Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SVA has been so useful for my transition from the US Army to graduate school. They are consistently on the right side of the issues that most concern veterans, and these issues are ones that can decide how this generation of veterans will contribute to the betterment of our nation. Getting education right is clearly the key first step, and SVA is on it. Also, SVA Internship Assistance afforded me the opportunity to take an unpaid internship with the United Nations and help me transition to my next career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a student veteran when I first entered the college environment I felt lost. I was ten years older than my counterparts and no one seemed to understand what I was going through. When I discovered that my school had a small group of veterans that met regularly I knew I had to get involved because at least those veterans could understand what I was going through. After being an active member in the club I eventually became the President. As the President of my college's veteran club I felt it was my responsibility to seek out organizations that help veterans and provide my fellow veterans with the resources to meet any challenge. When I realized there was a national organization that did exactly that I knew we had to become a part of it. After registering my club with the SVA I continued to try and implement ideas that they made us aware of through publications of best practices for student run organizations as well as encouraging everyone I knew to apply for the scholarships or internship support that the SVA provides. The Student Veterans of America has been an invaluable resource ever since and while I turned over leadership to the next generation, they continue to utilize the SVA as best they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have helped as a consultant to their leadership for a few years, which has given me special insight into their operation. The leadership is tremendous, and they have a detailed, focused strategic plan for serving student veterans through their 600 chapters I've worked with several nonprofits over the years but don't think I've ever seen one improving so many lives with such a small budget. They are exciting, inspirational, and a model for nonprofits of the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've seen SVA grow from its infancy through it current state. What started as a bunch of veterans with a good idea and a lot of passion is now the leader in higher education advocating for veterans. Anyone would be hard-pressed to find another organization better than SVA. This organization drives results and, with a footprint than spans the country, they connect the right people with the right opportunities on a daily basis. I fully support and endorse SVA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers