Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.965525
| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review
March 17, 2013

more

March 17, 2013

I saw the advertisement for the strength for life classes at the hospital where I go for treatment over a year ago. I did not sign up because I did not want to exercise, but what a mistake! I just finished the 8 week session with Jacqueline and I am sorry I put it off for so long. Our teacher, Jacqui is such a caring, patient, knowledgeable person that she has changed my life forever. I now know that I must exercise if I want to keep well. She encourages us every step of the way for the whole hour. She says things like "Do what you can" Keep trying" This organization MUST continue to do the work that it's doing.
Strength For Life is indeed an appropriate name. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013

more

March 16, 2013

I first heard of Strength for Life from a friend. We attended the Wellness Retreat in September 2012. My friend has since passed away and I often think that it was the best weekend she had in a long time and the last good weekend she had. I have been attending the exercise class on Tuesday night at Stonybrook and have recently brought a friend with me and she is enjoying the class immensely. Jacqui and Debbie are the most dedicated and caring people ever.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2013

more

January 21, 2013

I am so glad that I read the ad at the doctor's office. I attended the exercise classes and met a great bunch of woman in the same or similar circumstance. I recently attended the wellness retreat and it far exceeded my expectations. I couldn't believe how organized and informative. Just the way the day went was really fantastic. Jacqui, Debbie and the volunteers are just fantastic to offer their time so that I can feel better about myself and not feel "doom and gloom".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 19, 2013

more

January 19, 2013

I recently attended a wellness retreat. I have not been able to exercise much since my diagnosis and tremendous weight gain. Jacqui and Debbie were very welcoming and non-judgmental. I felt safe and thoroughly enjoyed the day, the classes and meeting a group of strong women.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2013

more

January 14, 2013

Jaqcui and Debbie are truly phenomenal women. I attended their Wellness retreat this weekend and it was an amazing experience. There were many volunteers and each one's goal was to make each participant's life better. ANy questions or requests were treated with compassion. Everyone genuinely cared without judging. It was so refreshing - a wonderful experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2013

more

January 14, 2013

This past weekend I attended a Retreat hosted by "Strength for Life". What Jacqu and Debbie do with pure happiness and joy makes an enormous difference in the lives of so many at a time when people need it the most. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2013

more

January 13, 2013

I finished all my treatments for Breast Cancer in May 2012. While I was still in treatment in took several of the Strength for Life classes and I learned about the Wellness Weekend. This was an amazing weekend. The classes were great and the support I received from talking with the other woman on the weekend was great. I felt pampered the whole weekend and felt very relaxed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2013

more

January 13, 2013

This non for profit is all about empowering cancer patients and survivors to thrive through exercise, positive thinking, and nutrition. Their volunteers are very pleasant and energetic. Wonderful organization with wonderful people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I had finished my first round of chemo and went to a wellness retreat not knowing what to expect.....what I found was a group of very professional, caring and giving people who went way beyond what they had to do to make us feel welcome, well taken care of and then educate us on numerous topics that would help us on our road to recovery. The weekend was filled with positive influences and comradarie that was so special. Each of the volunteers gave us insight into ways to help us in every phase of our journey and recovery. I can't thank them enough for the wonderful job they are doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

What an awesome group of Women! Everyone from Strength for Life was truly Blessed. The Zumba class was a Blast. The Strenght Training had me moving and feeling my Body that had been napping for a long time! The Guest Speaker Dr. Bongiorno was packed with much needed information. Yoga with Lida has encouraged me to start at home, loved that session. Attending the Retreat has broaden my awareness and also allowed me to meet a group of DIVAS that has been in a Battle, like myself, we are not alone and that we are LIVING BEINGS. I really appreciate the Service that SFLI has provided and. From the moment of arrival to departure, ALL of the sessions, Massage technique, Feng Shui and such was soothing. This Retreat was a much needed Event of Excitement, Informative, Fun! I had left home droppy and came back to LIFE. I hope that they continue. God Bless SFLI.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us on our wellness weekend.