Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.935485
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I started using Starbright World as a sick teen in the hospital and then at home as a way to reach out to others like me. It is a wonderful program for teens and young adults up to age 21, who need help relating to others like themselves, knowing that their not alone. It helped me feel that way, and showed me that even though that we may be far apart spread across the country we are all together as one, the same. Starbright World/Starlight is truly amazing. The friends I have made here, we have laughed, cried, and been angry, sad and happy together. And we show no judgement. I am so glad I found it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to get more guest chats for starbright world for the kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

i've been part of Starbright World since I was thirteen. I'm twenty now. It's a great, great organization and helps so many people through their struggle with illness or watching someone struggle wit... more

October 6, 2013

I used SBW from the ages of 13 to 21 and for the entire time it has helped me so much. SBW hasn't only helped me feel welcome and feel like I was around people who understand me, SBW helped me find a friend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! Well, except the fact we don;t have to age out at 21 would be nice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

i've been part of Starbright World since I was thirteen. I'm twenty now. It's a great, great organization and helps so many people through their struggle with illness or watching someone struggle with an illness. It serves not only in the US, but also Canada, and other places. It helps children and teens feel less alone during times they are struggling and helps them smile, even if they are in the hospital.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

As a kid I spent a lot of time in the hospital. Starlight and especially their Starbright World program an online chat room for seriously ill teens. Starbright World helped me connect to others going through a similar experience. It helped me socialize and helped me make the transition from home to hospital more easily.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add a network for previous members of their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can’t even begin to express how deeply my life has been touched and deeply enriched by the Starlight Children's Foundation from first being a member on Starbright World and now being a volunteer and mentor. I have had the honor and privilege of working closely with the staff members and volunteers and therefore I have gotten to see how dedicated staff is at Starlight and the way that they interact with the families that are involved in the foundation. Each and everyone of them give 110% to make Starlight the very best that it can be and it is felt be everyone. The Starlight Children's Foundation allows kids, teens, and their families to participate in activities and be involved in a community where they feel safe and are surrounded by kindness, love, and compassion.

While I could easily speak for myself about how this foundation has changed my life, I think speaking on behalf of my late husband, Spencer, gives an even better testament of the life changing benefits that Starlight has on kids and teens. Spencer was diagnosed with a terminal lung disease called cystic fibrosis when he was 13 years old. His health declined so quickly after his diagnosis in part of not understanding what it took to stay healthy and partly of not having enough hope or reason to live. He became incredibly isolated in the hospital and at home and had no one to connect with. Spencer was able to utilize fun centers from the Foundation while in the hospital to keep his mind off of his medical treatments and when Starbright World was introduced to him he felt a since of belonging again. He was able to relate with other teenagers who were sick and fighting for their lives his like he was. By talking with others in his situation he understood how important his treatments were and he was given invaluable mentorship by staff and volunteers that made him strive be be his best even though he was handed a really crummy deck of cards in life. Starbright World gave Spencer hope and reason to keep pushing forward despite all adversities. SBW gave him life long friendships that he continues to have even after he passed away. Starbright World and the Starlight Children's Foundation gave Spencer a family that made his life so much better and worth living.

This is only a small part of what Starlight is able to give, how Starlight affects thousands of kids and families, and how Starlight changes lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it and make it more well known and the resources more accessible in some of the smaller communities vs major cities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Hi! My name is Carole and I am a member of Starlight Children's Foundation's online community, Starbright World! As a child, I was diagnosed with a form of Muscular Dystrophy. I became involved with Starlight at a young age and was introduced to Starbright World by the time I was twelve. As I transitioned into my adolescent years, I found myself connecting with other members who empathized with the struggles of being a teenager with a disability. Through this mutual understanding and tight knit community, I was able to grow and assume a leadership position among my peers online. Almost a decade later, I am still involved with Starbright World. I enjoy mentoring and engaging with the younger members, encouraging them to seek education, adventure, and independence. I am currently studying The University of Arizona and I am majoring in English, Creative Writing, and Psychology. I attribute many of my leadership skills and ability to empathize with others as a result of Starbright World! I love this community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I joined Starlight Children's Foundation through their program, Starbright World. Through Starbright World, I made an incredible network of friends, who could always relate to my everyday health issues and be there to support me. Even though I was only a member of Starbright World for a year or so, I gained so much confidence in learned that I was not alone in my everyday struggles. When I turned 21, and Starbright World asked me to be a volunteer, I felt so honored because I feel like I owe so much to the program for what they have done for me in the short time I was a member. As a volunteer, I love being able to give back to the organization that has literally changed my life, and helped form me into the woman I am today. Starlight and Starbright World give so much effort to caring personally for each child who reaches out to them, and I feel like that is what makes this foundation so special and amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their events/fundraising efforts, as well as PR for these events/fundraising efforts. I would love to hear about what is going on before it is actually happening, and I would love to be more involved! Plus, I don't know if this is lack of PR, but I feel like Starlight relies mainly on the Starlight Gala held annually, when there are other fundraising opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

The Starlight Children's Foundation has done more for me than I ever thought possible. They have helped me become the person I am today by accepting me openly even with my disease. It has been very challenging ,yet, heart warming to be part of such a community in such a difficult point in my life. I am so fortunate to have them and the opportunity to give back to them, after all they did for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

This charity is absolutely amazing! I have done sponsorships for you and am currently doing one again! You are a true team who are willing to do anything and i applaud you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make me an admin so i can do more to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2013

more

January 16, 2013

I have been part of the starlight foundation for nearly 4 years. My brother became a member of Livewire and then asked me to join as a ‘sibling.’ Since then he has been granted a wish where he got a brand new TV and other technological goods that any 17 year old boy would love. Last year Livewire joined the Starbright World chat room and now we talk to people from America and Canada. Such a great organisation bringing so many smiles to so many faces.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been involved with Starlight for many years. I think their programs both in the hospital and through Great Escapes are amazing. The in-hospital programs with the Fun Centers bring hours of joy to kids who are suffering from serious illnesses - it really helps to take their minds off of the struggles even if only for a little while. The Starbright World network is also amazing as it helps kids find other kids who are going through the same illnesses as they are - really helps them to not feel alone in their struggles. And the Great Escapes are truly wonderful opportunities for the whole family to enjoy really great entertainment together and feel "normal" for the day. It's also a great opportunity for the families and kids to meet other families and kids going through similar things. And it's fantastic that it's for all the siblings too who tend to get overlooked sometimes as the parents have to spend so much time taking care of their sick sibling. This organization is all around fantastic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers