Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
122 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I served as a faculty member at SSP during the summer of 2012. My impression was that all of the students profited greatly from the experience. The most dramatic part was the personal growth that they experienced during the program. From talking to the students and hearing their comments I know that many were able to clarify their career goals and to consider whether a career in science was the path they wanted to pursue. Whether they decided to continue to follow their interest in science or to think about another career, the program was a water shed in their development.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Summer Science Program is definitely the best experience in my life. I am from China and that was my first experience in America! I met most interesting and intellectual kids from all over the world, and they were just like me, happy, caring, energetic and loving everything around us! We lived together in New Mexico Tech for 5 weeks and learned Astronomy, Physics, Mathematics and Programming from college professors ! The cool things are we drove to observatory all the time and observed our asteroid. Then we got pictures to determine our asteroid's orbit. The most challenging part for me was programming. I hadn't got any programming experience before. But I was immediately intoxicated into the fun and creative things about programming. All of us worked in our computer lab until 3 A.M often. People are really nice. Because of my poor spoken English, I could only talked very slowly. But everyone was nice and super patient when I expressed my ideas and they all wanted to work with me and taught me every confusing problems that I didn't get from hard courses. Besides this, we "smartest nerds" had a lot of fun in other things. Our great TAs taught us swing-dancing and we danced in campus, in old town, in July 4th BBQ, in airport...We had movie nights when everyone were huddled together laughed or cried at our favorite movies. We also had a bunch of field trips, which definitely gave me a totally new impression of how scientists work and how the world's most advanced institute do their researches. I really love the feeling that those kids who share the same interests with me became my life-long friends! Now I am in China but I miss them all the day! I keep telling my friends and kids from my school to apply to SSP next year!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I attended SSP as a student 30 years ago, served as a teaching assistant for a couple summers, and have been a board member for the past 7 years. This is a truly exceptional program that changed my life. The chance to immerse myself for an extended period in challenging science and a true peer community of fellow students convinced me to pursue a lifelong career in physics (I'm now a physics professor and researcher). The mix of theoretical and team-based practical work was fantastic -- and knowing that the orbital elements we calculated for our asteroids would be added into an international database made it all more "real". Guest lectures from renowned scientists in diverse fields and visits to outstanding science facilities only enhanced the sense of possibilities and excitement a scientific career would hold. I'm proud to be an SSP alum and glad to keep supporting SSP as a volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Summer Science Program is an amazing summer camp!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Summer Science Program was the most challenging, yet amazing experience I have ever had! Not only have I learned calculus, physics, astronomy, and much more (more than I could ever have imagined), I also got the chance to work with 35 brilliant students and faculty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
September 24, 2010

6 week of intense learning and fun - can't describe how close I got with my teammates and all 23 other campers as we spent days in amazing classes and on field trips, and evenings at the telescope and... more

October 17, 2012

An incredible group of people with a passion for learning - I feel lucky to have SSP in my life!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

6 week of intense learning and fun - can't describe how close I got with my teammates and all 23 other campers as we spent days in amazing classes and on field trips, and evenings at the telescope and in the developing room. It was such a great experience that I returned as a TA and created more great memories - SSP is the best!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

SSP was very challenging. The academics were beyond anything I had been exposed to in high school. It was also the most fun I have had in a summer. The other SSPers and the TA's are very fun and knowledgeable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went to SSP Socorro 2012, and it was definitely the most amazing experience of my life! I felt constantly challenged in everything we did there, from physics to astronomy to swing dancing. The alumni handling admissions made sure I was with the most eclectic group of people possible. We were all so alike, and yet so different! Everyone at SSP makes that summer the best one of your life. SSP is a life-changing experience, and I would suggest that anyone interested in Physics and Astronomy apply.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Although many others regard SSP as a highly-selective summer program for future scientists, for all 72 of us it is definitely more than just a summer program. It is a chance which is “once-in-a-lifetime”, for us to approach the true spirit of science and the underlying aptitudes of real scientists, to acknowledge such fascinating people of the same age, to come together, to learn, to feel, to grow. For me, the SSP experience is one that deserves forever remembrance, one that further exceeds my expectations, one that profoundly changed my life and one that has become, and will always be, an inseparable part of myself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SSP was formed in 1959 in association with Caltech, Stanford, UCLA, Harvard-Smithsonian, and is associated with MIT and several other institutions. Its mission has always been to select extraordinarily promising high school juniors, those most capable of careers in the academically challenging sciences, and immerse them in, inform them about, and intrigue them with scientific, intellectual, and career options. Using astronomy as a focus because it is rarely taught as a formal high school course, SSP's ambitious, non-credit summer program almost always pushes these students beyond anything they have previously experienced and gives them a taste of real research, inspiring most to seek careers in the sciences. SSP now has over 2,000 alumni, many of whom feel that those six weeks of scientific involvement with other intelligent and dedicated teenagers was a turning point in their lives. I attended in 1960...and it changed my life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers