Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.9755
| 1 ... 4 5 6...8 |
Write A Review
April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

I attended the Strength for Life Wellness Retreat at the Hyatt in Hauppauge, NY April 13 and 14, 2013. What a wonderful gift I was given! We were exposed to many types of complementary treatments that are helpful during cancer. We did Zumba, Yoga, Gentle exercise, had Reiki treatments and listened to 3 wonderful speakers. These ladies have a wonderful heart for helping ladies with cancer and how to feel better while going through treatment. I am blessed to have been a part of this weekend. I also met several women who I will keep in contact with after the weekend. Thanks for the experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Strength For Life has helped me feel better, has given me more energy, reason to keep moving and restored hope and strength...it teaches me, with individualized instruction, care and compassion for my own body and spirit. It is a smaller group that gives me comaraderie and encouragement to seek wellness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Strength for life is a wonderful place for cancer patients and survivors. My mom was diagnosed with Lobular Breast Cancer in August 2012. We were all scared and devastated by the news. Fortunately, my mom was invited to a free wellness weekend for patients and survivors. She was given the opportunity to meet other people who are walking this very scary journey with her. She was also given free exercise equipment and classes to learn how to stay fit while fighting this life altering disease. Since then, she has continued to attend Strength for life's free exercise classes. These classes not only give her confidence in fighting her battle, but most of all, they are helping to strengthen her body to assist in her fight! I'm so thankful for this non profit because they give my mom a sense of control in a very scary time in her life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 12, 2012

I was two months post-chemo when my daughter told me about a program called "Strength for Life". She contacted the program, enrolled me, and then encouraged me to participate. It was a turning poin... more

April 5, 2013

Strength for Life helped me believe I could be normal and well once again. Two surgeries for ovarian cancer followed by four months of chemo therapy left me feeling weak and depleted. I was no longer the strong, energetic woman I once was. In fact, I was convinced I would never have enough energy to even try regaining what I had lost. That's when my daughter told me about Strength for Life. Exercise with other cancer patients provided the perfect comfort zone to begin rebuilding my body and my self esteem. Jacqui is the perfect combination of personal trainer and compassionate human being. She understands the beginners' limitations and offers encouragement with just the right amount of humor to make the impossible seem possible. Strength For Life helped me believe there is life after cancer. I was no longer afraid to challenge my body. I joined a gym, ran in a 5K, and continue to be active in my community. Thank you Strength For Life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2012

I was two months post-chemo when my daughter told me about a program called "Strength for Life". She contacted the program, enrolled me, and then encouraged me to participate. It was a turning point in my recovery. Under the watchful eye and careful instructions of an excellent personal trianer, Jacqui, I began rebuilding the muscles that were weakened by four months of chemotherapy for ovarian cancer. There were several other cancer survivors in the group; we met once a week for eight sessions, and together we struggled with both our physical limitations and our emotional healing from the dreaded disease called "Cancer". It was the best support group ever!!! At the end of program, I had regained muscle tone, strength, and a positive can-do attitude. Thank you, and God bless you, Jacqui, for your caring and sensitivity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2013

more

March 17, 2013

I saw the advertisement for the strength for life classes at the hospital where I go for treatment over a year ago. I did not sign up because I did not want to exercise, but what a mistake! I just finished the 8 week session with Jacqueline and I am sorry I put it off for so long. Our teacher, Jacqui is such a caring, patient, knowledgeable person that she has changed my life forever. I now know that I must exercise if I want to keep well. She encourages us every step of the way for the whole hour. She says things like "Do what you can" Keep trying" This organization MUST continue to do the work that it's doing.
Strength For Life is indeed an appropriate name. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013

more

March 16, 2013

I first heard of Strength for Life from a friend. We attended the Wellness Retreat in September 2012. My friend has since passed away and I often think that it was the best weekend she had in a long time and the last good weekend she had. I have been attending the exercise class on Tuesday night at Stonybrook and have recently brought a friend with me and she is enjoying the class immensely. Jacqui and Debbie are the most dedicated and caring people ever.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 21, 2013

more

January 21, 2013

I am so glad that I read the ad at the doctor's office. I attended the exercise classes and met a great bunch of woman in the same or similar circumstance. I recently attended the wellness retreat and it far exceeded my expectations. I couldn't believe how organized and informative. Just the way the day went was really fantastic. Jacqui, Debbie and the volunteers are just fantastic to offer their time so that I can feel better about myself and not feel "doom and gloom".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 19, 2013

more

January 19, 2013

I recently attended a wellness retreat. I have not been able to exercise much since my diagnosis and tremendous weight gain. Jacqui and Debbie were very welcoming and non-judgmental. I felt safe and thoroughly enjoyed the day, the classes and meeting a group of strong women.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2013

more

January 14, 2013

Jaqcui and Debbie are truly phenomenal women. I attended their Wellness retreat this weekend and it was an amazing experience. There were many volunteers and each one's goal was to make each participant's life better. ANy questions or requests were treated with compassion. Everyone genuinely cared without judging. It was so refreshing - a wonderful experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 14, 2013

more

January 14, 2013

This past weekend I attended a Retreat hosted by "Strength for Life". What Jacqu and Debbie do with pure happiness and joy makes an enormous difference in the lives of so many at a time when people need it the most. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

| 1 ... 4 5 6...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us on our wellness weekend.