Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.942865
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

This organization is wonderful! Having a child with special needs can sometimes be overwhelming, sometimes you are so busy with that child that your other children do not get that extra time with you. The Starlight Foundation is geared towards families and allows all of us to partake in activities as a family. This is so important to us parents that they give us that gift!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Thank you Starlight for all the wonderful moments you have brought to our family during our difficult times. We are very thankful to be part of such a wonderful program that cares about others. May you continue to brighten many childrens lives...Marquez Family!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

There are many organizations that support families while their child is in cancer treatment. We are fortunate to have been touched by many of them. Starlight has been one of our favorites, because it focuses on honoring the whole family having fun together. We've enjoyed some really wonderful experiences together-among our favorites were hanging out with the Harlem Globetrotters, exploring at the Cal Science Center and meeting the creators at Disney Online Studios. Starlight is one bright spot in our journey to wellness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been involved with Starlight since I was really young and it has helped me in hospital and to cope with my physical disability.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

i first found out of starlight after being diagnosed with Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma. i had received a coloring book and in the back it had websites for children and their siblings to help them cope. i was on the Starlight website when i came across a website for an online community called Starbright World. through the on line community i met other people that were able to understand what i go through, and they helped me find ways to cope with something new. if it wasn't for starlight children's foundation i wouldn't have met so many of my friend wouldn't even know them. i love starlight and what they do for us. they are truely a great foundation, and they make soo manythings possible for us. i would recommend it to anyone who could use their help

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I joined Starbright World - a program of Starlight Children's Foundation and online community for teens with chronic illnesses - at seventeen, three years past my diagnosis of Ulcerative Colitis. I honestly wish I'd joined sooner - Starlight has given me the greatest gift through Starbright World. I have met friends around the world who inspire me daily, I have been given opportunities to find my voice, and I have been introduced to the most fabulous mentors through the hosts who keep Starbright World a safe and fun community for all. I love that I can log into IM and immediately have the chance to engage with other teens who understand what it's like to live in and out of the chronic illness world as a teenager.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I was connected with Starlight Foundation when I was diagnosed with Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma in May 2012. I was given many resources and even offered a space to blog on the Huffington Post. The kindness and generosity shown to me by Starlight was heartwarming and extremely helpful in helping me overcome a lot of the emotional obstacles that came with my diagnosis. The blog has been an incredible outlet for me to express my feelings on my experiences with cancer as well as articulate what I have learned from the ordeal. I think that Starlight is an inspiring foundation. The work they do for children and adolescents is phenomenal and admirable. I am very thankful for what they have done for me and for others. Thank you Starlight!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I was SO HAPPY to find Starlight when I did! I was diagnosed with Crohn's disease and no one could understand what I was going thru at all. I was totally depressed and felt miserable all the time. Most of my friends at school were nice to me but totally didn't get it and some of them even thought I was contagious and wouldn't even talk to me anymore (crohns is NOT contagious) . When I found Starbright World (a website run by Starlight for high school aged kids ) i was able to meet other people who were sick like me. I made friends the FIRST DAY I logged into the chat room and felt like EVERYONE got me right away. I feel like this is my second home and even tho I have not met my SBW friends in person, I feel closer to them than some of my in person friends. I dont know what I would do without it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I was first introduced to Starlight when I was about four. Right before surgery, I would log onto these computers that would connect me to a network called Starbright World. Starbright World is run by Starlight and now allows teenagers with chronic illnesses to connect with other teenagers with chronic illnesses online. Through "SBW" I'm able to chat with other people my age who understand what it's like to be sick. They understand what it's like to be different. They understand what I'm going through. Without Starlight, I'd never be able to make these connections that I'm not able to make with my healthy real world friends. Starlight has impacted me in ways I cannot describe. My friends would agree that the same is true for them. It makes me smile every time I see a child playing with a Starlight Fun Center or participating in Great Escapes because I know, for that moment, he or she isn't worried about needles, tests, hospitals, or treatments. For that moment, the only thing that matters is happiness. Happiness is what truly matters, it's what's memorable and important. I'd like to thank my Starlight friends, no, family, for making me and my friends truly happy and for forever changing my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

When our son was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes, there weren't a lot of positives to it needless to say. But, the activities we have been able to participate in with Starlight have been so much fun and have made a hard situation better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers