Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.934785
| 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Hi! My name is Carole and I am a member of Starlight Children's Foundation's online community, Starbright World! As a child, I was diagnosed with a form of Muscular Dystrophy. I became involved with Starlight at a young age and was introduced to Starbright World by the time I was twelve. As I transitioned into my adolescent years, I found myself connecting with other members who empathized with the struggles of being a teenager with a disability. Through this mutual understanding and tight knit community, I was able to grow and assume a leadership position among my peers online. Almost a decade later, I am still involved with Starbright World. I enjoy mentoring and engaging with the younger members, encouraging them to seek education, adventure, and independence. I am currently studying The University of Arizona and I am majoring in English, Creative Writing, and Psychology. I attribute many of my leadership skills and ability to empathize with others as a result of Starbright World! I love this community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Srarlight and Starbightworld has been a huge blessing in my life. When i joined, I was in a deep depression due to my health problems. And they helped me overcome and find purpose in life again. They continue to encourage me to keep up with my treatments and give support in my weird situations. Thank you all!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the age limit, so I could be in it longer!! I know that probably isn't possible due to legal reasons, but I love them all so much I'm dreading when I turn 21 lol

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I became involved in Starbright World around a year ago. Ever since that first time I logged into chat, it has really changed my life. Right from the beginning everyone was so encouraging, understanding and welcoming. This has never changed. At the time I was finding things quite hard, endless admissions in a city hours from home, loosing contact with all my friends, it seemed to me that no one understood what I was going through and I was just feeling very isolated. Things changed almost instantly once I started using Starbright World. During my time on Starbright World I have had the opportunity to make some incredible friendships with many inspirational and amazing people, find others experiencing similar challenges that I am able to relate to, which has also given me a much more positive approach to the challenges I face while also finding a sense of understanding in almost everyone single member which I never thought was possible. When on Starbright World I am able to forget about the fact that I’m a 'sick' kid at times, and just have fun chatting, playing games, having fun with friends. I am constantly making many new amazing friends, and with many, I’m sure our friendships will not end with Starbright World, they will continue for life. For those moments when times are tough, everyone is always very supportive, helpful and full of great advice, and I will always come off feeling a lot better about everything and with a smile on my face. Starlight Children's Foundation and Starbright World really are SO amazing!! I would not be where i am today without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I currently live in Australia and I think it would be great to see more Australian hospitals and other hospitals around the world to know about Starbright World and be able to promote it to patients. The positive effects SBW has on teens face critical, chronic and terminal illness really is incredible. It would be great to see more more teens benefiting from this amazing site. It would also be great to see Livewire and and SBW promoting each others services. 24 hour chat would be incredible too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I joined Starlight Children's Foundation through their program, Starbright World. Through Starbright World, I made an incredible network of friends, who could always relate to my everyday health issues and be there to support me. Even though I was only a member of Starbright World for a year or so, I gained so much confidence in learned that I was not alone in my everyday struggles. When I turned 21, and Starbright World asked me to be a volunteer, I felt so honored because I feel like I owe so much to the program for what they have done for me in the short time I was a member. As a volunteer, I love being able to give back to the organization that has literally changed my life, and helped form me into the woman I am today. Starlight and Starbright World give so much effort to caring personally for each child who reaches out to them, and I feel like that is what makes this foundation so special and amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their events/fundraising efforts, as well as PR for these events/fundraising efforts. I would love to hear about what is going on before it is actually happening, and I would love to be more involved! Plus, I don't know if this is lack of PR, but I feel like Starlight relies mainly on the Starlight Gala held annually, when there are other fundraising opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this Foundation! Starlight has helped My Family in so many different ways, there are to many words that express how I feel about them. They have been a Heaven Sent to us. My Family always looks forward to their events for great times and to be able to have some Fun with other families going thru thing just like us. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep on doing what You're doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

The Starlight Children's Foundation has done more for me than I ever thought possible. They have helped me become the person I am today by accepting me openly even with my disease. It has been very challenging ,yet, heart warming to be part of such a community in such a difficult point in my life. I am so fortunate to have them and the opportunity to give back to them, after all they did for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Starlight has been a wonderful organization. I have a daughter with multiple disabilities and she has been involved in the great escapes program. For years, we used to go to so many outings. We were able to go to the zoo, world aquarium, a musical, etc. We would go to a fabulous Christmas party. We looked so forward to these events. Because of the expenses of having a special needs child, we don't get to go to these places. Starlight gave us that opportunity. My daughter would get so excited about these activities. It was fun because we were able to go to places we had never been and experience these events with families just like us. Unfortunately, there have not been any escapes since last September. We sure miss them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide great escapes again for our children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We are a FB group called Michael's Circle of Love. We are a group of Michael Jackson fans that want to continue his legacy of sending Love and Healing to the World, especially children. We were looking for an extension of our group for Charitable work, following Michael's example. We learned that Starlight Children's foundation was one of the many Charities he supported in his lifetime. We learned the purpose of Starlight was to give children and their families in hospitals some joy and happiness. Michael knew that this was essential to healing. In every city around the world where Michael had a concert, he made sure to include a visit to a hospital or orphanage to bring toys and purchace any equipment they might need. He would spend hours visiting the children just to make them happy. We love the fun stations that are provided for the children to play video games and watch movies or cartoons, some of Michael's favorite things.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I first became aware of this Org. in 2002 when my cousin aged 2 was diagnosed with Cancer. His hospital stays were long and frequent but Starlight made those visits fun with their Fun-Centers, clowns and overall cheer.

Over the years, I am proud to see the Org. grow, and see more
fun-centers and trips planned. This organization was pivotal to my cousins happiness and to so many still suffering from illness.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this amazing foundation. My family and I got involved with it a few years back. My brother is a cancer survivor and while he was sick we never had any fun. This foundation let us be a family again, it let us have fun together. It truly brought back a light in our family that was lost the day my brother was diagnosed. It makes sense why it's called the Starlight Foundation it's because they literally light up whom ever they're serving. The great escapes gave our family an escape and we were finally happy again. I couldn't be more proud to be a part of such a great foundation. I'm ever starting a club at my college to give back charities that have helped my family throughout this experience and Starlight is definitely on that list of charities I want to help. I've just been so inspired to do big things thanks to the Starlight Foundation. It will always be a part of my life and in my heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more great escapes because that's where I see all the families at their happiest.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers