Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

This organization has funded 146 young researchers early in their careers allowing them to build bodies of work that would not have been possible without this seed funding. The value of the grants exceed $58 million due to the unique relationship enjoyed by STOP CANCER and the benefiting institutions, USC Norris, UCLA's Jonsson and City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Centers. The supporters/members are magnificent in their commitment to making a difference in the fight against cancer which they have and continue to do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been blessed to be a part of Stop Cancer. I am a cancer survivor and am so impressed with the mission of the organization, its staff, its leadership, and the incredible dedication of all associated with the organization to fund cancer research. Kudos to everyone involved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The late humanitarian/philanthropist Dr. Armand Hammer had a passion to STOP CANCER and founded the organization 25 years ago in partnership with Sherry Lansing, devoted to cancer research. With a mission to fund young cancer investigators ay UCLA, USC and City of Hope, STOP CANCER has ever moved onward and forward--- and, as of this date 189 Research Awards have been granted with a value of over $58 million. Members and sponsors know exactly where their donations go-- they even meet the research doctor recipients. Many of the STOP CANCER Research Awardees have developed cancer drugs and procedures which are presently in international use, such as Herceptin and Gleevec, saving or prolonging many lives. Since STOP CANCER Research Awards are donated early in the career of the young doctors, they, in turn, are grateful to the organization for having permitted them to remain in the field of research.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

As a surgeon, I am proud to be a member of STOP CANCER. With the assistance of the STOP CANCER administration, I was able to set up a fund in memory of my patient's husband who succumbed to a malignant brain tumor. This fund helped to provide a seed grant for a very important brain tumor research project at UCLA. This type of activity is what makes STOP CANCER so potent, and so vital.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Stop Cancer is an organization dedicated to building relationships between the philanthropic advocates and research based scientists in the Los Angeles Community. As a former cancer survivor myself, it is great to a group that is focused on not just fundraising but also in enriching the lives of those affected by this disease. I look forward to continuing my partnership with Stop Cancer and spreading their message of courage and perseverance in medical research.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Stop Cancer is a small, but very focused organization. It's very efficiently run, so I know that my donations and my time are well spent, with little overhead bloat like so many big organizations. The group is laser-focused on finding and funding research doctors who are local, which is great. I feel like i'm not only helping to fund cancer research, but it's within my own community. And I get to see and hear from the doctors directly. It's not some disconnected, distant situation. It's here, in my town, before my eyes. As will hopefully be a cure.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers