Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I attended SSP as a student 30 years ago, served as a teaching assistant for a couple summers, and have been a board member for the past 7 years. This is a truly exceptional program that changed my life. The chance to immerse myself for an extended period in challenging science and a true peer community of fellow students convinced me to pursue a lifelong career in physics (I'm now a physics professor and researcher). The mix of theoretical and team-based practical work was fantastic -- and knowing that the orbital elements we calculated for our asteroids would be added into an international database made it all more "real". Guest lectures from renowned scientists in diverse fields and visits to outstanding science facilities only enhanced the sense of possibilities and excitement a scientific career would hold. I'm proud to be an SSP alum and glad to keep supporting SSP as a volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Summer Science Program is an amazing summer camp!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went to SSP Socorro 2012, and it was definitely the most amazing experience of my life! I felt constantly challenged in everything we did there, from physics to astronomy to swing dancing. The alumni handling admissions made sure I was with the most eclectic group of people possible. We were all so alike, and yet so different! Everyone at SSP makes that summer the best one of your life. SSP is a life-changing experience, and I would suggest that anyone interested in Physics and Astronomy apply.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Although many others regard SSP as a highly-selective summer program for future scientists, for all 72 of us it is definitely more than just a summer program. It is a chance which is “once-in-a-lifetime”, for us to approach the true spirit of science and the underlying aptitudes of real scientists, to acknowledge such fascinating people of the same age, to come together, to learn, to feel, to grow. For me, the SSP experience is one that deserves forever remembrance, one that further exceeds my expectations, one that profoundly changed my life and one that has become, and will always be, an inseparable part of myself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I was a student at the Summer Science Program this past year, and it was nothing short of incredible - the combination of lectures, programming, and observational astronomy created the most cohesive and useful educational program I have ever gone through. The material we studied was of a very high level, but was wonderfully presented by our professors, and I came away with some real learning. The Summer Science Program definitely inspired me to go for a career in the sciences, and was an amazing use of six weeks of my summer. The diversity of students created a really educational, open, and friendly community of learners and I would not have done anything else with my summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2012, I participated as a student in SSP's summer program (New Mexico Tech). The entire experience blew me away. As students, we attended lectures on physics, calculus, astronomy, and programming; completed extremely challenging homework sets; and observed and calculated the orbit of a near-Earth asteroid. SSP changed my life. I left with new lifelong friends and a newfound confidence in my abilities. The program pushed me past anything I thought I could do, and it gave us students the perfect balance of instruction, work, and freedom. I learned how to handle little to no sleep, what to do when faced with an entirely new topic (spherical trigonometry? What is that?), how to work with others, how to approach a problem numerous ways, and so much more. The professors, TAs, dorms, food, field trips, and guest speakers were amazing, and now I have access to an entire network of SSP alumni across the globe. I recommend this program 100%!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The Summer Science Program has provided one of the greatest experiences of my life. I loved every minute of it, from the varied lectures on topics covering maths and physics to the conducting of research using telescopes. I learnt a phenomenal amount about astronomy and astrophysics, and also made great friends with different people. It is truly unparalleled, and I cannot commend it highly enough. I am deeply grateful to the programme, especially as they provided financial aid to help me, without which I could have never afforded to attend. It is an incredible programme, one which I am deeply indebted to for so many reasons.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The Summer Science Program was a great experience. The staff was amaznig and very helpful and the other memebers of the porgram were incredible as well.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
September 19, 2011

The Summer Science Program is a fantastic nonprofit organization for advanced high school students in math and science. Both the academic and social aspects are phenomenal; students receive the opport... more

October 17, 2012

SSP is a fantastic summer opportunity for high school students to get some experience in being part of a real scientific project from start to finish. Students acquire a full package of skills and learn to discover how to use them alongside peers, with only limited guidance from an instructor - and at the same time, get to make friends that will last them many years into the future!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 19, 2011

The Summer Science Program is a fantastic nonprofit organization for advanced high school students in math and science. Both the academic and social aspects are phenomenal; students receive the opportunity to work together with other outstanding young scientists from around the world to harness and master complex topics in mathematics, physics, programming and astrophysics. Additionally, these students are granted the extraordinary opportunity to utilize the facilities of the Etscorn Observatory to track and later calculate the orbit of an asteroid as it travels around the sun.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in the remainder of my academics: it has improved my reasoning and logical abilities, and has exposed me to realms and branches of science that I would otherwise have remained ignorant of for many years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would... change nothing - it's a fantastic program.

December 29, 2011

more

December 29, 2011

I attended SSP four years ago and have had some phenomenal experiences since - inventing shoes at the Innovation Lab at NIKE, studying product design in Sweden, leading a 30-person research team in India - but the 5 weeks at SSP remain the best of my life. SSP was my first exposure to a truly intellectually-curious community and to the beauty of teamwork. It changed my life and for that I will be forever thankful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers