Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

We went to one of your events. My son has CP and loves hockey. He always wanted to play and would be down because he couldn't. He got to play hockey for his first time at your event. It was a dream come true for him and we really appreciate you guys for taking the time to put it together. We also me other people there and learned of events that we had been missing and learned about a wheelchair basketball team which is now on. It is a great place for younger kids with disabilities to see disabled adults that are living a normal life. It was great and we can not thank you enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

StarSkaters has given my son the opportunity of a lifetime - to play the game he loves and dreamed of playing- ice hockey! eventhough we knew he couldn't skate, we tried anyway, but to his disappointment, he can't stand on skates. Then one day I received an email asking if he might like to try this new sport. Are you kidding?! YES! His dream has come true, my prayers have been answered. He participates in sled hockey every Saturday morning at Memorial City Mall Ice rink. He lives for this game!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter participates as a skater with STARskaters every weekend, something that she and I both look forward to. STARskaters provides one-on-one instruction for every skater. I appreciate all the hard work the volunteers put into this organization. As a parent, I truly believe STARskaters has helped my daughter grow and make new friends, and I encourage others to support this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I got polio when I was two back home in Africa. I have been living in Houston for 12 yrs and a year ago I came accross with flyer about the sled hockey. I decided to go check it out and I was sold: I loved it! Cruising the ice is a such great feeling, I can do things that I would never be able to do with my crutches! God bless Jim for this great idea, this is the first sport I ever really practiced, I wish I knew about it earlier. So I enjoy it very much but what made me stuck around is the Staff and volonteers attitude: THEY ARE OUTSTANDING! They made me felt home just the first day, and since then I am just amazed how committed they are to do all the heavy lifting ( Literally) so that we can enjoy the ice and have fun. They do it with a big smile, they have a great sens of humor so I alway looking forward to our saturday pratice. I think we just have the best staff and volunteers in the hockey world, period. Thanks guys, you rock!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

StarSkaters where everyone is a star.
* From a parent that makes time for their child with disabilities.

* To a player that finds joy on being on the ice, feeling free, & their determination of making a man's dream come true. Because he cared.

*Volunteer's that take time
from their busy schedule to help.

* Jim O'Neill founder of StarSkaters his act of kindness has changed lives in a positive way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Volunteer, Kim Belknap, introduced me to this awesome organizaion and I've been hooked every since. It's a great feeling going out and helping and watching all those who get on a sled, have a fun time on the ice. I hurt my shoulder back in April and have not been able to go help; it's killing me having to be away for such a long. I can't wait until I'm released from the Doc to start going back. My Saturday mornings are just not the same. I look forward to being out there and seeing the smiles and hearing the laughs. And I love when there's an extra sled for me to get in and get out there with them. This organization and all of the people involved make you realize to live every moment to the fullest. Seeing some of the kids and hearing their stories has really touched my life and made me put my own problems into perspective. Keep on being the great people that you are, and can't wait to see y'all again (hopefully, very soon)!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

STARskaters is a excellent program for people with specail needs. Everyone works with a passion here.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

STARskaters is one of the few organizations that is run solely on passion. From top to bottom, this is a foundation that relies on enthusiasm and selfless effort to provide unique experiences for those with disabilities. It's not just the people working within the organization, but also the ice-rinks and program directors who accomodate the inventory to provide a consistent time-slot for these experiences to take place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This program is so beneficial to kids with special needs like my daughter. We as the parents are very grateful for the great efforts of the organization and so many volunteers who are so devoted and willing to help. This is the best!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This program is wonderful and helps my son to build his confidence. He enjoys every time and we all so looking forward to every Saturday.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A life changing experience - no skating experience is needed! Volunteer