Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.65
Write A Review
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I am deeply concerned about the ethics and intentions of this organization.

Many horses are stolen because thieves see horse slaughter as a quick way to make a buck and dispose of the evidence. And yet this organization refuses to take an official position on the sordid, barbaric industry
of horse slaughter? Is it because it increases the need for their services?

I am equally dumbfounded by the recent efforts of Stolen Horse International in spreading propaganda from animal abuse industries, including SeaWorld, Ringling Brother Circus, and HumaneWatch, a nefarious astroturf group for industries that profit from animal cruelty.

I would urge people to ask the organization why they are spreading lies to attack other groups doing good work for animals - especially horses - and also to cease support of SHI.
December 8, 2012

more

December 8, 2012

Through watching the volunteers at Netposse over the years I have observed a caring compassionate organization committed to the return of stolen/missing horses to their owners.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 8, 2012

more

December 8, 2012

This organization has been an important link in the horse community for many years. They have helped countless people to recover their stolen or lost horses.. and given hope to those who are still searching. They educate the public as to steps that can be taken to protect their horses and on what to do if they are in this situation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012

more

December 7, 2012

The network of Volunteer's is amazing .. if anyone ever has a horse missing,lost,stolen, disaster, netposse should be the first place other than Law Enforcement to get the report ..the faster the better it is the BEST Place to post so hundred's of us can watch, look for and re-post info fast and get the horse home to the family who loves them so much .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

From the moment I contacted them, they were so helpful. They gave me ideas of places to search and continue to encourage me that my horse will be found!! I pray they are right but with their help I do believe that day will come!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

I am the Network Coordinator for Stolen Horse International, aka NetPosse.com . I have been a volunteer of SHI’s since about 2003 when I realized just how big of a problem theft really was in the horse industry. Unfortunately I came to realize just how all those victims really felt when I too became one myself. You can read about my horses story here: http://www.netposse.com/HomeForTheHolidays.htm Stolen Horse International, Inc. (SHI or NetPosse) brings attention to a major crime against equine owners, theft. The mission of Stolen Horse International, Inc. is to provide a comprehensive theft awareness program to all facets of the equine industry and offer educational opportunities for equine enthusiasts of all types and across all disciplines: SHI’s goals are:
To establish a global resource to aid in the search for:
Missing Equine
Stolen Equine
Stolen Tack
Stolen Trailers
Owners of found equine
To promote increased involvement through equestrian organizations.
To build an international network, NetPosse, to disseminate images and information missing and stolen equine through the alerts system.
To provide education opportunities to improve public awareness on equine theft and identification methods through seminars, presentations and exhibits.
To provide resources and information to the law enforcement community.
As Debi (founder of SHI) always says "Never underestimate the power of one!"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

Great Organization. Helps with making sure the word gets out regarding, lost/stolen horses, livestock, trailers and equipment. The network is vast and far reaching.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

I am always astounded by the great lengths that volunteers for Stolen Horse International Inc will go to help horse owners whose horses are missing or have been stolen. They do an amazing job of networking for the horses and scouring the horse for sale advertising websites to see if they can locate a horse. They genuinely care for the families and horses involved. Their website is easy to read and access and has enough pictures to make identification easy. They also do a wonderful job with educating owners on what they can do to protect their horses and offer an astounding amount of resources for those owners who wish to follow their recommendations. I will always recommend Stolen Horse International to anyone who has a missing or stolen horse. Thank you SHI for always being there for those in need!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2012

more

December 5, 2012

We got Opie he was about 10 months old. He was our sweet boy....he was stolen when he was about 3 - that was in 2003. He was returned home Aug 2012! Opie was registered both Pinto and American Saddlebred. That could have easily been checked. He was reported missing all over. There were so many ways for him to be "found" but the ONLY thing that worked was STOLEN HORSE INTERNATIONAL. If there was a "one stop shop" as I call it. ONE place that Police, victims and potential buyers could check, do you have any idea how many horses would be saved? If Debi’s STOLEN HORSE INTERNATIONAL was THE PLACE I do believe we would actually put some fear into the fearless thiefs and those who protect them. We all have to help each other. I had always thought horse people were "good" people. The sad truth is. They may "say" they are but are so far from it. Actions are what matter. A little help could have gone a long way in catching the people that did this. At least we have him home.

I am telling everyone, trying to get the word out. PLEASE, if you have had a horse stolen or "find" a horse, please do the right thing. Call police THEN check STOLEN HORSE INTERNATIONAL We contacted the police, made flyers went to shows and sale barns you name it - up and down the highway and surrounding areas. No one saw him and once you see him...you would know. The BEST thing I EVER did was contact Stolen Horse International. Debi Medcalf was our saving grace. She and her organization never gave up hope and never took his image and flyer down. They even had hired a private investigator to try to find me. She walked me through the whole process keeping me calm and on track (which if you know me is difficult at best) My emotions run high and they get the best of me at times. Most of all when injustices happen. She is not only MY HERO but the hero of many she has assisted.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

SHI has been the root of hundreds of equine recovery stories. They are a 'barnyard' name and do an AMAZING service. Debbie dedicated her life to this, and I can not think of a better cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers