Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

This organization helps children survivor from cancer get money for school. They share each year the recipients and it makes you feel good to know you made a difference in these children life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Stephen T. Marchello was a young man who had his whole life ahead of him. He was in med school when he was taken from his family and friends by cancer. This nonprofit foundation gives college scholarships to young men and women who are cancer survivors. STM Foundation does enjoyable fundraisers. It's fun to see some of the cancer survivors. I also like that the foundation is not pushy and is most appreciative and anything you give them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

This charity was created by two parents in honor of their son who lost his life to cancer at an early age. Steve would be very proud of his friends and family for creating the foundation to assist survivors of childhood cancer. This foundation is a perfect example of what all top rated non-profits should aspire to be!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

One of the best small non-profits available today. The foundation gives scholarships to pursue higher education for those individuals who have survived childhood cancer. The foundation is built from the ground up and continues today on the heart and soul of two incredible people Mario and Franci! They are the most genuine people and often talk to people interested in the scholarship for hours. It is a great Foundation to support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 1, 2011

The recipients of this scholarsip have graduated college and are now working in a variety of professions. Some of the professions include doing cancer research, physical therapy, nursing and teaching... more

October 26, 2012

90% of our donations go to help cancer survivors with their college expenses. 98% of our scholarship recipients have received their degree and are working. Our graduates include engineers, researchers, teachers and nurses along with other professions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2011

The recipients of this scholarsip have graduated college and are now working in a variety of professions. Some of the professions include doing cancer research, physical therapy, nursing and teaching.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen how a few dollars have helped these young people with their college education expenses and this has helped ease the financial burden of their families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to contribute and expand the number of cancer survivors that we help.

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

As a Donor I have peace of mind that my money is going to good use in the Stephen T. Marchello Scholarship Fund! It is heartfelt charity, and with the uncertainty of monies being available for higher education with respect to subsidies from college grants or loans that future students will receive I feel my money is well spent in this foundation's cause. It truly has potential to give its recipients a new lease on life by the nature of any contribution to this foundation's cause of education and training. That being said, this foundation's scholarship recipients are enabled to put the past in the past, and be productive citizens in their community in the future. I highly recommend that Great Nonprofits make this a Top-Rated Nonprofit in 2012.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I was a recipient of a college scholarship from the Stephen T Marchello Scholarship Fund that allowed me to receive a tremendous college education. Due to having cancer at a young age, my childhood was drastically different from a typical upbringing. From doctors appointments, treatments, and surgery children that undergo treatment for cancer face many unique challenges. The foundation works to ease the financial burden for these children as they look to receive a college education. The foundation was instrumental in my education and I believe in their work wholeheartedly and therefore now am on the board looking to help enable the foundation to support the education goals and dreams of childhood cancer survivors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

This charity was created as a labor of love by a man who lost his child to cancer at an early age. He designed the foundation to assist survivors of childhood cancer, and has dedicated a great deal of time and energy to honor the battles these survivors overcome. This foundation deserves serious consideration as a top rated non-profit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

This non profit does not have any paid positions so the money that they receive by donations, grants and fundraising is given to scholarship recipients. The organization awards grants to graduating high school seniors who have survived childhood cancer. This is important work as many parents of children with cancer are not able to save for college due to high medical expenses. When donating to this organization you can be assured that your donation goes directly to the kids!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2011

more

June 27, 2011

I've been involved with the scholarship foundation since its inception and I am so very proud of what we’ve accomplished thus far.

While the organization is supportive of the great efforts made in the cancer research arena, we've chosen to help the survivors and their families by
providing scholarships and grants to deserving young adults.

When Steve and his family were going through the treatment regiments, we saw numerous families pull together and focus on supporting their children making great sacrifices both emotional and financial. Often times these efforts depleted family savings and/or college funds that may have been growing to pay for college educations.

Helping cancer survivors continue their education and help brighten their future has been such a rewarding experience for me. I hope others will see how worthwhile these students are and help us support them in obtaining their education and fulfilling their ambitions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It's been very rewarding to witness the scholarship winners complete their higher education and to begin to give back of themselves. I feel we've been successful in assisting some fine young men and women in obtaining their educational goals and very fortunate that the winners have been such strong characters. It's been a great pleasure to see them return and to have compounded our investments by giving back of themselves to carry the organization further.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm very proud of the gift our members and local businesses have made in donating their time and resources so that we can provide as much money as possible to the deserving students. Even with such giving, my obvious change for the organization would be that we could be better funded and could continue to expand so that more deserving young adults could improve or even obtain that secondary education.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers