Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
122 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 5 6 7...10 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This program was a tremendous, fast paced, in depth, introduction to astrophysics taught at a level that kept everyone engaged. As students we learned that we could do original research (in this case the determination of an asteroid's orbit) that was meaningful at a global level. The program continues to contribute to our understanding of Near Earth Orbit asteroids today. As students, we met many of the brightest minds among our peers from around the country. With time, the quality of the program and its students has only improved. Run by its alumni, this program has made a difference in young people's lives for over 50 years. I made life long friendships, had great fun, and learned a tremendous amount in a short time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I attended SSP in the 90's. Even though I was then enrolled in a high school known for its excellence in math and science, SSP taught me more in the short 6-weeks than any high school curriculum. The science instruction was hands-on, direct from the source (meaning from enthusiastic, top-rate scientists), and motivating (you had to really work for it). It was also really important to me, as a teenager then, to be put in a position to collaborate with bright and ambitious peers, day in and day out. I learned more from them than I ever thought possible, even as we were working out our differences (ways of thinking, working habits, sleeping habits!). In the long run, this aspect of SSP would stay with me the longest, and I think of it as the most valuable. For this same reason, the human dimension to the learning environment created and fostered at SSP cannot be duplicated in the high school or college classroom. After I got my bachelor degree, I went back to SSP as a TA, and for the first time understood first-hand how much care and attention was put into the work of teaching, directing, and inspiring the students, and I gained even more respect for the faculty back when I was a student. As for myself, despite the fact that I ultimately chose to pursue a career in the humanities rather than the sciences, I will vouch steadfastly that SSP was a life-changing experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SSP was absolutely life changing. I learned more than I ever thought possible and such in short time and I had the wonderful opportunity of meeting thirty-five of the most brilliant students throughout the US and even some amazing foreign students! SSP made me a better scientist, person, and friend. These were the best six weeks of my life and the best money I ever spent. SSP was worth every penny and much much more, but they were also incredibly generous with financial aid. If you are a high school student interested in math, physics, astronomy, or even just science in general, apply to this program immediately. If you are accepted and decide to attent I guarantee that it will be the most rewarding experience of your life so far.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SSP was the most fantastic experience I've had in my life. It accelerated the personal and academic development of everyone who attended by dropping them into a challenging situation with thirty five other, equally passionate individuals. In fact, it was life-changing in many unexpected ways, from the honest, open conversations we had under the stars to, for some of us, being independent for the first time. We learned the importance of collaboration, the even greater importance of balancing work with fun, met awesome guest speakers, and experienced unsurmontable exhilaration. I would recommend this program to any high school student interested in science and research.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This was by far the best academic and social experience of my life. I learned and enjoyed so many things from what you can possibly get in a 5-week summer program, from the actual academic material, to collaborating on projects, to having fun with some of the most interesting people you can meet.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I don't have words to express what exactly SSP is. I attended the program this summer. Before the program I didn't know what to expect and after the program, I can say that SSP will exceed anyone's expectations. It's not only about the challenging course and asteroid tracking. In fact, with all the amazing you meet there, the course doesn't seem as challenging at all. You learn to live with and love people and science. :) You have to be there to know!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My five and a half weeks at the Summer Science Program are the best five and a half weeks of my life. The learning environment was phenomenal, the people were truly wonderful, and the experience was out of this world. This program has easily had the most influence on my life. Meeting so many other bright high school students who shared the same interest I do was exciting. It was definitely a life-changing experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is the best and most important non-profit I've encountered in my life. I went there as a student and it changed my life! I opened up career and personal opportunities I never had dreamed of. I recommend it 100% to ANY student contemplating a career in science, no matter how good or bad your high school is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Attended the program in 2005. Unbelievable summer program for bright high school students! Really enjoyed looking at the night sky to track an asteroid and learning about all the math, computer science, and astrophysics to derive its orbit. Not only is it intellectually challenging, but also camaraderie among students is incredible, and I still keep in touch with friends I've made there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I attended SSP in the summer of 2003. The experience was phenomenal! We learned a great deal about astrophotography, computer programming, and data analysis - the latter two have continued to serve me nearly a decade later. My only regret is that I could not attend the program for multiple years!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers