Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.901795
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
November 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was devasted when I realized my husband had been lying to me about his sexuality and his affairs in within my marriage. I then found out my father was also gay.

The Straight Spouse Network and Bonnie Kaye saved my sanity. I was really overwhelmed and felt homocidal. With their
assistance I have been slowly healing.

Now we just need more therapists to help with the Post Traumatic Stress of this experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make a clear connection to 1) Lawyers who specialize is Straight Divorces 2) Psychologists who specialize in PSTD and straight Trauma and 3) in person events for children of these marriages so they can talk about their feelings and begin to recover. More publicity and a PUSH for research on the impact this has on Straights. The world still doesn't know we exist.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The straight spouse network has and is helping me through my journey as a straight spouse. This organization has saved my life as well as many others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have more face to face meetings in California. I would have a fund for straight spouses so they don't have to decide between loosing their kids, or end up homeless. I would have attorneys that have knowledge of what a straight spouse goes through and have them at a sliding fee scale. I would have a phone number to call when someone is in a crisis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

By far one if the best organizations around for people like me who needed an understanding ear!
A true life saving group of people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization was there for me when I was at the lowest point in my life. They understood what I was going through and put me in touch with others who shared my experiences. I truly believe they saved my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hellp them reach more people sooner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Six years ago my wife had an affair with a woman and announced that she thought our marriage was over. I was devastated. I felt completely alone and confused. Luckily I say a mention on-line of the straight spouse network. I was able to attend a face to face support group and connected with a network of people who understood exactly what i was going through. it is no exaggeration to say that SSN saved my life. Without this community I think the voices in my head urging me to kill myself might have won. SSN got me through the worst period of my life and held my hand while i put my life together in a new and better way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure every mental health professional in the country was aware of these services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found the Straight Spouse Network in early 2008, and through its meetings, online communications, and advocacy it has helped me immensely. And it has done so by having a reasonable stance on working with the gay partner, which is admirable. Like many in the situation, the transitions are difficult from being with the gay spouse unknowingly, to dealing with it, to recovering so one can move forward. SSN services help thousands of people at all stages, first by knowing they are not alone and then by ongoing support through the organization and the community of others in like circumstances. And it does all that with a very small budget. For those reasons, Straight Spouse Network is a GREAT nonprofit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the Web site, do more outreach.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In August 2011 my wife told me our marriage was over after she went to a conference and met a woman there that she had a physical attraction to. Through the weeks and months following my world was turned upside down. Everything I had ever believed about my marriage and who I was in it vanished overnight. Friends, neighbors, relatives, and co-workers didn't understand what I was going through.

When I stumbled across the Straight Spouse Network, everything changed. Stories in my life that seemed unbelievable I saw happening in other people's lives. I was no longer alone in my confusion. Through this support network I met many people that held my hand until I was able to stand on my own again. Through the help and guidance of virtual strangers I started to put my life back together again.

They gave me hope and a promise that life would get better when it seemed over.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

After 20+ years of marriage and 3 children my husband told me he was gay. It was totally unexpected and I didn't have a clue. I was sure I was the only one who had ever experienced such a situation. SSN volunteers assured me I was not alone and that I would get through this. Three and an half years later, I am happy to say they were right....but back in the dark days that followed disclosure I was paralized with fear, sadness and shame. Had it not been for the online resources and face to face meetings I don't think I would have found the bright future that was ahead of me. I will forever be thankful to this organization and its members for their support and encouragement.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

When my wife came out after 30 years of marriage SSN and it's volunteer were there. Without them, I would not be writing ths to you. They didn't change my life, they saved it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

July 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I thank god every day for the Straight Spouse Support Network. During the most frightening and horrific days of my life I received the support and encouragement of others who had walked this difficult journey. I truly hope that one day there is no need for the Straight Spouse Support Network because all sexualities are accepted and embraced but until that day comes along, SSSN needs to be in existence. It is a lifeline to those of us who have discovered our spouse is gay and cried the tears that only other straight spouses can completely understand.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers