Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.983335
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I began my journey to emotional freedom from the stress and baggage that i carry for combat and my military service by attending Healing Warrior Hearts retreat. The program was such a success in the changes that it made in me that I could tell and others that I had interacted with could also, some people say;" Wow this is amazing you are a changed Man". From this I have chosen and decided that Healing Warrior Hearts is to much for me to not share that I share it with all veterans combat and not. I have continued to support and participate in many weekends to support fellow veterans as they progress through their own quest/ journey, by volunteering to staff weekends and spread the word. This program has helped me to overcome so much and along that to see others also overcome many challenges that we believed were going to be impossible to get past with out the power, caring, professionalism, and excellence of all that I have met since this transformation.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I attended my first "Taking It Lightly" weekend in January of 2012. It was an incredible, powerful weekend filled with love and compassion. Because of that weekend, I now live my life more alive and aware of my own feelings and I have more compassion for others. I have been volunteering by staffing weekends and participating in fund raising events because this work is so important to keep going and healing peoples hearts!
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I first attended "Taking It Lightly" 22 years ago. The program was a life changer for me. I was divorcing at the time and felt lost, alone and my world was up side down. I got so much from the program that I wanted to give back my time because there were many volunteer staff there for me. I have been a part of over 50 weekends because volunteering helps me grow emotionally as much as being supportive of the new attendees. I felt safe to tell my story and I was accepted. I learned that I can safely express my emotions and voice my needs. I learned to find safe people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 11, 2010

I am proud to be a volunteer connected to the Starfish foundation. As a staff member of Vets Journey Home, I have the honor of serving the men and women who sacrifice to serve our country, and have wi... more

August 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I not only volunteer but have completed several of the weekend intensive workshops, as well as the one-day events. The peace, joy, and contentment I have been searching my entire life for was revealed! The secret? I had it all along! I just had to give myself permission, forgive myself and others, and (most of all!!) empower myself!
Through the help of The Starfish Foundation sponsored programs, I have filled my "tool box" with resources for self-confidence, self-live, and am on my continual journey in finding what gifts I can contribute to my community, my world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase marketing resources so more people can benefit from this organisation's programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2010

I am proud to be a volunteer connected to the Starfish foundation. As a staff member of Vets Journey Home, I have the honor of serving the men and women who sacrifice to serve our country, and have witnessed countless people whose lives have been ridden with trauma and pain find healing, comfort and peace in their lives... blessings they may not have received without the financial support of the Starfish Foundation. A Beacon in the community, this foundation shines light onto the journey of the Veterans' path to wholeness and a home-coming of the heart.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

not only watching the transition of Veterans from fearful to hopeful, but also seen personal friends benefit in their relationships, work lives, daily functioning, and even increase their will to live.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the effect it's had on my faith that people care, that there IS hope, that I can make a difference in my own life, as well as the lives of others.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind, comforting, and offered support in a way that makes people feel safe & accepted, while fostering healing.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

spread the gifts of healing to all veterans who have experienced the trauma of combat and the challenges of serving in the armed forces.

Ways to make it better...

more funds were available to include unlimited Veterans.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Starfish Foundation is a truly wonderful organization that supports individuals to do emotional healing working which is very powerful and life changing. It changed my life for the better! Many other people have benefitted as well! Thank you Starfish Foundation for the work that you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

I feel that this foundation has had its ups and downs but always thinks about serving those who need the help 1st and foremost and truly care. I have been to 3 of the events and all were very moving spiritual and down right great I left with a feeling of release and have found new friends who if I need them they are there for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to help in all ways I can

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen the results of the work that the Starfish foundation does for others and I can honestly say that this organization changes the world. They make it possible for military veterans, sexual abuse survivors, and others who have faced trauma in their lives to begin their healing process. It is because of this organization that hearts are healing and the world is a safer place. Bless all of you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2012

more

April 18, 2012

I staffed a VJH seminar for the first time last weekend. I did not really know what to expect. What I found was a safe and loving environment where each veteran was allowed to take as much time as he or she needed to tell his or her story in its entirety. Then each veteran was allowed to do a piece of work to help heal one or more wounds created as a result of his or her time in service. The transformations I saw on that weekend were truly amazing. I will staff again as soon as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2012

more

January 22, 2012

I'm a peacetime vet and staffed a weekend recently. I saw a men and women treated with dignity, honor and respect the entire time. There was no politics or stance on war one way or another, it was simply a safe place where wounds could be looked at and healed. Often, it was the other participants who provided the authentic perspective so needed for another to heal their own injuries. I saw men release messages about themselves they've been carrying for 40 years. Messages about their own conduct or about "sitting it out" in some cushy assignment while others saw heat. I myself found some peace with my perspective on the military ceremony, saluting and the flag: whereas before it was just junk to me, it took on new meaning as a commonality between all veterans: wartime, peacetime, man, woman, officer, enlisted, survivor, wounded, killed. It felt good to have new messages inserted where there used to be only confusion and pain.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 1, 2010

more

April 1, 2010

I attended a Veterans Journey Home retreat as a participant in Houston, TX during the spring of 2008 and it was a very helpful experience. The staff was very experienced and knowledgable about the subject matter and made me feel extremely comfortable with sharing my Vietnam experience. The staff's technique and caring they utilized was different with each veteran because each veteran had a different experience. It was gentle and understanding and I feel this helped tremendously with the healing process. It has been two years for me now and I still fall back on some of the tools that I learned at that retreat to help me deal with issues. I'm not sure how it could be improved?

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff and volunteers are very knowledgable and experienced with the subject matter at hand and they take their approach to healing from the heart and not so much from the mind.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers