Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Growing up in a philanthropic family I learned early on the importance of giving back to others. One thing my Mother instilled in me was always supporting organizations that provide sanctuary to animals. Seven years ago I moved to CT and learned about Strays and Others from a business colleague. After some research I decided that Strays and Others was the organization that I wanted to support. My annual donation is also matched by my company.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Strays and Others is a wonderful organization. While I no longer live in the area I still appreciated all that Strays and Others does for many and I'm happy to support their efforts through a gift of financial support. Every dollar they receive is used wisely and helps them in providing a safe haven and the opportunity for finding new forever homes for so many of our furry friends in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer of Strays and Others from the beginning. Strays and Others was born out of a tragic fire in our town. An elderly couple who were animal lovers were killed along with many of the stray cats they took care of on their fixed income. I don't think many were aware of the number they tried to help until this event occurred. In the aftermath, a childhood friend of mine asked for my help with the rescue of the survivors of this group of cats. I agreed thinking I could help out for a while. Well I've been helping out 25+ years. I have been in charge of our small shelter for years, sometimes going every day, at times, multiple times a day giving medication, going on Holidays, going when I'm sick, going in the middle of the night when I wake up thinking "did I forget to put out water?" Am I crazy?(maybe!) But I do know it is so rewarding knowing you have found a new home for an animal or a safe haven for an elderly cat who is now "invisible" and not even a consideration for adoption by others. One of my best gifts was on Christmas Eve when I heard the first purr from a feral cat I had worked with for months. It is gifts like this that make volunteering with Strays and Others all worth it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I started volunteering at Strays and Others in the winter of 2013. I just absolutely love working for and spending my free time with this group. We have wonderful animals and volunteers! We go above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to our animals. This is a very dedicated group of people! Please consider adopting from us and/or volunteering!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I began working with Strays & Others in the early 1990s, as a freelance cat rescuer. Strays was one of half a dozen groups that took dozens of injured and at-risk cats and kittens I removed from city streets.
I was especially impressed with Strays’ adoption process, which involves intensive
screening to make the best possible match, and their policy requiring those who adopt an animal to sign a form agreeing to return it to the organization if they no longer can care for it.
I became a Strays & Others donor in 1998, when I moved out of the area.
Over the years, my admiration has grown for Claudia Weber, who founded the non-profit in 1985 and has won a slew of awards for her animal rescue work, including the American Red Cross of Lower Fairfield County’s first Hero award.
Claudia and her volunteers often go to extraordinary lengths for cats, dogs and other critters in need of help. Several years ago, for example, Claudia chartered a small plane to transport half a dozen dogs to Connecticut from a southern state, where they were to be euthanized.
With more financial support they could do even better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage people to donate sufficient funds for Strays & Others to build a shelter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

Many years ago, my father-in-law had a friendly cat show up at his house. He cared for Sonny the best he could, but he knew that he couldn't provide for him as well as he wanted. He contacted Strays and Others and they were able to find a permanent home for Sonny where he would be given the best care and all the love he deserved.
Several years later, after my mother-in-law passed away, I was taking care of my father-in-law's accounts and saw that he donated to Strays and Others' annual appeal. At this point of my life I had retired and was looking to volunteer and contacted them. Nearly 6 years later, I spend several hours a week serving the homeless cats and dogs under their care. It is a labor of love, but there is nothing more rewarding than seeing one of 'our' kitties or dogs adopted by a loving and caring family and being given a second (or third) chance to enrich someone's life. I wear the hat of an adopter, too, for within 4 short months of volunteering at the shelter, my husband and I welcomed Tessie into our family and are so happy to have her curl up with us every night.
In addition to the relationships I've made with the animals, I am pleased that I have met some wonderful people and know that many of them will be life-long friends as well as fellow volunteers.
Strays and Others is completely volunteer run and depends on donations from generous supporters to allow them to fulfill their goals. Veterinarian care is expensive, as is feeding and housing the cats and dogs that come into our care. We are always seeking more volunteers and gratefully welcome any donations!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

LOVE to see the cats move into a shelter that is designed especially for their comfort and the convenience of the volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a business owner in New Canaan for over 20 years, and have been a donor and occasional volunteer for this amazing non-profit for nearly the same number of years. Additionally, both myself and my mom have adopted cats from the organization.

Strays and Others is a small
organization full of generous, open-hearted and professional people who work tirelessly to rescue animals and give them the care and compassion they so badly need and deserve while at the same time working enthusiastically to help them find their forever homes.

Over these many years, I have seen every aspect of Strays and Others, and cannot say enough kind words about them. I also now that nearly 100% of every dollar goes directly to the care of the animals... it doesn't get any better then that!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The little four-legged love of my life came to me thanks to Strays and Others. But the process was not easy! I was interviewed, my home was visited on more than one occasion, references were provided to be sure I'd be a good "mom" and, after the actual adoption, there was great follow-up and support for the many questions I had about my new "babe"! Strays and Others is administered by a truly dedicated woman (Claudia Weber) and her dedicated staff. I was impressed by my experience with them and continue to be so as I follow S&O's work throughout the community. This organization is a MODEL for others which want to place pets in the right homes!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money and more staff and more space!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

It’s never easy to replace the unconditional love you’ve gotten from your 4 legged family member who’s been in your life for 14 years and passes on. After taking the time to mend my broken heart I was ready to adopt another kitty. I found Strays and Others and decided to look into what they had to offer. Not only did I find kittens, older cats and dogs in need of a loving home but I learned that the organization is completely run by volunteers and all donations raised are used to support and care for their animals or to assist pet owners who may be struggling financially to cover medical expenses for their cat or dog.

Although it was a very hard decision to choose from all of the wonderful and loving animal needing a forever home, I was immediately drawn to Bella an older long haired black cat with beautiful big green eyes. He has a great personality and I am so grateful to Strays and Others for fostering him until I found him. I can tell he was well cared for and loved by the volunteers that visited him every day because there was no adjustment period. He came into my home and quickly settled in as if he had been there for years.

An organization like Strays and Other, Inc. is deserving of all the financial support available so they can continue on with their loving and caring efforts for another 30 years!

Thank you Strays and Others for taking such good care of Bella and all of the other animals in your care.

Laurie, New Canaan

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

there is nothing I would change.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to Strays and Others, Inc. eight years ago and have never looked back. It all started when a very dirty, matted and friendly kitty showed up at my home exhausted, hungry and very tired. It was obvious she belonged to a family but had lost her way and needed help finding them. I began contacting all the local animal organizations asking if anyone had reported losing their kitty fitting my new found friend’s description. All of the organizations were quick to answer me by saying no and offering me no further advice on how to find the lost kitty’s owner. When I spoke with the Strays and Others volunteer – she offered to come by my house to see the lost kitty and talk about our options. This caring and concerned Strays and Others volunteer was determined to find the owner and after a week of making inquiries – we had success – the owner and lost kitty were reunited.

This experience left me with a positive lasting impression and opened my heart to Strays and Others and their cause. Eight years later, I continue to support them financial several times a year – I have adopted two of their beautiful and loving kitties – and also volunteer my time to assist in their annual fundraising events.

My devotion and support to Strays and Others grows stronger every time I find myself surrounded by their volunteers who give their time and money to helping abandoned, homeless and loving cats, kittens and dogs.
Cynthia, New Canaan

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers