Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.935485
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

Kids Wish Network is a great source of support and coping in the field of Child Life. Within White Memorial Medical Center, KWN helps give our little patients a valuable referrence of what it means to be brave and resiliant during difficult times. KWN provides hours of fun and lifelong lessons for our patients. I could not perform my job as well without their constant support; it is truly a resource I have within my bag of tools!! Thank you Kids Wish Network!!
October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I first lurned about sbw when thay was linked with Livewire sbw has been there to help me in the toughest time off need thay are allway there to listen to you and us and. Always give us helpfull tips

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the chat room open longer

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I started using Starbright World as a sick teen in the hospital and then at home as a way to reach out to others like me. It is a wonderful program for teens and young adults up to age 21, who need help relating to others like themselves, knowing that their not alone. It helped me feel that way, and showed me that even though that we may be far apart spread across the country we are all together as one, the same. Starbright World/Starlight is truly amazing. The friends I have made here, we have laughed, cried, and been angry, sad and happy together. And we show no judgement. I am so glad I found it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to get more guest chats for starbright world for the kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

i've been part of Starbright World since I was thirteen. I'm twenty now. It's a great, great organization and helps so many people through their struggle with illness or watching someone struggle wit... more

October 6, 2013

I used SBW from the ages of 13 to 21 and for the entire time it has helped me so much. SBW hasn't only helped me feel welcome and feel like I was around people who understand me, SBW helped me find a friend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! Well, except the fact we don;t have to age out at 21 would be nice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

i've been part of Starbright World since I was thirteen. I'm twenty now. It's a great, great organization and helps so many people through their struggle with illness or watching someone struggle with an illness. It serves not only in the US, but also Canada, and other places. It helps children and teens feel less alone during times they are struggling and helps them smile, even if they are in the hospital.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

As a kid I spent a lot of time in the hospital. Starlight and especially their Starbright World program an online chat room for seriously ill teens. Starbright World helped me connect to others going through a similar experience. It helped me socialize and helped me make the transition from home to hospital more easily.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add a network for previous members of their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can’t even begin to express how deeply my life has been touched and deeply enriched by the Starlight Children's Foundation from first being a member on Starbright World and now being a volunteer and mentor. I have had the honor and privilege of working closely with the staff members and volunteers and therefore I have gotten to see how dedicated staff is at Starlight and the way that they interact with the families that are involved in the foundation. Each and everyone of them give 110% to make Starlight the very best that it can be and it is felt be everyone. The Starlight Children's Foundation allows kids, teens, and their families to participate in activities and be involved in a community where they feel safe and are surrounded by kindness, love, and compassion.

While I could easily speak for myself about how this foundation has changed my life, I think speaking on behalf of my late husband, Spencer, gives an even better testament of the life changing benefits that Starlight has on kids and teens. Spencer was diagnosed with a terminal lung disease called cystic fibrosis when he was 13 years old. His health declined so quickly after his diagnosis in part of not understanding what it took to stay healthy and partly of not having enough hope or reason to live. He became incredibly isolated in the hospital and at home and had no one to connect with. Spencer was able to utilize fun centers from the Foundation while in the hospital to keep his mind off of his medical treatments and when Starbright World was introduced to him he felt a since of belonging again. He was able to relate with other teenagers who were sick and fighting for their lives his like he was. By talking with others in his situation he understood how important his treatments were and he was given invaluable mentorship by staff and volunteers that made him strive be be his best even though he was handed a really crummy deck of cards in life. Starbright World gave Spencer hope and reason to keep pushing forward despite all adversities. SBW gave him life long friendships that he continues to have even after he passed away. Starbright World and the Starlight Children's Foundation gave Spencer a family that made his life so much better and worth living.

This is only a small part of what Starlight is able to give, how Starlight affects thousands of kids and families, and how Starlight changes lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it and make it more well known and the resources more accessible in some of the smaller communities vs major cities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

when i was diagnosed with crohns at age 12 no one in my family understood, i was led to starbright world through the uc and crohns teens website when i turned 13 , i love chatting to everyone and i have like 9 friends with ibd , i love going on and chatting with the hosts , i spread the word of my project to raise awareness of ibd through sbw and everyone helped , especially host rasarella

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have the chat room open 24 hours because some people live in different time zones

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been involved with the Starlight Children's Foundation for over five years. During this time I have been positively impacted in a way that has forever changed my life. Without Starlight I don't think I would be the positive, compassionate and bubbly person I am today. Starlight brings out the best in people who have "bad" circumstances by showing them that they are never alone. I know others, like myself, will definitely support Starlight in changing the world, one person at a time; as I hope you will too!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more funding to Starbright to make their website even more amazing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My name is Alisha and I found Starbright world when I was 13. I was already battling one illness, and undiagnosed with others. During my time here I've been diagnosed with 2 other illnesses. These diagnosis processes were long and exhausting, and there were many days spent in doctor's offices and many nights spent in the hospital, and there were many many tests. Starlight has meant so much to me, back when I was very ill and fighting for my life, and now as I am fighting towards remission. The people I've met on Starbright world, hosts, volunteers and others with illnesses like mine, have been so supportive and encouraging, and I don't know how I would have gotten through this without them. The fun bags starlight provided when I was in the hospital was a source of fun and a way to ease my mind as I faced upcoming tests, and the super cool teen room and the people was a way to let me just be a kid, even when I felt like I'd had to grow up too fast. I guess I'm trying to say that Starlight has meant the world to me. It's given me the courage to dream, it gave me the courage to fight for my life and now it continues to give me the courage to walk every day in remission, and to adjust to this new way of life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My name is Bri! I have been a member of Starlight and Starbright World for 2 years now. Starlight has helped me in so many different ways! Their online social network Starbright World for teens with illnesses has helped me make so many close friends who also have illnesses! I would recommend Starlight and Starbright World to any teen who has an illness so they can get support from so many awesome people!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to have more local events for teens with illnesses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers