Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

“I have been involved with The Steppingstone Foundation for over 10 years. I first became involved as a volunteer in 2008 because I was an actual student in the program in the class of 1998. Since then, I have helped with alumni relations, helped plan fundraising events, and volunteer to help the students. Each year, Steppingstone helps thousands of motivated, hardworking students from the city of Boston come a little closer to realizing their dreams of getting a good education and a college degree. The Steppingstone Foundation has been changing lives for nearly 25 years. Thanks to Steppingstone, I got into the college of dreams and am now pursing an MBA at MIT in Boston. For all these reasons, I believe Steppingstone is a truly Great Nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

“I have been involved with The Steppingstone Foundation for six years. I first became involved as a Steppingstone Scholar because Steppingstone gave me the opportunity to pursue my dreams of going to college. Since then, I have been accepted into the Southfield School for girls. Recently this summer, I worked as a Steppingstone Teaching Assistant. At this moment in time, I am a Steppingstone Ambassador. Each year, Steppingstone helps thousands of motivated, hardworking students from the city of Boston come a little closer to realizing their dreams of getting a good education and a college degree. The Steppingstone Foundation has been changing lives for nearly 25 years. Thanks to Steppingstone, I am able to receive a higher education, and I am also one step closer to my goal of college. For all these reasons, I believe Steppingstone is a truly Great Nonprofit.”

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

What makes The Steppingstone Foundation an awe inspiring organization? Just meet and listen to any of the scholars who are either attending a Steppingstone program now or have already graduated from one. As a volunteer for over a year at Steppingstone, I am continually amazed by these impressive, hard working, motivated, disciplined and community-minded kids who have been given a chance to make a difference and really DO! They may be thankful for the opportunities granted to them, but it is society who will be thanking them for the contributions they will surely be making to all of our communities in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with The Steppingstone Foundation for over a decade. I first became involved as a Steppingstone scholar because I wanted to go to college. Since then, I have earned two degrees in higher education and started on a path to a federal career. Each year, Steppingstone helps thousands of motivated, hardworking students from the city of Boston come a little closer to realizing their dreams of getting a good education and a college degree. The Steppingstone Foundation has been changing lives for nearly 25 years. Thanks to Steppingstone, I have achieved goals that I once thought impossible. For all these reasons, I believe Steppingstone is a truly GREAT Nonprofit.”

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Volunteering on a fundraising committee and the Alumni Council for The Steppingstone Foundation is one of the most gratifying activities I’m involved in. The Steppingstone Foundation runs top notch academic enrichment programs that primes underprivileged youth for securing scholarships at prestigious high schools in the Boston area that lead to college matriculation. My road to being a volunteer is a special one. I am a lucky alumna of The Steppingstone Scholars Program. As a child of Vietnamese refugees, my family and I had never imagined the possibility of me attending a private high school or Harvard University. I attribute a lot of my personal academic and professional success to Steppingstone, which had opened doors for me when I was merely ten years old. My life path would have been very different if not for The Scholars Program (the name of the program when I attended). Through Steppingstone, I had the opportunity to attend a high school with the academic rigor that would challenge and groom me for the opportunity to be admitted to a college such as Harvard. In the past five years since I have graduated from college, I have participated in planning a black-tie fundraising event that raises funds that go toward providing Scholars with school supplies, books, and transportation to their Steppingstone classes. Having benefited from kind benefactors as a Scholar and now being able to help the next generation of Scholars gives me an indescribable joy, as I know that Steppingstone truly runs successful programs and gives opportunities to talented kids who may not otherwise have these opportunities. In the past year, Steppingstone has also invited me to participate in its first-ever Alumni Council. Not only are they committed to provide current Scholars with a rewarding experience, but they are making Alumni a top priority, as well. Steppingstone is near and dear to my heart and I take great joy in participating in even these small ways to help cultivate a future generation of talented students and leaders in society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am both a volunteer and a "scholar" who has been served by this outstanding organization. I graduated from the program in 1996. I always say I never would have gone to the all-girls' boarding/day school I attended without the program, but it did so much more for me than that. It provided me opportunities to meet friends from all over the world, gave me the confidence to compete with my private school peers, provided me with college application and financial aid assistance, offered me a broad network of mentors to help with career decisions and job moves, and has instilled in me a passion for working towards access to educational opportunities for underserved children. I graduated summa cum laude from a four-year university's honors college with a double-major degree and a certificate and went on to work for a top firm in my industry. I'm now pursuing my master's. I am proud to serve as on the foundation's alumni panel, support its fundraising efforts and scholar events. I continue to receive support in my career from the staff of superstars there. I feel proud to be part of the Steppingstone family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers