Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.971435
Write A Review
January 25, 2014

more

January 25, 2014

I had the pleasure of attending a fitness weekend get away about 3 years ago with Strength For Life. It was an amazing weekend filled with activities and good times. It was comfortable to workout with others going thru treatment and not feeling like the odd man out at the gym. The weekend gave me the boost I needed to start working out again, which is exactly what I needed to regain my inner strength. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I am a breast cancer survivor. In 2011 I had surgery and radiation treatments which left me sore and stiff. I found myself not able to move as well as before and I was becoming more and more sedentary because all my joints were aching and stiff. The Strength For Life exercise class helped me get myself moving again and the stiffness, aches and pains have lessened by a lot. More importantly, Strength For Life got me started on a path to know that I must keep moving and stretching in order to function better in my life as I move forward. I now realize that fact and have become adamant that I exercise each day and do whatever I can to keep myself moving. It's my new lifestyle. Thank you Jacqui Errico!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

I was not able to complete classes due to private reasons. Nevertheless, It was a great experience to meet Jacqui and learn how important is exercise for our recovery.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more

November 5, 2013

Jacqui helped me get moving after my cancer treatment. She showed me various ways to stretch and excersise. Even though I was in a class, she has the abbility to make me feel like I was thoe only one she was coaching.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 16, 2013

I am so glad that I attended the Wellness Retreat with Jacqui, Debbie and the volunteers. The ladies were friendly, non-judgemental, helpful and fun to be with. The weekend was well planned out with ... more

November 5, 2013

I am a four year cancer survivor and this is the second time I took Strength for Life. I previously took this program in early 2012 when I was recovering from implant reconstruction and had different issues than now. This program has helped me a great deal after surgery last winter for DIEP flap surgery. Jacqui gave myself and everyone individualized attention and reminds us of "listening to our bodies". There are some exercises that I was unable to do in the beginning of the sessions and now I am able to complete them with little discomfort. I will continue to do the exercises that I am able to do at home slowly and looking forward to the photos to remind me" the correct placement of the bands". I highly recommend Strength for Life and was pleased that the ladies that I recommended the program to found Strength for Life beneficial. Great program a must for cancer survivors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more locations and daytime hours

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2013

I am so glad that I attended the Wellness Retreat with Jacqui, Debbie and the volunteers. The ladies were friendly, non-judgemental, helpful and fun to be with. The weekend was well planned out with great classes which included zumba, strength training, guest speakers on naturopathic medicine, white lotus massage, yoga, reiki. I especially enjoyed the zumba-gentle moves ,learning about Feng Shu and The Green Belt Trail. I listened to my body and did the exercises I was able to do. I can't wait for the reunion. Jacqui and Debbie you are phenonemal.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2012

Participating in the Strength for Life program has greatly helped me with stretching and strengthing various muscles and parts of my body to improve my mobility. I do feel stronger. Jacquii and Debbie are excellent instructors and I enjoyed being part of the group. I met nice, caring people and we laughed and supported each other through our exercises. I will continue the exercises at home but won't forget the support that Jacquii provided. I will miss the program but would like to partake in the retreats.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

My name is Teresa Doherty and I am a breast cancer survivor. I attended strength for life's 1st weekend wellness retreat and I was blown away at what they had to offer to cancer patients and survivors at NO COST. It was a weekend filled with peace, love and compassion. Debbie and Jaqui and all the others who gave their time that weekend were amazing in making me feel inspired, strengthened and empowered. I now understand why that is their mantra. It was exactly what at needed in my healing journey at that time. I was so impressed with their mission and what they offered to cancer patients that I knew I had to get involved. I wanted to pay it forward and help others like myself get the information about complimentary therapies and experience them first hand so I asked to help out at the following retreats doing Reiki, which I am certified. The rest is history... I now have my husband involved with fundraising and also he is the entertainment at the yearly SFL "Rockin FunRaiser". I am proud to say I am a Board Member and totally dedicated to helping this amazing organization help many other cancer patients!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I am an Appendix Cancer survivor and I attended the Strength For Life Wellness Retreat in Hauppauge. What an experience. Thank you Jacqui for thinking of me and inviting us when there was a cancellation. There were so many informative discussions that we had - things I would never have learned if I hadn't come. The classes were both fun and relaxing and gave everyone the chance to just sit and breath and not have to think about anyone or anything else. But most of all I will cherish the new friendships that I made! Thank you Strength For Life for this amazing experience!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is not one thing that I would change about this wonderful organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I attend weekly exercise classes run by this group, and also just attended their most recent Wellness Weekend. What a treat it was ! I really needed the laughter and camaraderie of other women in similar situations. This small group offers amazing services and I thank them for everything they do !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I am currently in active and aggressive treatment for breast cancer and was able to attend this past weekends' Strength for Life Wellness Retreat in between chemotherapy treatments. This is the first time I've ever attended anything like this but it will definitely NOT be the last. I had the most amazing time because immediately upon arriving, the hosts were so genuine and sincere that i felt welcomed and comfortable. that, alone, set the tone for the rest of my experience there. The classes provided are informative and the instructors and/or guest speakers are knowledgable, down to earth and engaging. Above all, the network of people that the organization has brought together is incredible. I was overwhelmed with the courage and positive outlook that these cancer survivors exhibit and found myself even more confident about my own coming victory over this vicious disease just because I had this opportunity to listen to stories, share information and make great new friends. It's been a long time since I've laughed that much in one night! Definitely an experience that I'll cherish and never forget!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes at all to the people or organization other than to help them expand and touch as mny lives as possible!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I am a Stage II breast cancer survivor. I was looking for retreats online and came across Strength for Life. I emailed my name in and was very blessed to be accepted into their retreat - as I am not in the Long Island area resident. I stepped way out of my comfort zone - I went alone not knowing anyone - but they welcomed me with open arms - from the very moment I walked in the door. This retreat opened me up to a world of new ideas - strength training exercise, zumba, yoga, reike, natural medicines, feng shui, and writing as a way to heal. I am going to implement some of these areas into my life. I met a group of women and one man - all in the same boat or "hot seat" as myself. We learned, laughed, and cried together. This weekend was just what I needed and I thank Strength for Life from the bottom of my heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - I wish they could come to Dutchess County

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us on our wellness weekend.