Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4...11 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I went to SSP as a student in 2013 and loved it. The professors were amazing, the students were brilliant, and I learned so much more about my capabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

SSP, or Summer Science Program, is a program that seeks to engage students in a professional manner. The program raises high school sophomores and juniors to a collegiate level and pushes their limits far past any high school education could.

That being said, as a lucky participant of this
wonderful program, I know how amazing SSP truly is. Every one of the students feel that their classes are moving too slow. Kids who are in IB or AP or dual enrollment classes feel that way. Simply spectacular.

But don't let this talk of intense education fool you; SSP esteems fun just as much as it does learning: the two in fact go hand in hand. The students collaborate on both projects and pranks, lessons and laughs.

SSP allows students to understand that in the professional world, there is so much more than what television, movies, or books can tell you.

Oh, and not to mention the lifelong friendships that develop. Those are pretty great too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the word out more. SSP needs to be known.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I honestly have nothing to say that hasn't been said over and over, simply because it is all true. This program was the best academic experience of my life so far.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I was a student of the Summer Science Program at New Mexico Tech in 2013. It was by far one of the most exciting and interesting experiences I have lived so far and I am sure I will be able to say the same at any point of my life. All those nights spent taking photos of what we hoped to be our asteroid and the emotions felt when we first blinked them, revealing that moving shining dot are some of the most amazing memories I have. Also, joining this program was not only a six-week experience, but also a lifetime journey, a student involved in it becoming part of the SSP family for the rest of his/her life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

An amazing, life-changing experience. SSP is truly perfect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

AS both a participant and a volunteer for this program I must say it really goes above and beyond to provide students with a helpful and unique experience. It challenges you in ways that make even top colleges seem easy, while teaching you important skills such as teaching yourself and learning from your peers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

SSP made me confident in my abilities while giving me the hardest academic challenge I had ever been faced with, and inspired me to pursue a career in the sciences. I am now better able to tackle problems that I might have dismissed as too hard before, and more likely to step out of my comfort zone and approach new ideas.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Summer Science Program, Socorro, NM 2010. I determined the orbit of an asteroid and spent my nights programming using vPython. Wait, it gets worse. Damn place was full of baby rattlesnakes and spiders, freak weather, terrible food... and spherical trigonometry. And I hung out with the most mature, creative, and smart high schoolers I'd ever seen. It wasn't really about the math or the science. It was about knowing that you could do something crazy like determine the orbit of an asteroid without even knowing calculus by dint of sheer hard work and ingenuity, and know that you had a crew of 35+ other people in the same boat, helping you every step of the way. I've never bonded with a group of people like that - first time in my life I felt a sense of community. If I could go back in time and do it again, I would hit the repeat button, creating an infinite loop.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

SSP is the best summer of my life thus far; it really was a pivotal point in my life. In the summer of 2011, after my junior year of high school, my passion for physics/astronomy and a google search brought me to the Summer Science Program in Socorro NM for five weeks of astronomy, physics, and computer programing with thirty-five fellow nerds from around the world, culminating in a final project (tracking and calculating the orbit of a near-earth asteroid and submitting the data to JPL) and lifelong friendships. I have raved about this experience in college essays, research applications, and letters to friends because SSP furthered my understanding and love of physics and helped me decide that the area i want to pursue in my studies is theoretical astrophysics. It also provided a curriculum that challenged me to reach my full potential with intellectual room to stretch my wings and no longer bump my head against the ceiling; in fact; under the stars there is no ceiling in sight. As wonderful and enriching as the academic experience is, our studies are really more of an excuse to gather a diverse group of intelligent, passionate, and fascinating individuals who each bring so much to the collective experience, sharing knowledge, skills, philosophies, and peanut M&M's. SSP provided the community I had been searching for my whole life; a peer group who shared my passion for scientific exploration, where I was not the only person to exclaim, "Math is BEAUTIFUL!" and quantum tunneling can become an inside joke! We sang, danced, played ninja, napped, stargazed, taught, learned, and laughed....The energy, collaboration, and bonding are without compare. I lived an entire life in those five weeks, learning so much, and sharing so many experiences; I will always cherish these memories and encourage others to participate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

When I was a junior in high school I was selected to spend the summer at the summer science program in Socorro, New Mexico. I come from a fairly poor family and had never attended a summer program before (in fact, I had had to decline another prestigious summer program because of costs-- they gave me a half scholarship but that was not nearly enough). SSP gave me a scholarship that made it possible for me to attend-- I only had to pay my airfare.

The experience changed my life. I credit it with getting me into MIT, and more importantly with preparing me to learn at MIT. It also gave me a lot of good, brilliant friends around the world. Through alumni connections SSP also continues to give me opportunities for internships and scholarships and other enrichments.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers