Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.744195
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 11, 2013

Stepping Stone International's great work is changing lives all over the country. They complete projects and the results can be seen in our communities. There is no better NGO around that you can trus... more

October 29, 2014

It's just great to lend a hand to an organization that actually gets things done. The leadership and life skills they impart on orphaned and vulnerable kids really does make a tangible difference.
September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Stepping Stone International's great work is changing lives all over the country. They complete projects and the results can be seen in our communities. There is no better NGO around that you can trust to actually get things done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take steps to further expand it's reach and capacity!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

It is inspiring to see the impact Stepping Stones International is having on the youth of Botswana. Their hard work and dedication is manifested in the lives of the youth to whom they are dedicated. During the time I spent volunteering at Stepping Stones, I was trained to conduct literacy sessions with one of the participants. As we progressed through the literacy clinic, it was not only his literacy skills that improved, his self confidence, behavior and schoolwork all improved as a whole. Stepping Stones knows how to focus on their participants to create lasting changes in their lives.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Stepping Stones International is a real on the ground, hands on solution to the problem of poor literacy, life skills and coping mechanisms of youth in Mochudi. The participants are given one on one literacy training as well as a comprehensive program centered around giving them the skills necessary to be strong individuals and community members. The programs offered include, Psycho-social support, Financial literacy, social responsibility, leadership training, life skills and literacy. The youth are also given games to play, during leisure time and attend sports on Saturdays.

The staff is accommodating and constantly evolving through sensitivity training and facilitation training. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

SSi provides teenage children a safe and nurturing place where they feel a sense of belonging.
The children are provided with experiences they may not get elsewhere. Positive guidance and direction is modeled for the children by the excellent educators at SSI. Botswana is lucky to have this
organization and hopefully SSI continues to expand in other countries.
October 24, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
September 20, 2012

Have soliited donations and received. Feel very confident about an EXCELLENT program. Love SSI!!!!!! more

October 24, 2014

Stepping Stones International is a one of a kind NGO in Botswana giving hope and life to youth ages 12-18 and beyond. These children are being fed, taught social skills, given a chance to know their worth and value. They have been robbed of a childhood and are given the chance to pick themselves up and realize that they are loved and are very valuable souls. They are receiving tutoring and are passing their tests and moving on to the next level of education. Many have progressed to employment in a field of their liking and choice. If not for this opportunity all would be out in the streets idly wandering and wondering and most likely engaging in activities of an evil nature.

Yes! Stepping Stones International is WONDERFUL AND VALUABLE!!!!!!!!!!! It is a happy place for many!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2012

Have soliited donations and received. Feel very confident about an EXCELLENT program. Love SSI!!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2011

Stepping Stones Intl. is a one of a kind program and most amazing. The staff is diverse and international from all parts of the world. The participants are given a chance to smile, laugh, and catch up with a bit of the childhood that was stolen from them. Progress has been made in academics, communication skills, income generating, financial management, entrepreneur skills, computer training, goal setting. A critical issue os sexual abuse and gender equality is being address with the youth and in the community. SSI reaches the 100 participants AND families AND community....building a healthier environment. SSI is nothing short of THE VERY BEST!!!!!!! Thanks SSI!!!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The smiles and laughter emanating from the participants. At first Mmost were very shy and intovert but as time moved on they became trusting, open, laughing and loving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow find more funding which is badly needed for progress.

September 23, 2009

It has been my privilege to spend time with the youth at Stepping Stones Intl. I am in awe at how these young people have opened up and are progressing in a world that seemed so far out of their reach. They now have the chance to make choices,set goals,and become contributing adults. They know what it is like to be their ages and have fun. With more donations and monies, this nonprofit can accomplish amazing feats. Please Help!!!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many miracles have taken place from the beginning. One is Lisa Jamu who is an amazing person and whose ideas, hopes, and dreams have made miracles happen!!!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the participants and the progress they make in interacting and opening up!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Flourish like no other!!!!! It would grow and be able to go to places that have asked them to come. SSI would be able to pay quality salaries for top of the line staff! WOW!! IMAGINE!!!!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 4, 2013

more

July 4, 2013

i have worked with stepping stones international and there is no dout that they mean business when they say they are willing to help the public especially the youth.I have worked with stepping stones on their educational album"@AMBITION" which i hoped to have found some information about it on the website but to no avail,Mr Desmond lunga helped throughout the recording period of this album and i have enjoyed my time at the centre and working with the kids too has been a great experience.please update something about AMBITION the exposure can help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

form amusic class

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

Stepping Stones International is an amazing program that has made such a difference in the lives of so many young people. They provide support and services to a very underserved populations, teens and young adults orphaned by AIDES. Our Women's Club has donated to SSI for the last few years and we feel good that our donation is carefully used to directly benefit the participants. We have seen the growth of the program over time and look forward to continued involvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

I served as a US Peace Corps Volunteer at SSI for two years, 2011-2013. It was incredible to watch the adolescent participants grow in self confidence and leadership ability, gain skills to help them succeed academically and in life, and to build meaningful relationships with their peers and staff. SSI makes all the difference in the lives of these orphans and vulnerable teens, many of whom are HIV positive. It is a well run organization that strives to continually improve its programs. It is THE best run NGO in Botswana!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

My name is Alexa Grooms and I had the pleasure of serving Stepping Stones International as an intern for two months. I helped S.S.I with their social media and developing their leadership curriculum.

During my time, I worked closely with the faculty and participates especially Lisa Jamu.
The passion and drive in every faculty member and the experience of every participant was positive. S.S.I does not just help its 100 participants will homework it takes a holistic approach to bettering their lives-- with goal setting, financial literacy, leadership building, and life skills. These subjects are not taught in schools and these participants without question are more secure and ready for life. S.S.I has also helped many participants go to college with their tutoring and land jobs and internships with their connections in the community.

S.S.I is a highly respected and thriving non-profit. Their ambition and drive to make their participants better in my opinion makes them an elite non-profit that deserves all positive recognition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 8, 2011

more

July 8, 2011

I have had the opportunity to be a volunteer in the SSI program. I have learned so much about the community, as well as my own personnality.
My first initial goal when I first started was to improve the academic skills of the teenagers that attended the program. Everyone that worked there made
a difference; helping them in their daily obstacles, supporting them in their actions even providing them with a meal, gave them courage to strive in their lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have changed as a person working at SSI. I have realized that I can strive more in life and overcome the obstacles I face in my life. Professionnaly, it has made me realize what I would like to do in the future: a teacher that will help people who needs it the most. Thank You!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything about the organization. The people I've worked with were very welcoming and respectful, the activities were creative, even the building was well situated. SSI changes lives and is building the individuals for the future.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers