Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.942865
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My name is Alisha and I found Starbright world when I was 13. I was already battling one illness, and undiagnosed with others. During my time here I've been diagnosed with 2 other illnesses. These diagnosis processes were long and exhausting, and there were many days spent in doctor's offices and many nights spent in the hospital, and there were many many tests. Starlight has meant so much to me, back when I was very ill and fighting for my life, and now as I am fighting towards remission. The people I've met on Starbright world, hosts, volunteers and others with illnesses like mine, have been so supportive and encouraging, and I don't know how I would have gotten through this without them. The fun bags starlight provided when I was in the hospital was a source of fun and a way to ease my mind as I faced upcoming tests, and the super cool teen room and the people was a way to let me just be a kid, even when I felt like I'd had to grow up too fast. I guess I'm trying to say that Starlight has meant the world to me. It's given me the courage to dream, it gave me the courage to fight for my life and now it continues to give me the courage to walk every day in remission, and to adjust to this new way of life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My name is Bri! I have been a member of Starlight and Starbright World for 2 years now. Starlight has helped me in so many different ways! Their online social network Starbright World for teens with illnesses has helped me make so many close friends who also have illnesses! I would recommend Starlight and Starbright World to any teen who has an illness so they can get support from so many awesome people!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to have more local events for teens with illnesses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have lived with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis for nearly my entire life. The complications from this disease and the medications that I take for it are many and painful. I also live with asthma and other conditions. Early last year I was sitting at home unable to do much of anything because I was so sick. It occurred to me to wonder if there was any way for me to connect with peers who also were sick. I was lonely, sad, and had no way to discuss my pain with anyone. After a simple Google search Starbright World came up at the top of the list. I couldn't believe that I hadn't heard of SBW before. I applied to join that day.
SBW has been an amazing influence in my life. Ever since joining I have felt so much less isolated. When I'm too sick to leave the house I still have someone that I can talk to. The people on SBW are friendly and welcoming. It's hard to be sick, but with SBW it gets a little bit easier. You can talk freely about your illness without fear of being judged. People can share their experiences with different procedures and medications and help others through their journey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand so that more people knew about it. I wish that I had found SBW so much sooner than I did. I'm from a rural area in the midwest and no one here at any hosptial had even heard of Starlight Foundation. I would also make sure that SBW had an app for my phone. A lot of the time I want to log on when I'm in the ER or at the hospital and I don't have my laptop (but have my phone!) And I want to be able to log into chat and talk to people for comfort.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Hi! My name is Carole and I am a member of Starlight Children's Foundation's online community, Starbright World! As a child, I was diagnosed with a form of Muscular Dystrophy. I became involved with Starlight at a young age and was introduced to Starbright World by the time I was twelve. As I transitioned into my adolescent years, I found myself connecting with other members who empathized with the struggles of being a teenager with a disability. Through this mutual understanding and tight knit community, I was able to grow and assume a leadership position among my peers online. Almost a decade later, I am still involved with Starbright World. I enjoy mentoring and engaging with the younger members, encouraging them to seek education, adventure, and independence. I am currently studying The University of Arizona and I am majoring in English, Creative Writing, and Psychology. I attribute many of my leadership skills and ability to empathize with others as a result of Starbright World! I love this community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Srarlight and Starbightworld has been a huge blessing in my life. When i joined, I was in a deep depression due to my health problems. And they helped me overcome and find purpose in life again. They continue to encourage me to keep up with my treatments and give support in my weird situations. Thank you all!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the age limit, so I could be in it longer!! I know that probably isn't possible due to legal reasons, but I love them all so much I'm dreading when I turn 21 lol

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I became involved in Starbright World around a year ago. Ever since that first time I logged into chat, it has really changed my life. Right from the beginning everyone was so encouraging, understanding and welcoming. This has never changed. At the time I was finding things quite hard, endless admissions in a city hours from home, loosing contact with all my friends, it seemed to me that no one understood what I was going through and I was just feeling very isolated. Things changed almost instantly once I started using Starbright World. During my time on Starbright World I have had the opportunity to make some incredible friendships with many inspirational and amazing people, find others experiencing similar challenges that I am able to relate to, which has also given me a much more positive approach to the challenges I face while also finding a sense of understanding in almost everyone single member which I never thought was possible. When on Starbright World I am able to forget about the fact that I’m a 'sick' kid at times, and just have fun chatting, playing games, having fun with friends. I am constantly making many new amazing friends, and with many, I’m sure our friendships will not end with Starbright World, they will continue for life. For those moments when times are tough, everyone is always very supportive, helpful and full of great advice, and I will always come off feeling a lot better about everything and with a smile on my face. Starlight Children's Foundation and Starbright World really are SO amazing!! I would not be where i am today without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I currently live in Australia and I think it would be great to see more Australian hospitals and other hospitals around the world to know about Starbright World and be able to promote it to patients. The positive effects SBW has on teens face critical, chronic and terminal illness really is incredible. It would be great to see more more teens benefiting from this amazing site. It would also be great to see Livewire and and SBW promoting each others services. 24 hour chat would be incredible too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I joined Starlight Children's Foundation through their program, Starbright World. Through Starbright World, I made an incredible network of friends, who could always relate to my everyday health issues and be there to support me. Even though I was only a member of Starbright World for a year or so, I gained so much confidence in learned that I was not alone in my everyday struggles. When I turned 21, and Starbright World asked me to be a volunteer, I felt so honored because I feel like I owe so much to the program for what they have done for me in the short time I was a member. As a volunteer, I love being able to give back to the organization that has literally changed my life, and helped form me into the woman I am today. Starlight and Starbright World give so much effort to caring personally for each child who reaches out to them, and I feel like that is what makes this foundation so special and amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their events/fundraising efforts, as well as PR for these events/fundraising efforts. I would love to hear about what is going on before it is actually happening, and I would love to be more involved! Plus, I don't know if this is lack of PR, but I feel like Starlight relies mainly on the Starlight Gala held annually, when there are other fundraising opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this Foundation! Starlight has helped My Family in so many different ways, there are to many words that express how I feel about them. They have been a Heaven Sent to us. My Family always looks forward to their events for great times and to be able to have some Fun with other families going thru thing just like us. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep on doing what You're doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

The Starlight Children's Foundation has done more for me than I ever thought possible. They have helped me become the person I am today by accepting me openly even with my disease. It has been very challenging ,yet, heart warming to be part of such a community in such a difficult point in my life. I am so fortunate to have them and the opportunity to give back to them, after all they did for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Starlight has been a wonderful organization. I have a daughter with multiple disabilities and she has been involved in the great escapes program. For years, we used to go to so many outings. We were able to go to the zoo, world aquarium, a musical, etc. We would go to a fabulous Christmas party. We looked so forward to these events. Because of the expenses of having a special needs child, we don't get to go to these places. Starlight gave us that opportunity. My daughter would get so excited about these activities. It was fun because we were able to go to places we had never been and experience these events with families just like us. Unfortunately, there have not been any escapes since last September. We sure miss them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide great escapes again for our children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers