Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can tell u the first time I volunteered I was instantly hooked. It's been 3 years now since the first time I stepped on the ice to help. I enjoy seeing people from all walks of life persevere. This group and it's founders really have impacted me personally. I only wish this event happened more than once a week!
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As an adult volunteer, I have never witnessed such dedication and focus from the skaters and on ice instructors as I have seen here. A great family atmosphere, smiling faces and excitement from all involved, the best way to spend a Saturday morning by being there to help where I can.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

After volunteering with StarSkaters, I can say that helping this organization has been the best experience...life changing. They are such a great bunch of people to see and be around. Their great att... more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has so much to offer..from sled hockey to skate therapy. Our sled hockey program has had one of its players to make the USA Sled Hockey Team! And on the skate therapy side, one of the volunteers has invented a device so that skaters with no sight would be able to skate. Speaking of inventions, on our sled hockey side, a volunteer there also invented an arm attachment for a player with one arm. So now, he can use two arms to fly down the ice. We have outstanding volunteers working with outstanding participants to help grow StarSkaters.
October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

After volunteering with StarSkaters, I can say that helping this organization has been the best experience...life changing. They are such a great bunch of people to see and be around. Their great attitudes and outlook on life is contagious. You smile at the start, middle and end of the day of volunteering with StarSkaters. We went to a tournament with the sled hockey team. We knew we couldn't stay the whole tournament but when it was time to go, we couldn't. We kept prolonging the departure because it was so hard to leave the team. Seeing them playing, giving everything they have as a team and achieving so much was such a joy ! I nominate this organization and I have recommended this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

I'm so excited that the Austin Blades Sled Hockey team, a chapter of the Star Skaters has let my 9 year son join their team. I'm putting together a big fundraiser and I hope it will be a great turn out! I will post the details once everything is finalized. Glad to be a part of this organization!!!
April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I was invited by Jim O'Neill to volunteer and participate in the StarSkaters program when I first moved to Houston in 2008. It's been a wonderful experience to meet such caring and giving people, mor... more

April 8, 2013

I was introduced to StarSkaters by Jim O'Neill, our Thursday night referee. Jim hosted an annual 3 on 3 Tournament to help raise money for the StarSkaters non-profit group. Learning more about the organization, I became hooked. They are wonderful organization that does so much for the community. They make a huge difference in people lives. Not only do they help the kids, but the parents as well. As a part-time volunteer to this organization, I'm grateful to be part of such a great group of selfless volunteers. It is a life changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was invited by Jim O'Neill to volunteer and participate in the StarSkaters program when I first moved to Houston in 2008. It's been a wonderful experience to meet such caring and giving people, moreover, the StarSkaters participants are the most special people you will ever meet. They make my day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

We learned of this great group last August at the Accessibility Expo and our Son who was born with Spina Bifida has really grown in so many areas, thanks to Star Skaters. He has always loved hockey and been a huge fan. Star Skaters has given him the opportunity to participate in the sports he loves so much. My wife has volunteered each Saturday since and as soon as I was physically able, I have been helping as well.

This organization and the people behind it care so much for the people who need these services. They go the extra mile in helping the guys and gals with anything from ingenious equipment modifications to ice time and other needs.

Just talking to the skaters and players, they say that they feel an incredible amount of freedom on the ice, and that makes it all worth while.

Special thanks to Jim O'Neil and Ken Belknap and so many others that give so much. I receive so much more than I give to this group and you will too should you decide to become involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2012

When I first heard about StarSkaters I was inspired by the way this organization was setup to help so many people who never had access to this type if help. When I first volunteered, I saw first hand ... more

April 7, 2013

StarSkaters is a fabulous organization that makes a huge difference for so many people. All of the selfless volunteers work hard to provide a safe environment on the ice for people who would not otherwise have the opportunity to enjoy this experience. The smiles on the faces of the skaters say volumes about this work. And, this organization has extended its work to provide support for a sled hockey team that has become a national rated team. Kudos to Jim O'Neill and this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I first heard about StarSkaters I was inspired by the way this organization was setup to help so many people who never had access to this type if help. When I first volunteered, I saw first hand the huge difference this organization makes for so many people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

StarSkaters where everyone is a star.
* From a parent that makes time for their child with disabilities.

* To a player that finds joy on being on the ice, feeling free, & their determination of making a man's dream come true. Because he cared.

*Volunteer's that take time
from their busy schedule to help.

* Jim O'Neill founder of StarSkaters his act of kindness has changed lives in a positive way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Volunteer, Kim Belknap, introduced me to this awesome organizaion and I've been hooked every since. It's a great feeling going out and helping and watching all those who get on a sled, have a fun time on the ice. I hurt my shoulder back in April and have not been able to go help; it's killing me having to be away for such a long. I can't wait until I'm released from the Doc to start going back. My Saturday mornings are just not the same. I look forward to being out there and seeing the smiles and hearing the laughs. And I love when there's an extra sled for me to get in and get out there with them. This organization and all of the people involved make you realize to live every moment to the fullest. Seeing some of the kids and hearing their stories has really touched my life and made me put my own problems into perspective. Keep on being the great people that you are, and can't wait to see y'all again (hopefully, very soon)!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

StarSkaters provides children and adults with special needs with the an opportunity to socialize, exercise, build confidence and compete on ice. Whether its sled hockey or just skating, this program enables people to participate in an environment that fosters self esteem, confidence and a passion for competition. Sled Hockey, which is ice hockey's equivalent of wheel chair basketball, is a growing sport that is both fun and highly competitive for those who seek to challenge themselves. This Houston organization is totally volunteer based and driven by individuals who seek to give back to the community. Skaters look forward to each week's activities with excitement and enthusiasm as it quickly becomes a source of new dreams and aspirations for many, demonstrating that there are no boundaries for those who are willing to challenge themselves. As a volunteer, this program uniquely gives back to all who are involved with a unique sense of fulfillment in knowing that we all can make a positive difference in other people's lives. Houston, TX is giving back thanks to founder, Jim O'Neill and all that he has done to make this dream a reality.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A life changing experience - no skating experience is needed! Volunteer