I thought was best. When I was in the need of a service dog myself, I did a lot of research. Summit Assistance Dogs was one of two schools I thought I could work with. During my interview process, the staff let me interview them as well. I choose to apply for a Summit Assistance Dog. I am very happy! My match with Murphy was perfect! The trainers evaluate each dog separately as well as each client's needs. Matching the pair is very important to the staff. I am now in the process of retiring Murphy and will be applying for a successor dog from Summit Assistance Dogs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was placed with my service dog Titus from Summit a few years back and it was one of the best experiences of my life. The trainers and staff there are incredibly competent and patient. During the intensive 2 week training course they helped train me to become a dog handler and worked with my needs as a disabled person to make sure that my dog knew what I needed. My time with Titus since has been incredibly meaningful and rewarding beyond my expectations. He does all the things you might expect from a service dog. Retrieve dropped items, understand and follow commands, and even open doors. But, it is his wonderful ability to melt social barriers that has changed the way I see myself in public and led to so many interesting encounters with people I would have been too shy to meet on my own. Summit and Titus have enriched my life, but there's still so many people in need of a dog. Please, help Summit grow so that more people can have a Titus of their own!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers