Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

This summer I spent a week with a wonderful group of people - volunteers, employees, entrepreneurs, lovely, happy, proud and hospitable Guatemalan people, and the one in charge, the one with the vision - the one who is a true inspiration, Nancy Hughes. Together we worked to help Marco Tulio, another big visionary, build ECOCOMAL stoves to fill orders of an ever-increasing demand. We also worked at building a bamboo stick constructed house that will add to Marco Tulio's repertoire of grand ideas. This is truly a phenomenal endeavor. This nonprofit gets my vote!!!
Nancy
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

StoveTeam International not only provides technological solutions with health and ecological benefits, they build local level employment via their stove factories. With a dedicated and competent staff, they have been a leader in the clean cooking revolution.
July 7, 2014

We worked in the stove factory helping with 2 main tasks. The factory was very busy trying to fill an order for 600 stoves, so our help, although we did have a learning curve initially, was beneficial. The thought that my hands filled stoves with pumice for insulation and my trowel smoothed out the concrete top of the stove and that someone, somewhere in Guatemala would be using this exact stove soon, was heartwarming. We also helped with factory expansion by helping to construct a cabana where the factory owner dreams that one day visitors will stay while experiencing stove making. We also made a visit to a home where they cooked on the ground, learning about the challenges of trying to cook tortillas in the rain. We provided this family with a fuel efficient stove in exchange for their effort to help us understand the challenges of the open fire.
The overall experience was well rounded and intimate. I definitely will want to return for a similar experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change nothing about the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

I have just returned from a Stove Team trip to Oaxaca and Nochixtlian Mexico, what a wonderful experience.We were building a Stove Factory in a small town that will serve the surrounding villages.
I learned how to stucco the way it has been done in Mexico for hundreds of years ( and it was a
great upper body workout!). We worked hard but had lots of time for interesting experiences, visiting villages to introduce our stoves, visiting ruins,churches, even a little shopping.Great food and great company on this very well planned trip. This was my 4th Rotary related international trip and it was the best, can't wait to go on another!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 8, 2012

more

December 8, 2012

I was one of the student coordinator through the University of Oregon Alternative Spring Break program that traveled to Honduras with StoveTeam. It was one of the most memorable experiences of my college career. I think I can speak with the entire group when I say that. Not only were our hosts, Annibal and Rosanna, the most hospitable, friendly, warm people I've ever had the chance to meet, but the cause is such an important one and it truly felt like we were making a difference in other peoples lives. Empty your pockets, go with them to Honduras. Once you meet these people you will never turn back!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Having just returned from San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, I want to applaud the StoveTeam in combining a wonderful travel adventure with the opportunity to leave a little something positive in the country you have visited as well. Our volunteer work was very satisfying, helping families in relatively remote villages use the ecocide stove (developed by STI) to not only save 40% more wood, but provide smoke free burning and much less danger for burning children. The nights in the charming city provided outstanding cuisine and entertainment as well. A perfect combo.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

StoveTeam International is one of the most amazing organizations I have ever worked with! They have a great cause that helps improve health, safety, and sustainability. All of the people I worked with on their team are inspiring and hard working. StoveTeam has touched many lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

StoveTeam brings people improved health and safety. It is highly admirable how they utilize modern wood stove industry innovations to help people dependant on fire as a basic life need. They were open to offer of volunteer help and quickly found a way for high school students to participate and be helpful. They made arrangements convenient for participants and extended every kind of assistance available to include the group's offer to help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Stove Team has provided volunteers with exceptional opportunities to facilitate the delivery of energy efficient stoves to families (who were cooking on open fires) in Mexico and Central America. The opportunity to help build a locally owned factory in-country is an incredibly powerful experience. The model that Stove Team International has created is a sustainable design that will impact the environment and individual lives long into the future. I am a proud volunteer and hope to continue volunteering when the opportunity arises again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

The work Stove Team does is invaluable and incalculatable. This is a simple concept but can make an enormous impact on peoples lives. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers