Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.818185
Write A Review
October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am not a veteran myself, but I like to call myself a "civilian supporter" of veterans. Just like you do not have to be female to support breast cancer research, you do not need to be a veteran to support veterans. SVA helps student veterans at both the national and local level. At the national level they help advocate for better services and stronger education benefits, and at the local levels they work with schools to improve services and programs for student veterans. Probably most important, at the individual level they help create school chapters that allow student veterans to come together as a group and support each other as they transition from the military to civilian life. The transition from military to civilian life can be difficult for some veterans, and when you add in the stress of being a college student to that adjustment it can be overwhelming for some. Having other student veterans who experienced similar rough patches helps with the transition. SVA helps create this support network for student veterans. It's an excellent organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot put into words the impact SVA has had on my life...I am realizing a dream, honoring the lies of my fallen brethren and becoming the first college graduate in my family - I was scared and doubtful this could happen - the support and guidance of fellow veterans and the programs offered pushed me to new heights and I am now helping others - all of this is because of SVA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SVA is making a tremendous difference in the lives of vets on campuses across America. I am inspired by the organization's commitment to improving the student vet experience and the passion of their community. Their inclusive nature makes sure that all vets and their supporters - regardless of age, branch, gender, career path, etc - can feel connected and part of something powerful.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SVA has completely changed my life and enabled my success. I went to the first DC conference just weeks after coming home from Iraq, and all of my concerns about not having a new community at school evaporated. The peer support, the programs, the ability to conduct advocacy, and all of the great people makes this organization truly outstanding. Going from just a student veteran to a chapter president and now having the privilege to serve as a Board Member has been a remarkable and truly enlightening experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The peer support system provided by the early cadrons of SVA members allowed me and countless veterans pave a path to a successful transition. They were the rock upon which we built our academic and professional success. We are now leaders of industry, government, and of our communities. Let me introduce Student Veterans of America, a coalition of student veteran groups on college campuses around the country. Our vision is for all veterans to succeed in higher education, achieve their academic goals, and gain meaningful employment. Our mission is to provide military veterans with the resources, support, and advocacy needed to succeed in higher education and following graduation. We offer a peer to peer support system across our 500+ chapter affiliates, scholarships, grants, internship support payments, employment opportunities, leadership training, advocacy, and much much more. Given the passage of the Post 9/11 GI Bill (which SVA has been credited in helping to pass by its authors – Senator Webb and Hagel), this generation of veterans will become the next greatest generation. We are yesterday's warriors - today's scholars - tomorrow's leaders.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a member who has now graduated and moved to Alum, I can say I still feel as connected and welcome as I did when I was in college with my local chapter. SVA is continually striving to serve all pre, current, and post veteran college attendees.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have helped as a consultant to their leadership for a few years, which has given me special insight into their operation. The leadership is tremendous, and they have a detailed, focused strategic plan for serving student veterans through their 600 chapters I've worked with several nonprofits over the years but don't think I've ever seen one improving so many lives with such a small budget. They are exciting, inspirational, and a model for nonprofits of the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've seen SVA grow from its infancy through it current state. What started as a bunch of veterans with a good idea and a lot of passion is now the leader in higher education advocating for veterans. Anyone would be hard-pressed to find another organization better than SVA. This organization drives results and, with a footprint than spans the country, they connect the right people with the right opportunities on a daily basis. I fully support and endorse SVA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As a chapter leader, SVA provided the network to build our organization. We received financial assistance from SVA to attend their leadership conferences which allowed for us to gain understanding and insight into other student veteran organizations, their activities, and accomplishments. SVA is a great tool for the student veteran organization and the individual. Now, SVA offers Internship support to those student veterans who have an unpaid internship and 3 scholarships worth $10,000 each.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

gaining knowledge and information from other student veterans nationwide.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make them more visible. While there are other GWOT veteran organizations that are much more visible, none are doing more for student veterans than SVA.

October 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

SVA works hard to support all student veterans in nationally. The interesting thing is, they support student veterans regardless of chapter "membership" in the organization. I am not sure everyone understands that. They continue to support veterans in college for long term impacts: education, careers, and general well-being. Good stuff! They far exceed my expectations based on growth in a limited period of time and their ability to operate with limited resources.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What is unique about this organization?

No one else is doing this!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers