Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 26, 2014

more

November 26, 2014

I have known Claudia, the founder of Strays and Others, since before it's inception. I have never met someone more dedicated, caring and full of passion for what she does, for the animals she saves, and ultimately fosters and gets adopted into their forever homes.

I have volunteered on
occasion for Strays and Others in various fundraisers over the years, feeding and caring for animals, gone on rescue runs, and helped by adopting many of my own pets from Strays and Others. I applaud Claudia, and Strays and Others vollunteers for their continued dedication, commitment, and perseverance over the last 30 + years in trying to rescue and find homes for hundreds of lost, abandoned, abused and neglected animals.

Running an adoption agency is not easy, especially when a recession in the economy hits. Everyone wants to cut back, no one wants to take responsibility, thinking animals are a disposable or easy item to "find new homes for", and get dumped off to shelters and rescue organizations like Strays and Others.
During a recession, donations dwindle to little to nothing. Feeding a single animal is an expense, imagine the cost of feeding 35 animals, out of your own pocket if donations of food and money cease to be collected.

Strays and Others, and founder Claudia Weber, deeply cares about each and every animal they adopt out into their new forever home. Applicants are carefully screened, helped with questions as the pet and family become acclimated and adjusted to each other, and follow up visits are scheduled for continued care.

I highly recommend Strays and Others to anyone who is considering a new pet. I also encourage anyone to make a donation, helping fund the continued care which has been and still is, so needed in the New Canaan community with rescuing and homing lost, abused or neglected animals into the forever homes and families they so deserve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have watched Strays And Others grow over the years, and I have been impressed every step of the way. I remember it when it was just a few dedicated people trying to make the world a better place by helping those that needed the help the most – the lost and abandoned animals of Fairfield County and neighboring Pound Ridge. Today, it is larger, but its true mission has not changed.

For three decades, I believe they have helped thousands of homeless animals and the people who have called asking for help with a dog or cat – and sometimes other kinds of animals, including wildlife. Strays And Others is well-run and worthy of significant support. I wish they could find land to build a permanent home. With that, they could do so much more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see them find a way to find a permanent location.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

S.A.O. is not a large group, but they put in more time and effort than most organizations 3x their size! What they lack in size they make up for in heart. It's a hardworking group of volunteers, most with full-time jobs that dedicate their time to taking care of the shelter animals, fundraising events and running the animals to their medical appointments as needed. All money raised goes directly to the animals, with the volunteers putting in extra money when expenses exceed donations to ensure that the animals are never lacking anything. Every animal is given a fighting chance with full medical care, love and FOOD! NO KILL IS KEY! Fix your pets so they don't get broken!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Felix The Cat, my tuxedo kitty, came from Strays & Others. He's the third cat I have gotten from Claudia Weber's loving Not-For-Profit. Not only has my feline child come from Strays & Others, but I tell everyone I know about the beautiful animals that are taken in, nurtured and placed in quality homes. Strays & Others seeks a good match between animal and person, and checks in with the adoptive families to make sure all continues to be well. Thank you, Claudia!
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

Strays and Others' Claudia Weber helps all small animals find the care and love each needs by carefully matching them with caring pet parents, following them to assure all is going well. She helped me through difficult pet health issues over the years and I'm just one of many! Our town would be without needed cat rescue if we did not have S&O. But S&O always needs contributions to cover enormous vet bills. Thirty years and counting of devoted care.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Strays And Others came to our aid when a little homeless/feral cat was in danger of an early death. Claudia Weber helped us trap him and get him the medical treatment he desperately needed. Once he was well she instructed us on how we could "tame" him. Most people would have looked at this helpless creature and euthanized him. Having been born outside, he was a skittish, hissing and terrified cat. Thanks to Strays And Others/Claudia Weber) he is now a well cared for PET. He is so affectionate and sweet people cant believe he was once a wild stray. We have personally witnessed the long and tireless hours Ms.Weber has unselfishly dedicated to ALL abandoned and stray animals in not just our town, but the surrounding communities too.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I have had the pleasure of fostering several little kitten families for Claudia Weber of Strays and Others.
Claudia works relentlessly to rescue, spay and neuter, and then find forever homes for countless stray and abandoned animals. A wonderful crew of volunteers try to help as much as
possible and all donations are put towards top veterinary care, food and shelter until wonderful families can adopt them and give them a new home.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Strays and Others is a fabulous organization, keeping + feeding + keeping healthy the many stray animals found locally (or had to be given up). I have been many hours in one of their "safe rooms", it is neat + clean, no mal-odors, pleasant volunteers. I am about to adopt a duo of cats. These are the kind of people to whom people should donate .... Just a few concerned citizens taking on the problems of the world.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I could not imagine my life without my kitty I adopted from Strays and Others. The warmth and care they give to the animals in their care is AMAZING. The preparation the staff give for an adoption is fantastic. Thank you for all the hard work.
October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Strays and Others is a fantastic organization that I am so happy to be a part of. The organization truly cares about the treatment and placement of homeless and abandoned animals. In the few months that I have been involved with Strays and Others, I have already seen so many animals go to happy, loving homes. All the volunteers are incredibly committed and dedicated to the cause. It shows in the excellent care and treatment of the animals after they have been rescued. Claudia is a fantastic leader, spearheading the cause and giving a voice to all the animals who don't have one.

I look forward to witnessing more rescues and placements of animals truly deserving of lasting, loving homes.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers