Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
101 Reviews
1234.97035
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
September 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 23, 2014

I just completed an 8 week exercise program with Jacqui. She is a good instructor and pushed us in a good and kind way. I can see and feel a difference in my core muscles. I still do some of the ... more

September 28, 2014

Strength for life is a wonderful nonprofit organization. This weekend I partisipated in a wellness retreat sponsored by them. There were guest speakers on Naturopathic medicine and Feng Shui. We participated in exercise classes, and a reiki circle with sound healing. The whole experience was amazing and empowering. I met other woman that I plan to keep in touch with. Sunday morning I went on a hike lead by Jacqui. She is an amazing dedicated and caring person, fun to be around. The hike was a great end to a wonderful weekend
I also go to exercise classes given by Jacqui geared for people dealing with cancer and its side effects from treatment. These classes have helped me regain my strength and feel good about myself.
thank you Jacqui and Strength for Life. I am so grateful You are there for us.
May 23, 2014

I just completed an 8 week exercise program with Jacqui. She is a good instructor and pushed us in a good and kind way. I can see and feel a difference in my core muscles. I still do some of the exercises at home but look forward to going back to another class were I can exercises in a group and benefit from the group motivation and socialization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

When I started with strength for life in march. I was just starting to exercise again. what a wonderful way to get my strength back. It is very supportive to exercise with other survivors and Jackie knows how to adjust each exercise for what you need. At the end of the 8 weeks she invited us to the wellness weekend. What a wonderful weekend full of exercises and lectures from different healing pathways.
Nutrition Reiki and feng shui. All interesting ways to promote healing and inner peace. I hope to get to go on another weekend. I loved it so much

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 26, 2014

I found this to be an excellent program. Jackie was understanding and was able to adapt the exercises to an individuals needs. I would recommend this program without hesitation. more

September 28, 2014

i have found Strength For Life to be a wonderful . Due to treatments, surgeries and health issues someone may not be able to do a specific exercise. Jacqui is always quick to have an alternative exercise. in addition, I find the class to be a great source of support.

This weekend I had the
honor of going to The Wellness Retreat. What a fantastic experience. My eyes were opened to other forms of healing and feeling better about life along with what my doctors have done for me. Thank you Jacqui, Debbie and Theresa for giving so much of yourselves to others.
June 26, 2014

I found this to be an excellent program. Jackie was understanding and was able to adapt the exercises to an individuals needs. I would recommend this program without hesitation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I can't say enough nice things about this class, its a great program for cancer patients. Going to this class and excercising makes me feel better. Talking to other cancer patients has really helped me, its been a support group. Jacqui makes the class fun, she has a great sense of humor. Thank you!
August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

I'm a breast cancer survivor who needed some support and I found that through Strength For Life. I would like to thank Jacqui for providing me with exercises that will help me to strengthen my body and my mind. It was a pleasure meeting all the cancer survivors and fighters. Keep moving forward and stay strong.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I presently have a tumor sitting on my vena cava and it will be there forever. I was told about this class by a wonderful lady who thought it would help. She was right. I have a place to fit in and Jacqui is an amazing teacher for this exercise class. I am so blessed to be able to attend and recommend it for all cancer patients. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Jacqui: I want to thank you for all your time and attention that you showed with this class. This is an amazing program that is offered to cancer patients. Not only was I able to participate with the class, you gave each of us your own personal attention when we needed it. It was not just the exercise program it was also a support group as I was able to talk to other people that have or are going through what I am now. I look forward to taking this class again after my reconstruction surgery. Keep up the good work. This program is truly an asset to the Carol Baldwin Cancer Center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A video so that we could do the exercises at home correctly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I am an ovarian cancer survivor, currently under treatment to battle a reoccurrence last year. The Strength for Life class was recommended to me to help me regain some strength and flexibility that I have lost during treatment. I cannot say enough good things about this experience. I have only attended one 8 week session so far, but I do see an improvement in my strength and flexibility already.

However, the biggest improvement has been in my balance - which was a wonderful surprise. I am no longer bumping into walls or teetering off the sidewalk when I walk!

The women in this class are all friendly and very cheerful, and we have a great time laughing together while Jacqui pushes us onward! Jacqui keeps us all laughing while working hard, making sure we are staying within the range that we are capable of handling. She gives each of us individualized advise and alters the exercises to accommodate each person's ability. She is like our own personal trainer!

The benefit for me has not just been physical, it has been enjoyable socially as well. I had been avoiding joining a gym or exercise class because I knew I would be falling behind the pace of the group. But here we are all in the same situation and we struggle on together as a group while having a lot of fun.

I am so thankful I found this program, it is the first time I have ever been excited to exercise, and I can't wait for the next session to begin!


More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Jaqui, Can't thank you enough for the service you provide to ladies like myself trying to battle back from this lousy cancer. I just completed my first 8 week Strength for Life Program and I can't wait for the next one to begin! You are a terrific teacher and I think it is amazing how you were able to work with all of us and accommodate all of our different levels of ability in the same class. We laughed, we worked out, it was great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have class two times a week

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 10, 2014

This retreat far exceeded my expectations. I feel that healthy living can help prevent a reoccurrence and I really needed support to get back on track with an exercise program. And most importantl... more

August 6, 2014

Thank you so much for this one of a kind experience. It meant so much to me in my continuing recovery!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it even more available to other survivors

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2014

This retreat far exceeded my expectations. I feel that healthy living can help prevent a reoccurrence and I really needed support to get back on track with an exercise program. And most importantly and unexpected, the emotional support that was provided (while we were receiving very valuable info relating to our battle with this disease and "exercising our way into wellness") made me feel less alone. I was in tears listening to others unique but similar stories and deeply touched by the level of care and concern by the organizers and all the volunteers. Never have I felt so nurtured on this journey. I don't think there is anything out there that can compare to the healing I received here. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it so many more could receive it's benefits!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us on our wellness weekend.