Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 2, 2013

Straw for Dogs is an organization that I believe in. They have done a wonderful job in helping the animals in need in Alaska. They have compassion for the animals and I will continue to support them... more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Straw for Dogs is a non-profit organization that I really believe in. They are there for the dogs left out in the cold in Alaska. They educate about the need to provide water, food, warmth in the harsh weather. With the owners permission they will provide a dog house and straw for dogs left out in the cold. I cannot say enough about the good works that Straw for Dogs does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013

Straw for Dogs is an organization that I believe in. They have done a wonderful job in helping the animals in need in Alaska. They have compassion for the animals and I will continue to support them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

I love this program it's all too common for animals needs to be over looked. In Alaska it is a matter of life or death for pets left outside and this program helps provide shelter in order for them to survive. I can't appreciate enough the thought and caring they provide and hope they can continue to do so in the years ahead. Thank you, Desiree

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

This is my favorite non profit organization. I have a soft spot for dogs and cats and it brings me to tears to see one not being properly treated. These people go where sometimes they are not welcomed all in the name of taking care of pets. Their dedication and courage is appreciated and honored. They work hard to get supplies to help keep our animals safe in the winter, dog houses, kennels, straw, and other items. I am always glad to donate to their cause. Linda Morrison

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see information or a feature in the newspaper about this organization. I know they go on TV but it is early in the morning.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Straw For Dogs shows true compassion for dogs in need who live outdoors. They provide positive education and help for animals caretakers and work hard to enrich animals lives. I have met so many happy dogs that have been helped by Straw For Dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

What has Straw For Dogs not done for me? I think the hardest thing is figuring out where to start. I first met them about two years ago when they showed up at the house. They had already stopped by but I had missed them. They were offering goodies, toys, dog food, and straw for my outside boys. They played with the boys and when they left I thought that was it. I was surprised at the kindness and willingness to make sure my outside boys were taken care of.

And their kindness just didn't stop there. Near the beginning of winter the year after, and year after that, they stopped in with more straw for my boys, leashes, new collars, treats (the boys loved the treats), bowls, etc...for them.

They also helped take my old guys to the vet as well as took the time to accompany me with them. We also had to make a trip to the SPCA and they were right there to help me get the guys inside.

A hard decision came over the summer when one of my boys needed to be put to sleep. And I don't think I could have had the strength to do it alone. And I didn't have too. Straw For Dogs were the first people I called. I cried on the phone and Metis just listened and then she cried with me. One of the volunteers for Straw For Dogs came over at midnight to pick me and my boy up and take him to a wonderful vet clinic. Most of it was a blur but what I do remember is the volunteer giving me emotional support, speaking to the vet when I couldn't speak, and simply being there for me and my boy even though it was so late at night. She was amazing, and her kindness was real, nothing like that could be made up and trust me, no one wants to go through that experience of dealing with a blubbering woman and holding her hand but at the same time soothing the dog and speaking with the vet, but straw for dogs did and I am so grateful.


Lastly, I was staying next door to someone who was suppose to be family. I ended up needing to leave the situation for the safety of my physical and emotional being. I tried hard to find a place that had a yard so I could take my last boy but it wasn't working out and my living situation was getting worse. I ended up giving my last boy to straw for dogs and I was happy because they found him a great home. I got to meet his new parent and he now has other brothers and sisters, and chickens to harass.

Straw For Dogs always made sure to assist me with the boys whenever I needed it, no matter what help they needed.

And they helped me too by helping them as well as providing emotional support for me through these last couple of months.

And although I am no longer an owner of an outside doggie, Straw for Dogs still text me and check up on me and that is truly amazing.

I also get lots and lots of picks of my old boy and I love everything that he is able to do at his new home.

If you get anything out of what I've written it's that Straw For Dogs is absolutely willing to help your dog the best way they can and they don't get paid for doing it. It's a rare thing these days but they truly are a group of caring people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes. I just hope they get the funding to continue on doing what they're doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

Great folks doing a great job. I hope you can house every cold hungry dog in Alaska

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2013

more

August 4, 2013

Exactly one year ago a smart little stray husky came from Anchorage AK to join our recreational dog sled family pack in Alberta, Canada. Arranging transport proved to be challenging and even tho SVEN was not in the "care" of Straw for Dogs, this amazing organization stepped up to the plate on behalf of husky SVEN. Straw for Dogs worked over and above the call of duty to successfully arrange ALL travel arrangements ~ including but not limited to numerous calls, texts, emails between participating parties, visiting SVEN at his temporary care, locating a suitable airline approved crate for his long flight, introducing him to a crate, ensuring he had ALL proper paperwork for border customs, travelling in the early morning hours to personally send him safely on his journey ~ a long flight from Anchorage AK to Vancouver BC. We drove the 16 hour trip and picked up our beloved SVEN and travelled home to introduce SVEN to his new family pack. Sven was indeed a perfect match for our pack and has already taken his turn at being LEAD DOG !!
Huge paws up to S4D for all of their efforts, for us, for SVEN, and for all of the outdoor dogs who have received much needed straw, fencing, houses, toys, and all they require to provide comforts of life!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

I had the opportunity to experience the generosity and compassion when S4D's volunteered to help out with a fundraiser I was doing for animals with special needs. Time and kindness were given to an event dear to my heart. This built a bridge to further connections. Our paths crossed again when S4D's initiated the rescue of many dogs off of a very sad and destitute lot. These dogs were taken into rescue, given so many supplies, support and TLC from S4D's. These dogs who never knew the kindness of people, the comfort of a touch, the warmth of the inside of a house, were given a second chance at life. The amount of dedication and compassion I have seen from the founders and volunteers is enormous. Over time I have seen the transition of pets who were living outdoors into warm and loving homes, due to the time S4D's invested in the animals and the families. Animals surrendered to S4D's receive exemplary care as they seek out proper medical advice and strive to help the animals in any way possible. It can be challenging at times when you see the conditions that some of these animals exist in, but it is S4D's who is being a voice for these precious fur angels. Thank you and keep up the amazing work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

It is hard for dogs in Alaska to be out in -15 degrees in the middle of winter. Straw for Dogs understands that not everyone believes a dog is an indoor dog whether or not they have tons of fur or not. Donating houses and straw to keep outdoor dogs warm and out of the elements is a blessing for the dog. And when an outdoor dog is no longer cared for by the owner Straw for Dogs opens their home and brings them inside where they will stay until a new family comes. Without Straw for Dogs many more outdoor dogs would not be here today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

My first volunteer experience was with Straw for Dogs, a little over 4.5 years ago on a very cold winter night.

I received a phone call from a good friend that there was a young man asking Straw for Dogs for help. He told us of his family dog that lived outside her whole life, they could
no longer provide for her. As I went with my friend to offer some dog food and support, we learned the dog needed so much more than just food. This 13 year old McKenzie River Malamute, was in very poor shape, laying on a garbage pile and unable to stand on her own. It was 7 degree that evening.

Working with the family, Straw for Dogs offered medical support and I quickly opened my home to offer her a warm soft bed to live out her golden years.

I am lucky to be a part of an organization like Straw for Dogs. They have a strong mission and are focused on their goals. To improve the lives of animals and to educate people on how to provide a better way of living, not only for the animals but for the humans too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers