Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

My daughter Drew received a companion/helper dog from Summit in the Spring of 2010. Drew was diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy when she was 6 months old. She is in a wheelchair and physically she relies on others to do most things for her. Drew says the day she received her dog, Feather, was one of the best days of her life. Feather and Drew have a special connection and they love each other. Summit is a wonderful organization. They have brought a lot of joy to Drew's life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

My name is Emma and I am 5 years old. Just before my fourth birthday my legs started hurting so bad that I couldn't walk. My mom and dad had to carry me a lot, but they thought I was just jealous because I had a new baby brother that got to be carried everywhere. But then at my fourth birthday party my mom and dad bought me an American Girl doll and I barely smiled because my legs and arms hurt so bad. I was so miserable I even let my best friend Megan open all my presents for me. After my birthday party, my parents took me to Children's Hospital emergency room. About two weeks later, I was diagnosed with a rare, incurable, auto-immune disease called Juvenile Dermatomyositis. Basically this disease causes my body to attack it's own healthy muscle tissues causing joint pain and skin rash. About six months later, a friend of my moms suggested we should apply for a therapy dog from Summit Assistance Dogs. I got to meet lots of different dogs, but a Golden Retriever named Anya fell in love with me and I fell in love with her immediately. In August we finally got to take Anya home with us. We are best friends. My mom and dad say that we are so blessed by all the people at Summit and we wouldn't even have Anya if it wasn't for them. I am very happy. Love, Emma Smiddy (age 5)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Summit Assistance Dogs is a small organization with a life changing, lasting impact. For the select few that receive service dogs each year, their life substantially changes. Receipients have described the impact of their disability (whether caused by accident or disease) as isolating them to an island from their old life and the rest of the world. Having a service dog has allowed them to build roads off the island back into 'normal' society. Whether it allows them to get out of the house more, have more freedom in doing actions on their own, or feeling more safe in their daily activities - we are talking about a life changing impact. Summit has also expanded their impact to include allowing prisoners to re-learn compasion and relationship building by performing some of the training for service animals, trying to match service animals with veterans in support of PTSD recovery, and always trying to provide increasing numbers of dogs they can train and place. This is a organization that operates significantly based off of volunteer hours and individual donations - so you can know any money or time contributed goes directly to helping those in need - in a life changing way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I volunteer with Summit Assistance Dogs. They are a great organization that really cares about their dogs, training them well and providing their clients with the best fit. They care about all the details and will make sure that their dogs and their clients are in good hands at the end of the day. Highly recommend them to anyone as a great organization to use or support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I am a support and resource coordinator in the state of Washington, I have recommended several families to Summit . Their care in placement and matching individuals and dogs is wonderful. The quality of training is excellent . Their dedication to providing a service to individuals with a disability is remarkable. I have had the privilege of knowing an individual who received a service dog from them very well. It gave me the opportunity to see the care they gave in training, placement, follow up and support. I was also lucky enough to observe what an amazing difference the service dog made in the life of the young lady he was placed with. They are inseparable friends and a seamless working team. Independence,friendship,joy, acceptance are only a few things the service animal brought to this young lady's life. I would highly recommend supporting this great nonprofit in the amazing work they do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

What I love about Summit Assistance Dogs is that the dogs provided to the adults and children with disabilities not only provide assistance, they are a loyal companion and in some cases, when possible, the assistance dog has been rescued. Not only is Summit helping people with disabilities, they are helping dogs too. It's just a great organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Volunteering with Summit Assistance Dogs has been challenging, filed with laughter and of course tears when it is time to send 'my' charge off to the next phase of training. But then I get to work with another pup....and eventually getting to know the staff, recipients and fellow volunteers and we share the joy of each new dog-handler partnership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I have voluntered for Summit for over 4 years now. It's amazing the job they do, their professionalism and the end results of their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I received a Summit dog to provide therapy for my classroom of special needs students. My students are excited to come to school everyday to see "Daisy ". Not only does Daisy help my students emotionally, but I have found that test scores and reading levels have improved with the students who receive Daisy's therapy. I am so thankful to Summit for helping me improve the lives of my students.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

This is just a great organazation...its people...its mission and vision...its careful use of funds....takes great care of the dogs.....serves the community well......matches well with its clients.....a hug and well done for all who advance the goods of Summit Assistance Dogs.... they not only get 5 stars from they also get 5 woofs from my dog Sophie...Me Ke Aloha Pumehana

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers