Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Our school participated in a residency with Storytelling Arts. During that time, we had the benefit of professional storytellers for multiple classroom visits with specific classes of students. Students were introduced to the art of storytelling and as a result cultivated a deeper appreciation for literature. I was impressed by the improvement we noted in verbal and nonverbal skills as the students participated in carefully constructed story related activities. Also, the residencies were tailored to fit the curriculum standards and unique needs of the classroom of students.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended an event sponsored by Storytelling Arts. It was a great opportunity to learn more about this incredible organization and the student populations they serve. As I listened to the folk tales and myths told by their storytellers I began to realize how important such an opportunity is for our at-risk youth who will certainly be able to recognize stories from their own lives as they are engaged in listening and discussing with the storytellers. The programs of Storytelling Arts can be tied to poetry, reading, and creative writing. What a wonderful way to reach our youth and improve literacy!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I've seen unreachable kids react to the storytellers brought into youth detention centers and special ed classrooms. SAI's programs are uniquely effective at boosting literacy, social skills, and self esteem in at-risk youth.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was able to experience some of what the professionals of Storytelling Arts can do in action during their "Girl Power" time at the Bridge To The Arts summer camp where I was also a counselor. Under the direction of two master storytellers and teaching artists, the GIRL POWER campers brought stories to life through visual art, photography, and poetry writing. "Girl Power" provided girls ages 11 - 13 with the ability to shine as storytellers, while developing confidence and creativity. The campers came away with more confidence in their abilities to not only tell stories, but also interact with others in general.
Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with mailings.