Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.818185
Write A Review
November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I devoted 40 years as a faculty member and administrator on college campuses so I have an understanding of and appreciation for organizations designed to assist students. In my experience, few of those have done so with the dedication and sense of purpose thatStudent Veterans of America do every day. Serving our Veterans has to be more than a feel good bumper sticker...and SVA has found an unique way to serve veterans. I have researched and written on the transition combat veterans who become college students make. That work lead me to SVA because the commitment of the organization is to support veterans as they pursue their academic goals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Student Veterans of America has supported the veterans student group at my college and has provided me and others with amazing scholarship and training opportunities that we would not have without them. They are responsive and they communicate excellently. I am constantly impressed by them and the work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Student Veterans of America has provided me with an array of opportunities that has changed my life forever. When I received an email in 2009 from SVA about starting a chapter at my school I knew it was a great idea and I made it a personal goal of mine. I started as a chapter founder and president, which allowed me to meet other veterans that were like-minded. I felt like I had a sense of purpose once again that I was accustomed to in the military. Our student veteran organization advocated for additional programs and services on our campus to assist veterans on their pathway to success. The National SVA paved the way to make this happen by exposing us to a global network of student veteran organizations from across the U.S. that have developed and implemented similar programs. Overall, the work that SVA was doing to support their comrades empowered me to do more as well. I have dedicated my life to assisting veterans, first as a chapter leader, then as a state leader, and now in my current position as an elected member of the National Leadership Council. By volunteering for SVA and interacting with veterans on a daily basis I have realized that I want to live a life of helping others in my community. As I graduate in the Spring I can say with confidence that I have created my own personal career path and look forward to the opportunities that lay before me in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Student Veterans of America has allowed Student Veterans to have a voice all over the country. They have become huge advocates for Veterans everywhere. Just over the last four their organization has grown immensely and is only growing bigger. They have many programs available for student veterans that allows an easier transition from military service to higher education. I have personally used some of these programs. Without them I may have not completed my degree. This is one of the best organizations out there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with SVA since 2009 when I established a chapter at my university. I've had full support from the organization from the start and they continue to provide a wide array of support services and resources available to student veterans, advisors and the entire higher education community. If I could give more than 5 stars, they would receive them from me.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SVA has been so useful for my transition from the US Army to graduate school. They are consistently on the right side of the issues that most concern veterans, and these issues are ones that can decide how this generation of veterans will contribute to the betterment of our nation. Getting education right is clearly the key first step, and SVA is on it. Also, SVA Internship Assistance afforded me the opportunity to take an unpaid internship with the United Nations and help me transition to my next career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen SVA doing many great things throughout the year to student veterans even if the school doesnt not have a registered SVA veterans club. They offer many scholarships to student veterans. There is different types. SVA change my life when they accepted me to work with on my fellowship. I got to met so many inspirational veterans who I now call my friend. They give student veteran club to gain what they had in the military which is camaraderie and still serving to do better things.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a student veteran when I first entered the college environment I felt lost. I was ten years older than my counterparts and no one seemed to understand what I was going through. When I discovered that my school had a small group of veterans that met regularly I knew I had to get involved because at least those veterans could understand what I was going through. After being an active member in the club I eventually became the President. As the President of my college's veteran club I felt it was my responsibility to seek out organizations that help veterans and provide my fellow veterans with the resources to meet any challenge. When I realized there was a national organization that did exactly that I knew we had to become a part of it. After registering my club with the SVA I continued to try and implement ideas that they made us aware of through publications of best practices for student run organizations as well as encouraging everyone I knew to apply for the scholarships or internship support that the SVA provides. The Student Veterans of America has been an invaluable resource ever since and while I turned over leadership to the next generation, they continue to utilize the SVA as best they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

5 years ago the SVA helped the student veterans of UMaine start a veterans club on campus. It has supported us financially and gave us the tools to keep our club strong. The SVA conferences gave us the opportunity to learn about veteran benefits, concerns, and resources. They understand what it takes to keep the student veterans connected to each other both locally and nationally on a long term scale. My school would not have been able to accomplish all our veteran programs without their support. They personally helped shape my college experience into a positive experience that has brought me further in my education than I could have gone alone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As an Army veteran of 10 years and someone who has worked with hundreds of organizations supporting our military and veteran community, I have not found a more effective and dedicated non-profit in the country. The Student Veterans of America have grown enormously in a short time because of their unwaivering focus and vitally important mission to support veterans as they pursue higher education. They are constantly working and innovating to improve on their programs and make sure they're meeting veterans' needs at the time when they most need it - as they re-integrate into civilian life and start the process of leading productive, fulfilled lives after their service. They are also one of the few organizations that have truly demonstrated superior ability to work with all partners in and outside the veterans space, from the private sector, non-profits, foundations, and state and federal government.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers