Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
113 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Attended the program in 2005. Unbelievable summer program for bright high school students! Really enjoyed looking at the night sky to track an asteroid and learning about all the math, computer science, and astrophysics to derive its orbit. Not only is it intellectually challenging, but also camaraderie among students is incredible, and I still keep in touch with friends I've made there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I attended SSP in the summer of 2003. The experience was phenomenal! We learned a great deal about astrophotography, computer programming, and data analysis - the latter two have continued to serve me nearly a decade later. My only regret is that I could not attend the program for multiple years!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SSP was an amazing experience. I was a student in the summer of 2012, and learned more about math and physics on those six weeks than in three years of high school. My fellow SSP'ers were all engaging and highly intelligent young men and women, with diverse interests but a common passion for science that made us all bond and become fast friends. The professors were clearly knowledgable in their fields and were a lot of fun to learn from. Overall an absolutely life-changing summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SSP was a crucial experience for me, providing an experience to learn challenging material and apply what I had learned to a real scientific project (the determination of the orbit of an asteroid). SSP provided me with a view of how science is done, setting me on the path I have followed in the almost 35 years since. My SSP classmates were as interested in science and mathematics as I was and provided an instant group of friends in the challenging environment of college. All my SSP classmates are accomplished professionals, and many continue to be personal friends. If staying up late learning calculus, physics, and astronomy is your idea of fun, you can't find a better summer program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I attended SSP as a student 30 years ago, served as a teaching assistant for a couple summers, and have been a board member for the past 7 years. This is a truly exceptional program that changed my life. The chance to immerse myself for an extended period in challenging science and a true peer community of fellow students convinced me to pursue a lifelong career in physics (I'm now a physics professor and researcher). The mix of theoretical and team-based practical work was fantastic -- and knowing that the orbital elements we calculated for our asteroids would be added into an international database made it all more "real". Guest lectures from renowned scientists in diverse fields and visits to outstanding science facilities only enhanced the sense of possibilities and excitement a scientific career would hold. I'm proud to be an SSP alum and glad to keep supporting SSP as a volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Summer Science Program is an amazing summer camp!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went to SSP Socorro 2012, and it was definitely the most amazing experience of my life! I felt constantly challenged in everything we did there, from physics to astronomy to swing dancing. The alumni handling admissions made sure I was with the most eclectic group of people possible. We were all so alike, and yet so different! Everyone at SSP makes that summer the best one of your life. SSP is a life-changing experience, and I would suggest that anyone interested in Physics and Astronomy apply.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Although many others regard SSP as a highly-selective summer program for future scientists, for all 72 of us it is definitely more than just a summer program. It is a chance which is “once-in-a-lifetime”, for us to approach the true spirit of science and the underlying aptitudes of real scientists, to acknowledge such fascinating people of the same age, to come together, to learn, to feel, to grow. For me, the SSP experience is one that deserves forever remembrance, one that further exceeds my expectations, one that profoundly changed my life and one that has become, and will always be, an inseparable part of myself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I was a student at the Summer Science Program this past year, and it was nothing short of incredible - the combination of lectures, programming, and observational astronomy created the most cohesive and useful educational program I have ever gone through. The material we studied was of a very high level, but was wonderfully presented by our professors, and I came away with some real learning. The Summer Science Program definitely inspired me to go for a career in the sciences, and was an amazing use of six weeks of my summer. The diversity of students created a really educational, open, and friendly community of learners and I would not have done anything else with my summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2012, I participated as a student in SSP's summer program (New Mexico Tech). The entire experience blew me away. As students, we attended lectures on physics, calculus, astronomy, and programming; completed extremely challenging homework sets; and observed and calculated the orbit of a near-Earth asteroid. SSP changed my life. I left with new lifelong friends and a newfound confidence in my abilities. The program pushed me past anything I thought I could do, and it gave us students the perfect balance of instruction, work, and freedom. I learned how to handle little to no sleep, what to do when faced with an entirely new topic (spherical trigonometry? What is that?), how to work with others, how to approach a problem numerous ways, and so much more. The professors, TAs, dorms, food, field trips, and guest speakers were amazing, and now I have access to an entire network of SSP alumni across the globe. I recommend this program 100%!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers