Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

My son just started the sled hockey program and he loves it. All the volunteers are kind and helpful and they provide all the equipment!
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot say enough great things about StarSkaters. My son is taking part in the Sled Hockey program and he absolutely loves it. The program provides him with the opportunity to excel in a sport despite his physical limitations. It also allows him the chance to socialize with other individuals who are living with similar challenges and to learn from them. If you stop by the rink on a Saturday morning, you will see all of the smiles, hear the laughter, and then you will truly know what a difference StarSkaters Sled Hockey program makes in the lives of the players and their families.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our son LOVES Starskaters. He likes to participate in sports like his brother and sister, likes to be active, loves meeting and seeing his numerous friends he has made through Starskaters. With many activities he has to be nudged.....Not this ! Going to the rink on Saturday mornings is one of the highlights of his week! Jim O'Neill, Reid, and the other volunteers are exceptional people!

Tom's family
April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I've been participating in sled hockey for 2 years now and I can honestly say that's its been greatest 2 years of my life. Star skaters gave me the opportunity to get on the ice and play hockey; something I never thought I could do. I would encourage anyone with a disability to check them out and any body who doesn't have a disability to come out and watch us work!! It's truly amazing. Through this organization I've gotten the opportunity to travel as well. Just recently we went to sled hockey nationals in Philadelphia. One our group members was even asked to join the USA sled hockey developmental team.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My 8 year old child has been progressing and enjoys being a student at STARskaters. This is an amazing program that deserves our respect and support. Parent: I. Sampson

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

We went to one of your events. My son has CP and loves hockey. He always wanted to play and would be down because he couldn't. He got to play hockey for his first time at your event. It was a dream come true for him and we really appreciate you guys for taking the time to put it together. We also me other people there and learned of events that we had been missing and learned about a wheelchair basketball team which is now on. It is a great place for younger kids with disabilities to see disabled adults that are living a normal life. It was great and we can not thank you enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

StarSkaters has given my son the opportunity of a lifetime - to play the game he loves and dreamed of playing- ice hockey! eventhough we knew he couldn't skate, we tried anyway, but to his disappointment, he can't stand on skates. Then one day I received an email asking if he might like to try this new sport. Are you kidding?! YES! His dream has come true, my prayers have been answered. He participates in sled hockey every Saturday morning at Memorial City Mall Ice rink. He lives for this game!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I got polio when I was two back home in Africa. I have been living in Houston for 12 yrs and a year ago I came accross with flyer about the sled hockey. I decided to go check it out and I was sold: I loved it! Cruising the ice is a such great feeling, I can do things that I would never be able to do with my crutches! God bless Jim for this great idea, this is the first sport I ever really practiced, I wish I knew about it earlier. So I enjoy it very much but what made me stuck around is the Staff and volonteers attitude: THEY ARE OUTSTANDING! They made me felt home just the first day, and since then I am just amazed how committed they are to do all the heavy lifting ( Literally) so that we can enjoy the ice and have fun. They do it with a big smile, they have a great sens of humor so I alway looking forward to our saturday pratice. I think we just have the best staff and volunteers in the hockey world, period. Thanks guys, you rock!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

STARskaters is a excellent program for people with specail needs. Everyone works with a passion here.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This program is so beneficial to kids with special needs like my daughter. We as the parents are very grateful for the great efforts of the organization and so many volunteers who are so devoted and willing to help. This is the best!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A life changing experience - no skating experience is needed! Volunteer