Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I had never in my life been up close and personal with homeless people, and was reluctant to donate my time with Straight Street Orlando, because I was "too busy" and "too tired" and "too whatever" until one Tuesday in July I didn't have any more excuses, and my husband and I showed up. WOW. We were so moved, and impressed with the organization, structure, and efficiency of the whole process. I have tried to encourage others to join my husband and me, and have been pleased that my children, my parents, and my coworkers have joined in to volunteer with me. If we truly want to make a difference in the lives of the homeless we must feed their bellies and their souls. This is what PJ and Straight Street Orlando tries to do every week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

Helping feed the homeless and see how they appreciate us being there had been more of a blessing to me then those I am down there to help. Me and my Bible study cover the meal the 4th Tuesday of the month. This organization has taken several homeless man and given them a job. You need to check Straight Street Orlando out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The location of the feeding would change. But with no finance it hard to do more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I have had the opportunity to help this amazing organization by cooking, serving and donating. SSO is doing so much to bring awareness to those who would no sooner be forgotten in the city of Orlando. Every Tuesday, Straight Street Orlando no only shares food with our homeless friends, they share a message. That message is spoken in a way that can give them something to relate to and maybe inspire them to seek out and cry out to God. SSO is amazing in the fact that it is helping to get people involved. To show others that the homeless are not bad people. They are just people that have been put in less than ideal situations. With the goals and plans of SSO, there is hope to help get them back on their feet through the knowing of our Lord and a constant compassion from the team of people who make the organization go. PJ Charles is an amazing man of God and has an outstanding vision for what he wants Straight Street Orlando to be. If the City would band together to help instead of condemn and label the homeless population, it could help lower or even end homelessness in Orlando.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

I have had the opportunity to cook, serve, and donate to this wonderful ministry from it's inception which has changed how I think, feel,and act about others who are less fortunate than me. God has also blessed me with the opportunity to serve with my family; my husband, son, and ex-husband who have remained faithful to the ministry by being available to serve every week. It is a life changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

Straight Street has impacted many lives - including my own! I love this group and serving with them is serving with family. The way this group comes together is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

This is my weekly REALITY CHECK ! Reminds me that what we have is not ours, but Gods and that it is our job to share Gods word with those who may not otherwise receive it. Feeding is always secondary to Gods word every Tuesday night... But the joy and gratitude you see on the faces we serve... Is what keeps me coming back. I feel blessed to have this opportunity of share and serve in this capacity. THANK STRAIGHT STREET ORLANDO!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

SSO has changed so many lives of volunteers snd of those being served. The love is real so our homeless brothers and sisters know that they are more than a face they are family!! Serving hope by all means and loving it!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

Amazing people and always a good time getting to love on all our friends out there! It's changed my life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

When going out to join Straight Street Orlando in serving, everyone is welcomed like family. This team is has positive high energy and is making a wonderful impact on our community. They are all very loved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 14, 2011

Someone once asked me why I got out and volunteer with Straight Street Orlando on a weekly basis, and I stopped and said the first thing that came to mind, which was that there was nothing better that... more

September 21, 2012

This group is absolutely amazing. And trust me I am not blowing smoke here. This organization steps out and helps those on the street and changes the lives of its volunteers. Straight Street Orlando is a God given gift to the city of Orlando and I am so grateful to be able to be a part of it. So many people are willing to give the shirts off their backs, or anything that they can just to help our friends who are living on the street. And its not just every once in a while, its every week. There is so much love for everyone involved that to be part of this organization is to be part of a real family - Gods family. Theres no better place to be. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Someone once asked me why I got out and volunteer with Straight Street Orlando on a weekly basis, and I stopped and said the first thing that came to mind, which was that there was nothing better that I could be doing on a Tuesday night. And I still stand by that. I have been serving food and volunteering at events for the homeless in downtown Orlando since before Straight Street even existed. And I will stand by Straight Street, because of the amazing organization it is, til the day, heaven forbid, it or I no longer exist. We go out and help these people, not the drunk bad people that most people assume that the homeless are, but the good people who just need help, the people who are just like you and me that may not have been as lucky or had as many breaks as you or I have. We help them in every way we possibly can. We watch these people grow and become stronger and we happily watch them leave cause we know that they have successfully found a way off the street. We give them food, we give them clothes, we wash the clothes they already have, but most of all we give them love, hope, and faith that they can make it through the rough times and that things will get better. And truthfully compared to volunteering with a group that is capable of all that, I am not sure anyone could be doing anything any better on a Tuesday night.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have watched my friends on the street, with the help of contacts and our resources, not only get jobs, but also get places to live and move on with their lives, and be much better off.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make any change to this organization i would find a way to increase our funding, because this organization has such potential to grow and stem and become even more than it is, but without adequate funding it will never have the chance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing. I absolutely love it as it is.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It has and continues to change my life.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers