Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My son is a Steppingstone's scholar and WE ARE PROUD to be part of it and also much blessed! Steppingtone Foundation is a FANTASTIC and AMAZING organization that helps kids not only academically and socially but emotionally. Thru caring teachers and staff, it builds self-steem, promotes team-work, instills in young people's minds and hearts the desire to be a better person. Pride in hard work and excellence in one's actions are a by-product. Self-worth also. Open-mindness, confidence in their abilities and the willingness to learn something new every day comes naturatelly after spending time with like-minded associates and peers. When they wear their white T-Shirts with it's Logo, they do it knowing they belong to something GREAT. They become mindful of their actions and words because they recognize they are representing a group of ideas, mentors, teachers, students, colleagues all working towards a common goal: to make young children successful in life - and by success I don't mean having a big bank account and material things - but rather being a caring, thoughtful, compassionate, community serving, altruist, global thinker individual with an good academic foundation and love for higher learning and appreciation. Thank you Steppingstone for the many possibilities you have presented us and the continued support. Yes, our goal is for our son to continue his education all the way to collegue and beyond!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

I have been lucky to be involved with The Steppingstone Foundation since its founding in 1990. Starting and running an organization was never something I ever considered. My only career goal was to be a schoolteacher, because my teachers, each in their own way, were the most important people in my childhood. Not only did they awaken an intellectual curiosity, but they created an environment that made me safe enough to take what seemed like huge risks for an adolescent. If I succeeded, they encouraged me to build on what I'd done (with their tireless help!). When I fell short, these noble men and women, mostly in their late twenties, but a few were in their middle years, bucked me up, found something good to encourage me about, and then challenged me to do better. I loved them all and revered the profession, I was acutely aware that because of the dozen years I spent with these wonderful teachers, literally anything was possible. Yale, Oxford, and Harvard were far less a reflection of my academic brilliance, rather they were opportunities that were a matter of course given the preparation and support I was so lucky to have.

Great independent and public exam schools (like Bronx Science in NYC, Boston Latin in Boston, or Lowell in San Francisco, were nearly impossible for underserved children to succeed at. The academic and social transition is proved to high a hurdle for even the most gifted students from more difficult circumstances.

I decided, after a few wonderful years of teaching, to create a caring, demanding, high content, summer and after school program that had as its sole mission to prepare schoolchildren, regardless of circumstance, to get into schools that lead to college; get into a four year college, and graduate. In the intervening quarter century, over 2,000 Steppingstone Scholars have completed the preparatory program. Nearly all have graduated from high school, gone on to four-year colleges, and 80% have graduated within six years, which is many multiples better than their counterparts who didn't avail themselves of The Steppingstone Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Though I founded the program, and breathed life into it, and for many years was the largest donor, I have come to realize that I am not the best person to lead a mature $5 million a year organization. I have had my share of challenges and am so grateful for my colleagues who have guided Steppingstone better than I even could. I had the good sense almost from the start to hire people who were far more talented than I, and i have made them feel like owners. So far so good!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

My son graduated from Stepping Stone in 2006 and now he attends a University pursing a business degree. This program is excellent and who ever gets the opportunity to attend is very lucky!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My two children have been scholars at the Steppingstone Foundation for 6 years. Steppingstone has been on the best things that could happen to our family. They have been a support since day one of our participation. They helped us preparing the kids for Independent schools, helpings us with the financial aid process and being a support all the way. My son has worked for Stteppingstone for two summers, where he have been able to build his skills and his resume along with earning some money for himself. Now we are applying to college and Steppingstone has been helping us with helping us to choose schools, the financial aid process and college tours. We feel that we are ahead of the college process because of program but also the amazing people that work there. I always refer families there because I would like more people to benefit from this amazing program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Steppingstone has been a huge help for me in the past few years. They have helped me with organization, time management, and stress relief. Whenever I needed it, they were able to find me a tutor who was able to help me. My Steppingstone advisor has guided my mother when it came to preparation and troubleshooting any problems I had in school. I can also talk to my advisor or any other person for help. Steppingstone has opened up so many doors for me and I am very appreciative of that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked at Steppingtone last summer and continue to rave about the program, I have been a teacher for ten years and working with the scholars has been one of the most rewarding, These young students have motivation and ambition to carve out a better future for themselves, and although it is challenging work for them, I watched so many persevere. I have also taught formal scholars at my school, which is one of the placement schools. Those Steppningstone scholars have undoubtedly been some of the strongest students with the best attitudes. I attribute their success and strong character to what they gained at Steppingstone. What a remarkable and selfless foundation and I am honored to be a part of it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with The Steppingstone Foundation for about 17 years now. I first became involved as a Steppingstone Scholar because I had a teacher who encouraged me to be a part of this program and immediately talked to my mom about it. I was in Advanced placement classes and she knew Steppingstone would give me the tools needed for academic success. Since then, I have graduated from one of the top prep schools in the country, graduated from an Ivy-league institution, received a Masters degree and am gainfully employed in my field of choice. Steppingstone gave me my first taste of leadership. I owe them much of my gratitude as I contribute much of my success to the program. I currently serve on the Alumni Task Force and volunteer with them as much as I can. Each year, Steppingstone helps thousands of motivated, hardworking students from the city of Boston come a little closer to realizing their dreams of getting a good education and a college degree. The Steppingstone Foundation has been changing lives for nearly 25 years. Thanks to Steppingstone, I have become a great leader, learned discipline in the professional and academic field, and I've learned to strive to be the best that I can be. For all these reasons, I believe Steppingstone is a truly Great Nonprofit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As an employee of Steppingstone from 2005-2008, I saw firsthand how a hardworking group of students and staff members can make a difference in the lives of thousands of Boston children. I'd recommend Steppingstone to anyone looking to be involved with a great organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

I have worked both for and with the Steppingstone Foundation and I am continuously impressed with the organization. I first came in contact with the foundation as a fifth grade teacher at a Boston Public School when I nominated students from my class for The Steppingstone Academy. I was so impressed with the work that I saw being done that I wanted to be a part of the faculty and spent my summer working for the College Success Academy. I have seen first hand that The Steppingstone Foundation helps students recognize the dream of success and makes sure they achieve it. The staff is knowledgeable and dedicated and the programs are purposeful and effective. I am glad to know that such a place exists and is working with the students who need it most.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I am a tutor for Steppingstone. I've had previous experience working with kids, but through this program I feel as though I really am making a difference in the scholars lives. The teachers that instruct the scholars are incredibly invested in each & every child's success & happiness. The time that I spend with the scholars is brief, but I look forward to it every week, as it brings me joy to see them learn & grow before my eyes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers