Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was a student in this program during the summer of 2010, and it was a great experience. I was exposed math, computer science and physics that I would otherwise not have seen until attending college at MIT. This program is an amazing chance for bright high school students to meet other people with their interests and learn a ton.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Summer Science Program is definitely the best experience in my life. I am from China and that was my first experience in America! I met most interesting and intellectual kids from all over the world, and they were just like me, happy, caring, energetic and loving everything around us! We lived together in New Mexico Tech for 5 weeks and learned Astronomy, Physics, Mathematics and Programming from college professors ! The cool things are we drove to observatory all the time and observed our asteroid. Then we got pictures to determine our asteroid's orbit. The most challenging part for me was programming. I hadn't got any programming experience before. But I was immediately intoxicated into the fun and creative things about programming. All of us worked in our computer lab until 3 A.M often. People are really nice. Because of my poor spoken English, I could only talked very slowly. But everyone was nice and super patient when I expressed my ideas and they all wanted to work with me and taught me every confusing problems that I didn't get from hard courses. Besides this, we "smartest nerds" had a lot of fun in other things. Our great TAs taught us swing-dancing and we danced in campus, in old town, in July 4th BBQ, in airport...We had movie nights when everyone were huddled together laughed or cried at our favorite movies. We also had a bunch of field trips, which definitely gave me a totally new impression of how scientists work and how the world's most advanced institute do their researches. I really love the feeling that those kids who share the same interests with me became my life-long friends! Now I am in China but I miss them all the day! I keep telling my friends and kids from my school to apply to SSP next year!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Summer Science Program was the most challenging, yet amazing experience I have ever had! Not only have I learned calculus, physics, astronomy, and much more (more than I could ever have imagined), I also got the chance to work with 35 brilliant students and faculty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2011

more

September 19, 2011

This program was great! I met bright, curious high schoolerse from all around the world, and I learned more about calculus, astronomy, and physics than I ever could have dreamed! Also, SSP introduced me to programming for the first time, and though I probably don't want to make programming my livelihood, I am definitely glad I learned this important skill and I certainly find it fun and engaging.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am now a better problem solver and a better time-manager. Also, I realized that I can find success if I try hard to attain it, and I now know that I definitely want to go into science in college and beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make it six weeks instead of five! It was very rushed because six weeks of material had to be squeezed into five weeks, and with six weeks, I would feel as though I understood the topics more (plus, there would be more time to do fun things that won't have to be "mandatory fun time").

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers