Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

The joy and confidence this program brings to the participants is beyond measure. I have the privilege of joining them once or twice a year, and am ever amazed at their abilities on ice. A sled hock... more

April 15, 2014

Congratulations to the StarSkaters Sled hockey team on winning the Silver in Boston. All of your hard work paid off. I hope your success encourages others to try out the sleds and learn what great fun sledding is.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The joy and confidence this program brings to the participants is beyond measure. I have the privilege of joining them once or twice a year, and am ever amazed at their abilities on ice. A sled hockey participant, who is usually in a wheelchair, said " it's like flying". The volunteers, and the organizer of STARskaters are all exceptional people offering an exceptional experience to those with disabilities. I'm humbled by their efforts and it's a privilege to know them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of joining Starskaters on a recent trip to Houston. They are an amazing bunch! The participants and volunteers are all fantastic, inspiring people. I got to hop on a sled and experience this awesome sport. It is wonderful how it affects all of their lives. I only wish they offered this program here in Minneapolis! Thank you to all that make Starskaters happen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I was invited by Jim O'Neill to volunteer and participate in the StarSkaters program when I first moved to Houston in 2008. It's been a wonderful experience to meet such caring and giving people, mor... more

April 8, 2013

I was introduced to StarSkaters by Jim O'Neill, our Thursday night referee. Jim hosted an annual 3 on 3 Tournament to help raise money for the StarSkaters non-profit group. Learning more about the organization, I became hooked. They are wonderful organization that does so much for the community. They make a huge difference in people lives. Not only do they help the kids, but the parents as well. As a part-time volunteer to this organization, I'm grateful to be part of such a great group of selfless volunteers. It is a life changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was invited by Jim O'Neill to volunteer and participate in the StarSkaters program when I first moved to Houston in 2008. It's been a wonderful experience to meet such caring and giving people, moreover, the StarSkaters participants are the most special people you will ever meet. They make my day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

We learned of this great group last August at the Accessibility Expo and our Son who was born with Spina Bifida has really grown in so many areas, thanks to Star Skaters. He has always loved hockey and been a huge fan. Star Skaters has given him the opportunity to participate in the sports he loves so much. My wife has volunteered each Saturday since and as soon as I was physically able, I have been helping as well.

This organization and the people behind it care so much for the people who need these services. They go the extra mile in helping the guys and gals with anything from ingenious equipment modifications to ice time and other needs.

Just talking to the skaters and players, they say that they feel an incredible amount of freedom on the ice, and that makes it all worth while.

Special thanks to Jim O'Neil and Ken Belknap and so many others that give so much. I receive so much more than I give to this group and you will too should you decide to become involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I've been participating in sled hockey for 2 years now and I can honestly say that's its been greatest 2 years of my life. Star skaters gave me the opportunity to get on the ice and play hockey; something I never thought I could do. I would encourage anyone with a disability to check them out and any body who doesn't have a disability to come out and watch us work!! It's truly amazing. Through this organization I've gotten the opportunity to travel as well. Just recently we went to sled hockey nationals in Philadelphia. One our group members was even asked to join the USA sled hockey developmental team.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2012

When I first heard about StarSkaters I was inspired by the way this organization was setup to help so many people who never had access to this type if help. When I first volunteered, I saw first hand ... more

April 7, 2013

StarSkaters is a fabulous organization that makes a huge difference for so many people. All of the selfless volunteers work hard to provide a safe environment on the ice for people who would not otherwise have the opportunity to enjoy this experience. The smiles on the faces of the skaters say volumes about this work. And, this organization has extended its work to provide support for a sled hockey team that has become a national rated team. Kudos to Jim O'Neill and this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I first heard about StarSkaters I was inspired by the way this organization was setup to help so many people who never had access to this type if help. When I first volunteered, I saw first hand the huge difference this organization makes for so many people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

The volunteers in this organization are dedicated, patient and professional. The outcome of the program has far exceeded any expectation! Keep up the great work STAR Skaters!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My 8 year old child has been progressing and enjoys being a student at STARskaters. This is an amazing program that deserves our respect and support. Parent: I. Sampson

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Ice Skate USA has been very fortunate to host the S.T.A.R skaters for the past year. We have seen the program grow though efforts of countless volunteers and participants. What started as a small venture has grown into a prosperous program offering the sport of sled hockey to numerous players. Jim O’Neil has spent countless hours organizing the program and his efforts show every Saturday as we introduce the sport to new members. Additionally, we continue to support our existing players, the culmination of everyone’s efforts was a bronze medal finish in their first ever USA Hockey Disabled Festival held in Dallas, TX. Ice Skate USA proudly supports our program and the continued advancement of the sport.

Carl Sasyn
General Manager
Ice Skate USA

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

We went to one of your events. My son has CP and loves hockey. He always wanted to play and would be down because he couldn't. He got to play hockey for his first time at your event. It was a dream come true for him and we really appreciate you guys for taking the time to put it together. We also me other people there and learned of events that we had been missing and learned about a wheelchair basketball team which is now on. It is a great place for younger kids with disabilities to see disabled adults that are living a normal life. It was great and we can not thank you enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers