Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
122 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

Amazing life-changing experience! The best opportunity for students who are interested in science.
November 2, 2014

more

November 2, 2014

SSP was, hands down, the best experience of my young life.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Let's knock off some simple questions that I'm sure other people have done a better job of answering with eloquence: Was SSP good? Yeah. Was it worth it? Of course. It's easy to talk about this program as life-changing, but I'm going to talk about it in those terms that I adore the most - that's right, I'm going to talk about SSP as a series of (somewhat cryptic) analogies. Is it strange? Sure. Is it fitting? Somewhat. Here goes:
SSP is like the archetypal cup of cocoa during a winter's day. It's nice and comforting to hold that cup and look at that cup, but to really indulge in the cup, one must drink.
SSP is like a black ink Bic pen. Only with the guidance of the writer do words bloom on a page.
SSP is like a rotating wire-frame fan. Get too close, and it becomes kind of uncomfortable; lean back a bit, and enjoy its breeze.
Aren't these kind of quirky? Of course. But hopefully, what I hoped to convey in analogies will become a bit clearer: reading about SSP isn't wholly satisfactory. Take the chance. Apply. Tell people about it. Got in? Great. Take advantage of the resources that are your peers, TAs, and senior faculty. Let them tease out who you really are. Struggling with the OD? You're not alone. People have struggled with similar for over several decades. People have struggled with understanding the cosmos for longer. Finished? No, not really. You'll keep those friends in contact for a long, long time.
October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Since I've returned home from the Summer Science Program, I find myself talking about or thinking about my experience almost constantly. SSP was one of *the* formative periods of my life. All thirty-six of us bloomed intellectually and academically, as we learned the methods of classical orbit determination along with physics, math, astronomy, and programming in general. Completing the orbit determination project was one of the greatest accomplishments in my short life.
I learned so much outside of the classroom as well, about all sorts of topics - philosophy, literature, math, chemistry, all just from talking to my friends and TAs. The environment was one of intellectual passion - it was one of the first times I had met people as excited to learn as I was. We stayed up late doing problem sets, observing, playing cards, or just socializing, and I made some of my closest friends through the process.
The Summer Science Program makes such a difference in the lives of its students. I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to attend, which included a full scholarship to the program. This is truly one of the greatest educational experiences offered anywhere!
September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The 5.5 weeks at SSP were the best of my life, set in beautiful and breathtaking New Mexico. This was also a time in which I worked the hardest I have ever worked in my life. SSP is no trivial undertaking. When the organizers said this was one of the most academically rigorous available programs, they made no understatement. Only the network of friendships allowed one to sail past the hurdle that is scientific research. Perhaps it was the knowledge that we were students with the same interests passing through the same difficulties which allowed for a bonding experience. This gave me a first taste of true collaborative scientific research. Perhaps it was also the sight of the Milky Way stretching across the sky on every clear night which made it worth it. What was definitely worth the weeks of hard work was seeing our orbital elements printed from our orbit determination code. We always had support, always had help, were backed and lectured by top notch professors, went on field trips to beautiful locations, and truly did some hardcore astronomy. SSP is a once in a lifetime experience, one that I would not trade for anything in the world.
September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SSP will forever be my home. I was accepted by everyone and felt comfortable. But, I was also constantly on my toes because of the academic challenge. Those 5.5 weeks were no doubt the best few weeks of my life. There is nothing in this world that I would trade for that experience. I have learned a myriad of things about myself intellectually and socially. I feel like I took a huge step towards discovering who I am and what I am capable of, and, along the way, I made friends to last a lifetime.
September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is cliche, but SSP was life changing. You want to do something that you'll have memories from for the rest of your life? SSP. It's more than just learning and science, it's an exposure to the world, a chance to make connections and find where you belong. It's amazing.
September 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

SSP is a truly incredible program. It combines the independence and intensity of an instense college course load of physics, calculus, and programming with the care of a summer program. So many steps were taken to make all of us comfortable at SSP: from being greeted with smiling faces at the airport, to having fun signs on our doors when we arrived at the dorms, to having fun activities throughout the program to keep us from being overwhelmed with the workload. I think the experience I had that is most exemplary of the quality of SSP was the day when we submitted our final reports. I couldn't get one of my programs to work and I was extremely frustrated, as the deadline was approaching. One of the TAs noticed and came over to talk to me. She told me to step outside and take a break, gave me a Coke (caffeine!) and got the AD to come to our lab. When I came back inside the AD was there, helped me fix my problem, and my team was able to submit our report on time. The staff at SSP care so much about us learning and being happy and it definitely shows.
September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SSP irrevocably changed the way I view the world. I am truly grateful for the experiences that I will cherish forever, whether they were from 2 o'lock programming in the computer lab or 5 am discussions about anything from doge to classical music on the Rock. I made friends that I know I will keep in touch with the rest of my life, with whom I will be able to pick up conversations like nothing has changed because we spend the most incredible 6 weeks of our lives together.
September 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

SSP, while being one of my most memorable and life-changing experiences, is truly indescribable; words are simply inadequate. I arrived expecting merely a five-week academic challenge, but I have received so much more. This program has not only stretched me intellectually, but it has also unmasked to me the diversity of brilliant minds in this world. Each and every one of us has limitless potential so long as we continue to reach. And reaching is precisely what SSP has so artfully and deftly taught us to do -- reaching academically, reaching socially, reaching mentally, reaching psychologically.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers