Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

Straight Street Orlando is a very great organization to be a part of. Not only are you serving food to those who are down on their luck, you are also able to use your gifts and talents to impact a life. Whether it is praying for someone, listening to their story, or just being there for them; you are always needed somewhere. Straight Street Orlando changed my life and left an impact on me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hi My Name Is Kraig I'm A Pastor With Breaking Bread Ministries Here In Vancouver I also Do Prison Ministries With Bill Glass Weekend Of Champions . Last Year 2011, I Walked across The U.S. Going Into some Of the Prison's With My Brothers and Sisters From Bill Glass Weekend Of Champions. Along The Way I Stopped In Many Town's To Minister To The Poor and Homeless To Share and Love On Those Who Where Reaching Out For God. And In My Travels I would Spend 3 Days Ministering On the Streets Of Orlando . FL Sleeping And Breaking Bread With Gods Children. And What A Blessing It Was Because I Met My Brother In Christ Jesus , PJ Charles And His Wonderful Team Of Ministers, Who Make Up The Body Of Straight Street Orlando . And What A Wonderful Work Our Lord Jesus Is Doing Through Them And For The City Of Orlando and Those who Call the streets Home . It,s Not Five Star Dining But You Can Bet The Farm Its Five Star Love from Our Father Above. This Wonderful Ministry Of God , Comes In, sets Up and Starts Loving On The Men and Women in No Time At all . As Other Folks Help Set Up For dinner The Live worship Music Begins .Some Of The volunteer Ministers Find Men And women To Share with and Pray For, Then Right Before serving Supper My Brother Pj Shares Gods Good News And A Prayer Of thanks . It was Wonderful Breaking Bread With My Brothers and Sister's and Sharing In The Lords Love For them. And If That Wasn't Enough , At The End Of The Evening After all Was Cleaned Up We Prayed And Gave some More, Then My Brother Shared More of Gods Love. A 100 or so Folks That Were There Were Able To Get There Dirty Cloths Cleaned On Saturday's Laundry Day, Wow Now that's God Using Straight Streets Orlando ! Taken It To The Streets Fulfilling The Needs Of Gods People. Serving , Counseling , Praying , Worshiping , Feeding The Hungry , Providing Laundry Service , And this Isn't Once a month This Is Every Week On The Streets Pouring The Love Of God Out For Those In Need Of Jesus . This Is God Loving The Great City Of Orlando FL . My Brother PJ. And His Team Of Straight Street Orlando Staff, Are Ambassadors United For Christ , Kingdom Builders ***** Cant Wait Until God Lets Me Serve With My Brothers & Sister's again . Pastor Kraig B .

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

I started serving with SSO from the very beginning and became a board member about a year later. It's difficult to find words to adequately describe how amazing it is to serve with this organization. When participating in an event serving the homeless, there is no distinction between the homeless, and those serving. There is an understanding that we are are all humankind and ALL valuable; there are friendships built, struggles shared, and prayers of encouragement for anyone in need. SSO and it's reputation of caring for others comes from it's background rooted in what Christ did on the cross. We have all made mistakes and wrong choices, and we serve out of grateful hearts for the grace Jesus has shown to all of us. The best way to fully understand SSO is by experiencing it for yourself.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

It all started with a Facebook message. Heating up pizzas and trays of food. Got the GirlScout Troop involved. It was a good feeling to give back to the community and helping serve others. Straight Street Orlando is a wonderful organization and deserves this award!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

Straight Street Orlando is a wonderful organization. We feed the homeless and use the words of God to provide hope, love and inspiration to help the homeless change their life. My bible study group provides the food to serve on the average 300 homeless, once a month. My husband, daughter and myself, serve every Tuesday for over one year. It has been a life changing experience for me. My family likes to walk around and just talk with our homeless friends. Many of them welcome a warm smile and conversation, as most people (out of fear) will not talk or look directly at a homeless person. We also provide clothing, warm blankets, and even wash their clothes once a month. This is a fantastic organization and has touched the lives of so many of us that volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

My 15 year old son and I volunteer almost weekly with Straight Street Orlando. This group serves a good night of teaching of Jesus' love for us, as well as fills many hungry peoples' appetites. The volunteers serve the homeless that come looking for a few words of Truth and a little bit of dinner. The interesting thing is that my son and I have been drawn into this group because we get so much out of the teaching and serving of others. There is music, fun worship songs, teaching of the Gospels, fellowship and friends. It is an interesting process to step out of my comfort zone to reach out to a homeless person one on one. Turns out they are the same as I am... Straight Street provides benches for the folks to sit and relax, as well as a place of comfort and love. It's a great group, accomplishing great things. Come join us! Straight Street Orlando! You Rock!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 13, 2011

Since I started to volunteer with Straight Street Orlando I and many have come to enjoy what it done through this ministry. This oranization goes above and beyond to assist those struggling in this ec... more

September 20, 2012

Straight Street Orlando or SSO as they are known really love on people they always have a heart on. They listen to the concerns of those struggling in the streets. When I got involved I notice that the would go out and feed rain or shine. They help clean the homeless clothes and help them as much as they can get back on theirs feet.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen many people life change from getting help for drug and alcohol addiction to working hard to get back on there feel. If you ask many they will tell you how Straight Street Orlando change them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I introduced new people to this group

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It make me feel proud to be able to help someone hungry in America get a nice hot meal.

June 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Since I started to volunteer with Straight Street Orlando I and many have come to enjoy what it done through this ministry. This oranization goes above and beyond to assist those struggling in this economy. By providing a hot meal, doing the laundry or just listening. Straight Street Orlando does not have an income coming in unless genereous people donate the money or item needed to take care of the people of Orlando and the sourrounding area. If the person needs a 7 day bus pass, they provide it .They bring in agency that provide guidance and counseling to those that need it. They collect clothes to hand out to those that need it. The Excutive Director Pernell Charles has a BIG heart and Passion for those in need and that why I give my time to Straight Street Orlando. Straight Street Orlando goes to where their is a need. They are not a political group and they try to keep away from itf possible. I have learn the Straight Street Orlando has a heart for God and a heart for people and truly enjoy what they do with their time. I would recommend friends and family to give to this organization there time and finance.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization with no funding take money out of their pockets to give to those in need. I have personally seen Pernell "Pj" Charles take money and buy bus passes for people that need them. They, all the volunteers do the same as they all go above any beyond to entertaint those struggling and provide a little light and hope. They go out rain, shine or cold no matter what those people need to eat. All done with safty in mind first for the volunteer and the homeless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything because they are doing enough with what they make with their jobs to help other in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I'll say keep doing what they are already doing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering with Straight Street Orlando has thought me to be able to listen. It has given me a passion for those struggling.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This has brought me to tears and has given me joy eveytime i go.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

My first time coming to SSO I only knew a few people; in fact, the friend who was on me to come couldn't make it that night, but I went anyway. Upon arrival, I was met with friendly faces and smiles. Many from the leaders and volunteers and many from the people we were there to serve. From day 1, I was hooked. It was definently out of my comfort zone, but I knew that God was working there. I usually found myself at the drink station filling cups before the meal started and walking around with pitchers providing refils. Other ways that volunteers serve are donating and disctributing clothing & hygene products, preparing, heating and serving food, ministering through music, sharing a message, praying with the individuals, collecting quarters & detergant and working on laundry day. I've probably forgotten something, but just know that when you come to help, you might be uncomfortable with the thought of not knowing many people, but there will be plenty of jobs to do and faces to welcome you there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Straight Street Orlando is a ministry that does more than just feed the homeless in Orlando on Tuesday nights. SSO feeds, prays, ministers, encourages, clothes, and more our homeless friends. One Saturday a month we open a laundry facility to clean any clothing they have. We host garage sales with the donations we receive to raise money for the food costs. We take a lot of the donations we receive and give them to the homeless. We also help others with needs, we have given clothing and food to families in the Orlando area that have fallen on hard times. We encourage our volunteers spiritually and have a wonderful volunteer family. There are so many ways to get involved. Come on down on a Tuesday night and see for yourself, you will never be the same!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

such a caring and loving organization we are like a family

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers