Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.971435
Write A Review
August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I am an ovarian cancer survivor, currently under treatment to battle a reoccurrence last year. The Strength for Life class was recommended to me to help me regain some strength and flexibility that I have lost during treatment. I cannot say enough good things about this experience. I have only attended one 8 week session so far, but I do see an improvement in my strength and flexibility already.

However, the biggest improvement has been in my balance - which was a wonderful surprise. I am no longer bumping into walls or teetering off the sidewalk when I walk!

The women in this class are all friendly and very cheerful, and we have a great time laughing together while Jacqui pushes us onward! Jacqui keeps us all laughing while working hard, making sure we are staying within the range that we are capable of handling. She gives each of us individualized advise and alters the exercises to accommodate each person's ability. She is like our own personal trainer!

The benefit for me has not just been physical, it has been enjoyable socially as well. I had been avoiding joining a gym or exercise class because I knew I would be falling behind the pace of the group. But here we are all in the same situation and we struggle on together as a group while having a lot of fun.

I am so thankful I found this program, it is the first time I have ever been excited to exercise, and I can't wait for the next session to begin!


More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Jaqui, Can't thank you enough for the service you provide to ladies like myself trying to battle back from this lousy cancer. I just completed my first 8 week Strength for Life Program and I can't wait for the next one to begin! You are a terrific teacher and I think it is amazing how you were able to work with all of us and accommodate all of our different levels of ability in the same class. We laughed, we worked out, it was great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have class two times a week

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 10, 2014

This retreat far exceeded my expectations. I feel that healthy living can help prevent a reoccurrence and I really needed support to get back on track with an exercise program. And most importantl... more

August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for this one of a kind experience. It meant so much to me in my continuing recovery!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it even more available to other survivors

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2014

This retreat far exceeded my expectations. I feel that healthy living can help prevent a reoccurrence and I really needed support to get back on track with an exercise program. And most importantly and unexpected, the emotional support that was provided (while we were receiving very valuable info relating to our battle with this disease and "exercising our way into wellness") made me feel less alone. I was in tears listening to others unique but similar stories and deeply touched by the level of care and concern by the organizers and all the volunteers. Never have I felt so nurtured on this journey. I don't think there is anything out there that can compare to the healing I received here. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it so many more could receive it's benefits!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 2, 2014

more

August 2, 2014

Jacqui is so energentic and driven to help others feel and be better. The Strength for life exercise program has been such a wonderful outlet for me and it has really helped me to move on and get moving again. I have met some wonderful women at the workout sessions and at the retreat I attended in April. I never really attended a "support" group during my treatments and surgeries for breast cancer. But these exercise sessions have been my support group and have really helped me reach back into life again. Thank you to Jacqui and all the wonderful women on the April retreat and in the Stony Brook group:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Jacqui came to a breast cancer support group meeting and explained and offered Strength For Life services and their mission to us. I was very impressed that they work so hard to provide such a valuable service without a fee. I started personal training classes and realized life does not need to revolve around a cancer diagnosis, you are not alone on your journey. I feel healthier and happier with myself when I attend the classes. You also develop a comradeship with fellow survivors and Jacqui that is priceless. This organization lives up to their name " Strength For Life".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish they continue to grow stronger in the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014

more

July 4, 2014

Amazing organization. I have been fortunate to have been not only a client of their exercise classes, but also a recipient of one of their weekend retreats. They truly embody the spirit of the non profit. All services and equipment are provided gratis and they work tirelessly to raise funding.
KUDOS!!
Gerry H

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I was very depressed and under chemo treatments and had so many other things going on in my body. I wasn't able to exercise and thanks to Jacquie and Strength for Life as I was helped along I began to do more and more exercise and it encouraged me and I began to really see a difference. I am able to do so much now and am not depressed. When you have all these ailments mostly caused by cancer and/or chemo it pushes you back in life and when you get a chance to do these exercises and they really help lift your spirit, mind and body it makes a real difference. It is wonderful that all is donated so you don't have to worry about how to buy this or that to do the exercises or pay for the wonderful trainers. They are a blessing from God. I am so thankful for all they have done. I never would have thought I could get this far back to healthy and happy and fit. I can't say enough how this is one of the best programs there and we even have fun.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the hospitals to help more with the organization and the provide more readily anything we need. Especially the rooms to exercise in

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I just completed my 8-week session with Jacquie. She works hard and is very kind. When my knees gave out, she showed me how to excercise from a chair. Can't wait for the next session to begin. Thank you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love a day-time class.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 23, 2014

more

May 23, 2014

Just completed the 8 week exercise class. I was impressed with the professionalism and kindness shown to all of us in each session. I felt great going to the classes and look forward to attending in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am always amazed of the strength and courage that all of the woman have at the retreats. Jacque & Debbie are selfless when it comes to this organization. The amount of time, effort and love that is put into just one wellness retreat always shines through. The morning always begins with each of the woman sharing their stories over breakfast. With every story the woman are drawn closer to each other. It doesn't matter where they came from, they all have a common denominator in this life. That being said, the goal is to achieve a life of health and wellness. As a volunteer, I too get to experience all of the weekends activities. From exercise class, Pilates, Reiki healing, yoga, and hiking through the beautiful trails of the Greenbelt. For me, it's getting to know these woman and being able to make a difference in their lives. I know that they make a difference in mine. In closing, I am so honored to be affiliated with Strength For Life, and have the opportunity to experience first hand all they have to offer.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us on our wellness weekend.