Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
118 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

The 5.5 weeks at SSP were the best of my life, set in beautiful and breathtaking New Mexico. This was also a time in which I worked the hardest I have ever worked in my life. SSP is no trivial undertaking. When the organizers said this was one of the most academically rigorous available programs, they made no understatement. Only the network of friendships allowed one to sail past the hurdle that is scientific research. Perhaps it was the knowledge that we were students with the same interests passing through the same difficulties which allowed for a bonding experience. This gave me a first taste of true collaborative scientific research. Perhaps it was also the sight of the Milky Way stretching across the sky on every clear night which made it worth it. What was definitely worth the weeks of hard work was seeing our orbital elements printed from our orbit determination code. We always had support, always had help, were backed and lectured by top notch professors, went on field trips to beautiful locations, and truly did some hardcore astronomy. SSP is a once in a lifetime experience, one that I would not trade for anything in the world.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

SSP will forever be my home. I was accepted by everyone and felt comfortable. But, I was also constantly on my toes because of the academic challenge. Those 5.5 weeks were no doubt the best few weeks of my life. There is nothing in this world that I would trade for that experience. I have learned a myriad of things about myself intellectually and socially. I feel like I took a huge step towards discovering who I am and what I am capable of, and, along the way, I made friends to last a lifetime.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

This is cliche, but SSP was life changing. You want to do something that you'll have memories from for the rest of your life? SSP. It's more than just learning and science, it's an exposure to the world, a chance to make connections and find where you belong. It's amazing.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

SSP is a truly incredible program. It combines the independence and intensity of an instense college course load of physics, calculus, and programming with the care of a summer program. So many steps were taken to make all of us comfortable at SSP: from being greeted with smiling faces at the airport, to having fun signs on our doors when we arrived at the dorms, to having fun activities throughout the program to keep us from being overwhelmed with the workload. I think the experience I had that is most exemplary of the quality of SSP was the day when we submitted our final reports. I couldn't get one of my programs to work and I was extremely frustrated, as the deadline was approaching. One of the TAs noticed and came over to talk to me. She told me to step outside and take a break, gave me a Coke (caffeine!) and got the AD to come to our lab. When I came back inside the AD was there, helped me fix my problem, and my team was able to submit our report on time. The staff at SSP care so much about us learning and being happy and it definitely shows.
September 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

SSP, while being one of my most memorable and life-changing experiences, is truly indescribable; words are simply inadequate. I arrived expecting merely a five-week academic challenge, but I have received so much more. This program has not only stretched me intellectually, but it has also unmasked to me the diversity of brilliant minds in this world. Each and every one of us has limitless potential so long as we continue to reach. And reaching is precisely what SSP has so artfully and deftly taught us to do -- reaching academically, reaching socially, reaching mentally, reaching psychologically.
August 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SSP was by far the greatest 5.5 weeks of my entire life. It has brought wonders to me, not just in academics. After hearing so many great things about the program from online and the handbook, I had very very high expectations for the program. Even with these high expectations, SSP far surpassed it. Two weeks into senior year at school, I've realized the value of having challenges in the fields of math and science during the program and how I learned so much in 5.5 weeks. Through valuable lectures from teachers and even more valuable help from TAs and my fellow peers, I learned my true capabilities as a student and did some super cool scientific things during the summer. Perhaps the most valuable part of the experience though were the people I met and the times we shared together trying to finish our codes on time or relaxing in our free time. The fun I had with some of the greatest people I ever met made the program special. Even a month later, I still miss this program so much and realize how much it has changed me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow me to spend my college years at the program and get a degree.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SSP has been an amazing influence on my life. As an alumni, I was able to meet some of the most amazing friends, colleagues, and inspirations at the program. Moreover, SSP gave me a opportunity to challenge myself intellectually, really pushing me to see how far I could go. For sure, SSP has established itself as one of the most life-changing experiences of my life, and without it, I would not be the person who I am today.
August 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SSP is an amazing experience. If you already know calculus/physics/astronomy/programming, you might not learn much in these subjects, but you will certainly become a more efficient worker and problem solver.
September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

SSP was an incredible, life-changing experience - it's hard to believe quite how much 5.5 weeks can change you. Greater than the educational aspect, perhaps, is the atmosphere and camaraderie developed by having 36 bright kids learning and living together. The benefits last long past the program, with friends and learning partners for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the program longer :D

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended this program in 2013, and I can tell you that it is nothing short of life-changing. It challenges you in unimaginable ways and pushes you across the limits you thought you had. Personally the program has invoked a great sense of hard work in me. It has exposed me to new areas of science, given me real-life experiences of people who work in this field and possibly how my life would turn out if I chose to pursue that field. It is truly "an experience of a lifetime"!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly cannot think of any way to improve this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers