Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.884625
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It has been a privilege to be affiliated with the Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation (SCAF) for the past several years. The foundation is truly there to spread the word to everyone about Sudden Cardiac Arrest and its devastating effects on our society. The foundation is not only a great resource for survivors through the Survivor Network but also a place where families and other loved ones can ask tough questions about SCA. I have many friends and colleagues that have turned to me for answers about the latest SCA treatment or therapy because of my affiliation with this industry-leading foundation.

SCAF is also a place where responders can turn to help spread the message. Many of us who work in emergency care/public safety are passionate about SCA Awareness and AEDs but our voice isn't loud enough on its own to get the word out. SCAF has always been passionate about working with smaller groups and individuals to help get the word out.

I was recently involved in a Survivor/Rescuer Reunion Ceremony in Pittsburgh, PA. There is nothing better than having the opportunity to see the survivor passionately hug each of the rescuers. This man collapsed during Christmas dinner and was resuscitated with an AED from the local FD. He made a full recovery and made a moving speech at the ceremony in February 2013. The Foundations worked closely with the local responders and dignitaries to ensure that everyone was recognized for their efforts that day. They helped to raise awareness by using their media contacts to have the story covered by a myriad of print and television media.

The President of SCAF, Mary Newman, is a household name in emergency medicine and in SCA Awareness groups around the country. No matter what conference I attend all I have to do is mention Mary and everyone knows about her work for the SCAF. Mary is an integral part of SCAF and a true leader.

I absolutely endorse SCAF and all the work they do to make our society a safer, healthier place to live.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

tell more people about it? I need to take time to spread the word even more about his great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2013

more

December 18, 2013

As a SCA survivor, June 27, 2013, I owe my life to my son who did CPR on me until the paramedics got there and to the paramedics who continued CPR when they could not shock my heart back into a beat, until I got to the hospital. If it wasn't for them, the doctors at the hospital, and God I would not be here today. This is what made me join the SCA Foundation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I have worked for more than a decade on raising awareness for sudden cardiac arrest and its impact on our communities. The Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation has been tireless in its energy and efforts to educate and inspire. Their SCA Survivor Network is a constant source of inspiration for increasing community education and access to the tools and resources needed to improve nationwide survival. The Foundation has partnered with the organizations on the front lines of community health and then activated a network of survivors, advocates and volunteers who are as passionate about the cause as they are. The result is a nonprofit whose work is entirely focused on driving its mission forward.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation is a great organization. They help to promote awareness to the general public as well as provide exceptional advise and information through articles made available to the public. Having helped work a cardiac arrest patient, I know how important it is to promote CPR training in the community (thanks to early CPR from an informed neighbor, this particular patient survived to tell his story today), which the SCA was kind enough to offer pro bono. The more people that know CPR and basic first aid skills, the more lives we can save.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I became involved with the SCA Foundation last year after responding to a cardiac arrest call with my fire department in Penn Hills, PA, where the crew successfully utilized an AED to resuscitate a 63-year old man who had collapsed after dinner on Christmas night. Seeing first hand that quick CPR from a neighbor, quick defibrillation by the FD, and advanced care from responding paramedics really works - it was clear that community education and training truly can make a difference. Doctors and researchers have worked decades to provide tools to save lives - but perhaps the most important tool - awareness - is being provided by the Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation. By providing community education & awareness, the SCA Foundation is making a difference world-wide in saving lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation (SCAF) is an excellent resource for people who have suffered cardiac arrest and their family and friends. They have wonderful and dedicated leadership who put forth 100% effort to be active in the community, raise awareness, and keep their website and newsletters current. They continue to seek ways to better serve those who have been touched by cardiac arrest and have a wealth of information available for those who want to be active in their own communities. People from all over the world have found this group on the web and joined its membership, demonstrating the importance and relevance of it. The personable and passionate leaders make this nonprofit successful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I represent Project Heart Start , a movement in New Mexico dedicated to the education of every capable person to be trained in CPR and the use of AEDs. I have contacted the SCA Foundation to explore ways to partner with them and found them to be very passionate and open to discuss options. I believe that our organizations compliment one another and that we can work together on a larger scale in the future.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation does an outstanding job of raising the awareness of sudden cardiac arrest. Furthermore, the foundation helped me suceed in my senior project of learning more about sudden cardiac arrest and putting it into action by helping me set up an EKG screening. I definitely had a life changing experience volunteering for the foundation last year and it made me even more aware about how SCD effects lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation serves the public in so many ways. It offers support to those whose lives have been affected by sudden cardiac arrest. Survivors and rescuers alike are honored by this organization for their amazing stories. The community is served with numerous educational opportunities, financial support advice, and their endless drive and determination to place AED's everywhere. I was first introduced to this wonderful organization in 2003 when my 17 year old son saved the life of a man at a high school basketball game with an AED. That is a day we will never forget. Since then, the SCA Foundation and my son have formed a bond and work hard at educating all to the importance of AED's in all public places. The SCA Foundation works so hard to fight for public access AED's and is a vital organization to all communities. The price we would have to pay without an organization like SCA Foundation is a life and no one can afford that!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want them to be more recognized for all they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been a part of the SCAF since its inception and I can personally attest to the good work they have done over the years.

I, myself, am a survivor of cardiac arrest, so I know the devastation that a victim experiences. The SCAF has been instrumental in my psychological recovery from
an event that, at the age of 49, could have haunted me the rest of my life. My interaction with other survivors has given me a perspective that can't be gained in talking with anyone who has not gone through the experience. These conversations made me realize that, under doctor's care and with proper medication, I don't have to live in fear of the next incident.

Having worked with many other nonprofits, I know the importance of public awareness and fundraising in disease control. The SCAF has done a admirable job in both areas. Director Mary Newman is a dedicated and talented writer of grant proposals as well as a media-savvy leader in the process to let more people know that knowledge of the cause of cardiac arrest and the swift action of anyone at the scene, can save thousands of lives a year.

The people at the SCAF believe in what they do and know what they are doing. That is an unbeatable combination in the effort to save lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Mary has this organization running as smoothly as any I have seen. (And I have seen many.) Any changes would be counterproductive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers