Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
137 Reviews
1234.912415
| 1 2 3 4...13 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Straight Spouse Network helped me through a very difficult time in my life. They provided a service of putting me in touch with people who understood what I was going through. This type of support has no substitution. They do wonderful work in an area that not many understand.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

After 28 years of marriage, my husband admitted that he was attracted to men. I'd heard it many years before - before we were dating even - but, when I'd asked him about it - he gave me an excuse I believed. Either way, to me, it meant an almost 30 year relationship had all been a lie. I found sanity and support with the Straight Spouse Network - and I learned I was NOT alone. The Straight Spouse Network gives support and healing to those of us who could be considered the collateral damage when the GLBT spouse finds his or herself.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

The Straight Spouse Network is a saving grace. I found the organization after having filed for divorce from my gay-in-denial husband. I got a miraculous amount of support for what was the toughest decision I have made in my adult life. Now that I am on the other side of that dark place, I am committed to stay on for new straight spouses who need to see a shining light at the end of their tunnel. It does get better and the Straight Spouse Network provides the support we need to keep moving forward.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

When I finally figured out everything that had, and hadn't, gone on in my marriage, I was totally shattered and overwhelmed. Finding an on-line resource where I could be anonymous was wonderful. I could see that I was not alone in this devastating and crazy journey that none of us had chosen. It was so comforting to know that others had faced the horror of finding out that all they thought was real was only a sham, and some of them had thrived. When I couldn't see one step in front of me, I needed to read, over and over again, that I could survive this journey because others had been there and were no longer completely devastated every day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

After 15 years of marriage my wife told me that she is gay. I was dumbfounded and lost and sad and angry. I have found and place where I can talk to people in similar situations. This organization has been a true lifesaver as I struggle to rebound from what I thought was forever
November 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was devasted when I realized my husband had been lying to me about his sexuality and his affairs in within my marriage. I then found out my father was also gay.

The Straight Spouse Network and Bonnie Kaye saved my sanity. I was really overwhelmed and felt homocidal. With their
assistance I have been slowly healing.

Now we just need more therapists to help with the Post Traumatic Stress of this experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make a clear connection to 1) Lawyers who specialize is Straight Divorces 2) Psychologists who specialize in PSTD and straight Trauma and 3) in person events for children of these marriages so they can talk about their feelings and begin to recover. More publicity and a PUSH for research on the impact this has on Straights. The world still doesn't know we exist.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The straight spouse network has and is helping me through my journey as a straight spouse. This organization has saved my life as well as many others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have more face to face meetings in California. I would have a fund for straight spouses so they don't have to decide between loosing their kids, or end up homeless. I would have attorneys that have knowledge of what a straight spouse goes through and have them at a sliding fee scale. I would have a phone number to call when someone is in a crisis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

By far one if the best organizations around for people like me who needed an understanding ear!
A true life saving group of people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

When my husband told me he was gay I was devastated and ashamed; I thought I was the only one who had ever gone through such an experience. The Straight Spouse Network opened my eyes and let me see that I was not alone. It gave me a chance to meet with others in my area that had similar experiences and offered an internet support list that was available to me 24 hrs/day -- whenever I needed to cry, vent or just needed a boost. Thanks to them I put my despair behind me and moved forward with my new life. I have made life long friends and now proudly serve on the Board. My life has gone from black and white into full color again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be sure they had ample financial resources to be able to reach everyone in need and have enough staff to take on new projects and research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization was there for me when I was at the lowest point in my life. They understood what I was going through and put me in touch with others who shared my experiences. I truly believe they saved my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hellp them reach more people sooner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers