Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Storytelling Arts provided 3 days of storytelling to our Kindergarten, grade 1 and grade 2 classes. The students were riveted, and enjoyed the hands-on experience.

These students are English Language Learners, and through this storytelling experience, they were able to listen and
understand a story, and then present it to their classmates.

A perfect lesson!
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

The professional storytellers of Storytelling Arts are teaching artists who bring to life of one of the most basic forms of human communication – storytelling. As an educational leader in an urban school district, I was thrilled to have Storytelling Arts (SAI) bring stories and the power of storytelling to the children in our classrooms as well as to the teachers and paraprofessionals. Through staff development workshops our educators honed skills as storytellers and also became more cognizant of benefits of using storytelling as a teaching tool. As a result of ongoing SAI residencies, the children demonstrated improvements in critical thinking skills (through discussion and analysis of stories presented), verbal and nonverbal skills (through storyteller modeling and student participation in group discussions) and enhanced listening skills. They also had opportunities to expand their awareness of other cultures and examine problem-solving skills for conflict resolution (through listening and responding to the stories).

Storytelling Arts has continued to bring uniquely tailored experiences to youth across New Jersey by providing services that have assisted improvements in literacy for at-risk children in over 60 schools, community organizations, juvenile detention centers and youth shelters. The women and men who are storytellers for Storytelling Arts are masters at engaging the listeners and using the stories as transformative educational tools.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I am one of the Cultural Arts Representatives at Frelinghuysen Middle School in Morristown, NJ. We had the great opportunity to serve 370 sixth graders with an awesome Storytelling Arts Inc. residency from September 29 through October 10, 2014. There were five storytellers (teaching artists) working at same time at our school. Each storyteller had a different and unique style to achieve the same goals set before the beginning of the program. I had the chance to observe one session with each storyteller! What a powerful and enlightening experience! Online surveys will be completed by the students and teachers this week. By all I heard so far from students, parents and the school vice principal, the residency was a complete success! The program was made possible through a generous grant processed by Storytelling Arts Inc. for which we are extremely thankful, as well as valuable support from Morris Arts, the Morris Educational Foundation and the Home School Association. I just hope to be able to host this same program in the years to come as it set a fantastic and necessary basis for "Creating Community" among our sixth graders! Thank you very much to Storytelling Arts Inc. and their amazing and extremely competent staff of teaching artists and executive director!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 9, 2014

more

April 9, 2014

Students were extremely engaged and excited about the Storyteling Arts. It allowed for students to use their imaginations and create their own details in their mind while listening to these stories. The stories were aligned with content students were learning in Social Studies which helped to enhance their skills and understandings of the material. Storytelling is great way to get students to practice writingand using their sensory details. Overall, my students LOVED this program! We continue to tell stories in class and connect them with the content being taught. It truly was an amazing experience to be a part of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Just imagine your imagination racing as stories come to life!!! Storytelling Arts Storytellers make this happen. Our children have never been so engaged and interested in hearing stories. Storytelling Arts provided professional development for our teachers and followed up by applying it in our classrooms. They showed us how the traditional way of reading stories can be changed to telling stories in a creativre way. Highly recommended!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

As a former elementary principal I saw first-hand the positive impact that Storytellers affiliated with Storytelling Arts, Inc. had on my student population many of whom were limited-English speakers. Several of the teachers, student teachers and I participated in their workshops and we also became storytellers and presented at schoolwide assemblies. The clasroom teachers used stories as a springboard into lessons. Based on a team decision I decided to establish storyteller residences in specific classes. Students wanted to become storytellers which meant they researched their own stories to tell. For some students who had limited English speaking skills, they told stories in their native language and others bilingually. It was contagious! In addition, Storytellinkg Arts offered addtional support workshops which inspired creativity on the use of storytelling as a powerful classroom tool. I would highly recommend a partnership with them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with mailings.