Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Our program, which facilitates leadership and literacy development through wilderness-based programming, partners with Summit Adventure three days a year. Summit provides the facilitation, instruction, and gear for rock climbing and rappelling experiences in the Sierra Nevada.

Summit
Adventure's staff includes very competent facilitators and highly enthusiastic and compassionate instructors. Our students are often terrified and way outside of their comfort zones, and yet Summit empowers them to accomplish something they never dreamed was possible. Every single one of our participants concludes their climbing days with Summit feeling proud and possessing more confidence than ever.

Summit conducts safe experiences using systems and gear that are trustworthy. They empower youth to trust the gear and to trust one another as they rely on their peers for support. Summit facilitates well-rounded, holistic, growing experiences for youth and adults alike!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I teach at a Christian High School in the Bay Area and we bring our entire Freshman class to the Yosemite mountains with Summit Adventure. Over the last several years they have worked with us to develop a program that fits our needs and achieves our goals. Summit Adventure provides an opportunity for our students to be challenged and step out of their comfort zone in a way that many have never done before. Our goals for the trip are 1) class bonding, 2) personal growth, and 3) spiritual growth. We have been very happy with the way these goals have been met and exceeded.

The biggest thing for me is that Summit "gets" our organization and has been able to create something that works for us. They aren't static. And best of all, they have leadership and staff that really love the Lord and make significant investments in our own students.

I will say that after working with Summit for 5 years, that the first year or 2 wasn't perfect. There were definitely areas that needed improving. But Summit really stepped up and we are very happy with our program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The nature of their program and work means that their staff turnover is high. I would love it if every year we came, we saw a lot of the same staff. Even though there is a lot of new staff every year, I have been very happy with their professionalism and quality.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have been around Summit "people" for the past 6 years. This is a dynamic group of people that truly follow after God and are passionate about what they do. Summit personal is comprised of that rare breed that can toe the line between the slightly crazy adrenaline junkie and reliable, responsible and safety concientious. They understand the importance of God's magnificant Creation and how being surrounded by only it has a dramatic effect on us. I believe as with any outdoor ministry, whether it be a backpacking course or a camp, one week of ministry can equal 6 months at home. Out in the middle of "nowhere" surrounded by God and His creation, breaking bread, worshipping, sweating together 24 hours a day is a one of a kind experience. Based on the careful planning, passion, and excitement I have witnessed over the years I would highly recommend Summit Adventure to anyone looking to strengthen relationships with God, family, brothers and sisters, friends, and/or co-workers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Selfishly I would make it closer to me.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I was a student in the semester - long study abroad semester that Summit Adventure puts on, and it was revolutionary to my way of thinking and studying the world around me. The leaders there are truly awe-inspiring in their devotion to Christ-centered lives and their spreading of adventurous opportunities.
We connected with one another back country skiing in California, back packed through Death Valley, and spent six weeks in Ecuador mountaineering. Throughout all of the challenges the instructors worked alongside of us to facilitate our growth as leaders by providing ample opportunities to lead each other through.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I was a student in the ISAS semester that Summit Adventure offers, and found it to be a transformational experience. Whether it was hiking in Death Valley or service learning in Ecuador, I think Summit Adventure has the power to change lives. I would recommend the program to any student looking for education and an experience, a more complete learning experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

Recently introduced to Summit Adventure after a backpacking trip with my wife. It was our first time in the outdoors together and reminded us of how important it is to have time away - to have the space to reflect and be quiet. It also showed how the outdoors can reveal things about a person and deepen relationships. We recently had a chance to attend their annual fundraiser (kinda just jumped right in to get to know them as a result of the person who introduced them to us) - a ride from Death Valley to Mt. Whitney - 135 miles! People were great and inspiring. Though we rode for just a portion of the ride, we got to get a glimpse of how adventure experiences can bring people closer together and reveal things about them that could be hidden in less extreme environments. I didn't necessarily get it before, but I get now how their experiences could have a life long impact and transformative affect on people of all ages and walks of life.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I volunteered with summit adventure at their annu fundraiser, the Whitney classic. This was a great experience and exceeded my expectations. I was welcomed into a fun and faithfilled community. Although it was a long day, it was inspirational to watch the riders finish the 135 mile ride over three mountain passes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish I could of seen everyone finish! But was needed to help with other things

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I have attended several Summit events, including a Service and Mountaineering Course in Ecuador. It was very well organized and complex, involving service time at a school up in the mountains, group interaction and getting to know Quito and both accliimatization and high altitude volcano mountaineering experiences. Through it all tthe team moved with solid planning, interaction and confidence. There was always an element of safety. The group interaction was planned and effective, members were deeply moved by the experiences as well as the tie back to their own relationship with God.

Summit has a way of getting people out of their comfort zone, examine where they are in life, and strengthen or establish their relationship with God.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expose it to more students, families, and organizations

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Our family first went on a course with Summit Adventure in 1993. It was a life changing 7 day adventure. I have frequently thought back to those moments and have continued to learn from the experiences and insights. We have since been on 4 additional courses in addition to volunteering with another course. Since 1993 we have financially supported Summit as we totally believe in it's mission of changing lives and relationships through experiences in the "great outdoors" and through serving others in need in Ecuador and in the "rough" neighborhoods of Los Angeles. The staff of Summit Adventure in the last 20 years has changed many times, but EVERY staff person has been exceptional. They are loving, funny, super experienced and knowledgeable of the technical skills, they are insightful and considerate as they minister to all they encounter. Summit Adventure staff is intentional about seeking God's guidance. I love Summit Adventure and it is a fun ministry to be a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I want Summit Adventure to be available nation wide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

Summit Adventure is AWESOME! I recently went on the Summit Adventure Adventures in Leadership course - a nine day backpacking trip in the Ansel Adams Wilderness. Going into this, I had absolutely no backpacking experience but that didn't matter one bit! The instructors were both so patient and understanding, and they new what they were doing! During every part of the trip I felt so safe and included, yet I was also challenged in personally, spiritually, and physically. I would go on a trip with this organization any day, and i do, indeed, hope to go again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have AC put in at their base camp.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers