Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

SSP is an amazing, unique experience, that taught me so much more that could be expressed in a text box. After participating in 2013, I now feel more aware of what I'm capable of, and feel more sure of my decision to study the sciences, not to mention all of incredible professors, friends and knowledge gained along the way. It was truly a pivotal experience, and I'm proud of all the I and my friends accomplished this summer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I attended SSP in the summer of 2013 and it was the most challenging and rewarding experience. The immersion into a college-like environment with 35 other brilliant young adults supported by excellent faculty made this summer camp eye-opening. It is perfect for bright high school students interested in science who want a challenge and aren't afraid to have fun working hard.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

As a 2013 SSP alumni, I have to say that this program was life-changing. Coming from a low-income family, I was offered a full scholarship, including travel money, and I could not be any more grateful. The experience I had at SSP cannot be replicated. The students, the staff, and even the visiting lecturers all made it an enriching and exciting 6-weeks. No other science camp could have given me the lifelong memories that SSP has.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it to cover more than just the Santa Barbara and Socorro campuses. More kids should get to experience SSP

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I went to SSP as a student in 2013 and loved it. The professors were amazing, the students were brilliant, and I learned so much more about my capabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

SSP, or Summer Science Program, is a program that seeks to engage students in a professional manner. The program raises high school sophomores and juniors to a collegiate level and pushes their limits far past any high school education could.

That being said, as a lucky participant of this
wonderful program, I know how amazing SSP truly is. Every one of the students feel that their classes are moving too slow. Kids who are in IB or AP or dual enrollment classes feel that way. Simply spectacular.

But don't let this talk of intense education fool you; SSP esteems fun just as much as it does learning: the two in fact go hand in hand. The students collaborate on both projects and pranks, lessons and laughs.

SSP allows students to understand that in the professional world, there is so much more than what television, movies, or books can tell you.

Oh, and not to mention the lifelong friendships that develop. Those are pretty great too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the word out more. SSP needs to be known.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I honestly have nothing to say that hasn't been said over and over, simply because it is all true. This program was the best academic experience of my life so far.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I was a student of the Summer Science Program at New Mexico Tech in 2013. It was by far one of the most exciting and interesting experiences I have lived so far and I am sure I will be able to say the same at any point of my life. All those nights spent taking photos of what we hoped to be our asteroid and the emotions felt when we first blinked them, revealing that moving shining dot are some of the most amazing memories I have. Also, joining this program was not only a six-week experience, but also a lifetime journey, a student involved in it becoming part of the SSP family for the rest of his/her life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

An amazing, life-changing experience. SSP is truly perfect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

SSP made me confident in my abilities while giving me the hardest academic challenge I had ever been faced with, and inspired me to pursue a career in the sciences. I am now better able to tackle problems that I might have dismissed as too hard before, and more likely to step out of my comfort zone and approach new ideas.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Summer Science Program, Socorro, NM 2010. I determined the orbit of an asteroid and spent my nights programming using vPython. Wait, it gets worse. Damn place was full of baby rattlesnakes and spiders, freak weather, terrible food... and spherical trigonometry. And I hung out with the most mature, creative, and smart high schoolers I'd ever seen. It wasn't really about the math or the science. It was about knowing that you could do something crazy like determine the orbit of an asteroid without even knowing calculus by dint of sheer hard work and ingenuity, and know that you had a crew of 35+ other people in the same boat, helping you every step of the way. I've never bonded with a group of people like that - first time in my life I felt a sense of community. If I could go back in time and do it again, I would hit the repeat button, creating an infinite loop.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers