Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Nevada Street Teens is an exceptional organization in the way it runs its daily operations and manages its finances. The executive director is a caring individual, an amazing grant writer and conservative manager of resources. She is able to write successful grant proposals due to the interaction she has with the youth and can share real stories with potential donors. Other organizations often lose touch with those they serve but Street Teens is large enough to be effective and small enough to maintain contact with its beneficiaries; while maintaining contact with those who have improved their circumstances.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Unsure

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2013

more

August 17, 2013

I learned of Street Teens' work back when they operated out of a van to minister to homeless teens in the Las Vegas area (late 1990''s, I believe).The gravely needed support Lisa's team now provides is thanks to all the contributors, both great and small (like me) ,who know the value of being loved unconditionally. The young adults who drop into Street Teens see the unfettered devotion that all the ST volunteers share every day. God love you all!!!! Amy

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

My experience at Street Teens began in 2003. A friend told me about this amazing organization that opened its doors every evening to help the homeless you in the Las Vegas Valley. I was touched by the work they were doing. I completed the volunteer training and started helping out. The nights I was there we helped an average of about 25 youth per evening. Street Teens provides the simple things that mean so much to those youth, and it was so rewarding to be a part of the organization. I later organized a group of my co-workers to visit the center and mentor the youth on job seeking skills. Street Teens gives back to the community every night of every year and I am honored to be associated with such a dedicated group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

I am now 30 years old, in law school, and raising 3 children. I have a beautiful house and 3 beautiful dogs. I am a responsible grown adult. When I was 15 I became homeless. I remained that way on and off for about 7 years. When I was about 17 I got pregnant. Neither me or my daughter would be here today if it wasn't for the love and support I received from the caring volunteers at street teens. I am so grateful for this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 8, 2013

As the co-founder of Street Teens, i am extremely proud of the staff and organization as a whole for the difference they have made in Las Vegas . Street Teens was created to help at risk youth in the community and i am so grateful that the integrity my husband, David Mereaux, dreamed of has been maintained throughout the years. Our focus has always been and will continue to be, to help those in need with the assistance of the generous Las Vegas community.

Rosario Mereaux

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

I just love Street Teens! it was in 2003 that I started volunteering there. I started at the old location and we had sometimes up to 20 kids coming in each night. I can't imagine what these kids would have done if Street Teens was not there. There is such a great need for this type of organization. It meant a great deal to me to know that they were getting a hot meal, a hot shower, clothing, resources to help them find jobs, a place to rest their head, food, toiletries and an ear to just listen. These kids became family. All the people that are associated with this organization have their hearts fully into these kids as I did. I became a donor and to this day will volunteer or help in any way needed to help these kids that have to live on the streets in Las Vegas. They are now in a newer location which is very nice for the kids. We need to come together as a community and help. If you are looking to find a place to make a difference, please think of Street Teens. You will not be sorry and you will put a huge smile on a teens face.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Well....If I had more money I would love to provide transportation for these kids to get to and from the shelter and it sure would be nice to be able to extend the hours and even offer overnight stays. All of these things take money. Times have been tough for everyone so we do what we can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started as a donor, I began enjoying time also as a volunteer. Throughout the years I have referred many associates and friends to join this wonderful non profit. I have always made a personal committment to at least reach one out of 100. The clents that StreetTeens is able to reach is countless, year after year. It would be easier to close the doors and walk away, however, the leadership for Street Teens has been ongoing and consistent. I am proud to refer friends and associates to this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope and Pray they would get enough finicial support and permits to open more hours.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Without street teens I wouldn't be alive today let alone the woman I am today. I am a veteran and a mom of four and In school for nursing. I owe my life to the services I received at street teens. I would highly recommend this place but sadly the people who need this service do not have the power to look up reviews.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Street Teens in some capacity for years now, and I can't think of a better place to donate my time, money, and resources. The youths they serve are being taught skills they wouldn't otherwise learn, and they are being given a chance to improve their lives in a meaningful and empowering way. To mimic a previous comment, I am a third year student at the William S. Boyd School of Law and a colleague of the student mentioned below who was supported by Street Teens when things got tough. She is a brilliant woman and less than a year away from becoming an attorney in Nevada. She's giving back to her community; paying it forward. All in all, every organization is going to have a few people that think they know how to run things better, but this particular organization has definite results that validate all of the hard work of the volunteers and staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2013

more

August 7, 2013

I began volunteering for this fantastic organization in December 2001, under founder, David Mereaux, who passed away in July 2002. I currently serve as President and I am proud to say that we run a very "tight ship"; 84 cents of every donation dollar is expended on direct services for the homeless and at-risk youth we serve every day of every week over the last 12 years! Just 16 cents is expended on operations activities.

I am proud of my hard working, dedicated fellow board members; a small business owner, banker, METRO police department detective, high school teacher and retired UMC employee. Our executive director has been tirelessly running our business since 2003.

I can say that there was NOTHING more rewarding than attending graduation ceremonies at UNLV for Pandora who completed her studies in under 4 years and is currently attending the Boyd School of Law! And, in June 2013, I ran into Rooster at Costco in Henderson. When we hugged, he apologized for being sweaty from work! He has gained weight and looks incredibly healthy and happy. He said he was considering coming back to Street Teens as a volunteer! The work we do IS LIFE CHANGING!

Our doors will remain open every night of every week . . . whether we have 1 homeless teenager or 50.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers