Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.986115
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Me and my battle buddy attended the Healing Warrior Hearts retreat , September 5th-8th. We both are still in shock and awe of what we witnessed! The Cadre (staff) were most accommodating and attentive to our every need. We were made to feel "not alone." Our break through and healing started the instant we arrived! Our every concern, need, and reservation were acknowledged and resolved. I am so happy we attended, and recommend other Veterans partake too! We are looking forward to another weekend of healing as staff, in the near future. Thanks to the Starfish. Foundation for being a beacon on a dimly lit path!
October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Until I made the decision to attend Taking It Lightly in November of 2013, I thought how I felt physically and emotionally was normal. I was skeptical of the program, and I didn't want to share myself emotionally with a group of strangers. I have attended many professional seminars where the mantra is "You get out of it what you put into it", not taking much away from the programs, so I didn't have high expectations of the TIL weekend. I COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG! The Starfish Foundation's scholarship made it possible for me to attend the TIL weekend, and I have never experienced so much unconditional love and safety. I met many wonderful people that took the journey with me, and who continue to do so to this day. Since taking the weekend, I learned how much I do matter, and that my trust issues are not with others, but are with myself. I was so amazed at the weekend, I also volunteered to staff a weekend the following December. I couldn't wait to get back to new found environment of love, warmth, and safety. I have a long road ahead of me, and I look forward to future programs and staffing opportunities that will help me grow personally and professionally. I am blessed that someone thought enough of me to return me to the sea of love by introducing me to the Starfish Foundation and The Center for Creative Learning. THE ENTIRE STARFISH FAMILY IS AMAZING! With love and gratitude...Amber S.
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

Had it not been for the Starfish Foundation, I would not been able to experience the Taking It Lightly weekend. This resource was vital for me to experience personal and professional growth in my life. It provided me with essential maintenance for my life & I am so eternally grateful.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

TYRONE.
I'm honored to share my experience I had with the HEALING WARRIOR HEARTS organization. It also gives me great pleasure my feelings about the STAFF OF HEALING WARRIOR HEARTS. I attended the Wonderland Camp Retreat during September 19-22.2014. The entire weekend was awesome to me and
for me. I never knew such a group existed; until a fellow veteran shared the benefits of attending a session with the HEALING WARRIOR HEARTS.
During my stay I was guided thru a series of steps that allowed me to get in touch with my mind, spirit, soul, and heart. I able to tell my story about my MST, PTSD, anger, anxiety, and grief that I had been carrying around on the inside of me for so long without any resolution. I was able to freely express myself without shame, embarrasement, or judgement. This really helped me to get some clarity, relief, joy, and peace.

The HEALING WARRIOR HEARTS STAFF was totally awesome! They were very supportive, courteous, caring, knowdledgeable, committed, and full of love and hugs from beginning to end. Thank You So Much HEALING WARRIOR HEARTS AND GOD BLESS YOU ALL!!!









1






















Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended the Healing Warrior Hearts retreat September 5-8, 2014, and was truly over whelmed by the support this program offer veterans through healing and encouragement from trauma during their military service. It was a time to hear other veterans first hand, tell their story and have someone listen and believe their story without judgement. At first glance, I was ready to run but realized I had no place to run to only to find a great support group who really cared and truly love what the Starfish Foundation provides. I will return there in March 2015 to volunteer and lend whatever support I can. Praying that we can start a satellite program here in the Detroit area. The staff is the greatess!!!!!!!!!!
September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My journey out of darkness started With Hdealing Warriors Hearts, Little did I know the outcome would be immediate, the ability to smile and know joy again are overwhelming. I would highly recommend this program to all veterans. This program has driven me to be a volunteer and help others. The people that I met we're
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. More so Unforgettable! Impact was key to my healing process. The instructors were
Powerful with there message. At the end, I saw the light and felt happiness and joy. Thank you all for giving that back to me .

Thank you,
Smiles :)
September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience at Healing Warrior Hearts , (MST) was the most effective therapy I have done in 23 years. The Instructors and staff made me feel like I mattered, which is sometimes a struggle when in the throes of Depression. A Heartfelt Thank you to all for the hugs, love, support and for being so instrumental in my healing. Strongly recommended for anyone who needs to empty the " crap" collected over time and in all the years struggling with PTSD.
October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was originaly a "client" in 2010. The Starfishfoundation helped me grow tremedously as a person. I've come back, to give back myself on several occasions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out to more people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended a Taking it Lightly retreat earlier this year with a Starfish Foundation scholarship. I was a single mother of two n between jobs at that time. I had just experienced a trauma that broke my heart and soul. I believe I may have died inside if not for the support and strength I received in that retreat. I came back to the feelings and lessons from the retreat as I went through PTSD therapy. I encourage anyone who needs their heart and soul healed to consider attending Taking it Lightly or one of the veteran programs. The starfish has become my new symbol of strength.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise more. Many people could benefit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization was great it provided me the opportunity to be a participant in Healing Warrior Hearts. the experience is one that I will not forget I feel so much better and able to really start to enjoy life more than before. I wish more veterans can experience this great organization I also look forward to helping them in the future and volunteering to help other veterans find closure and their way home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not sure of anything that would change now unless being able to make it more available to other veterans.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers