Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.985715
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Have been serving combat vets for many years and in many ways. I have witnessed life changing experiences during warrior heart retreats. Volunteering to spend time with the veterans staff and facilitators is a energy and spirit lifting journey! Joining us for a weekend, as a participant or staff will change you too.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I attended the Healing Warrior Hearts MST weekend as a Volunteer to assist veterans in dealing with military sexual trauma. I am a Master Level Social Worker and a military wife/mother and have been working several years on my own healing. This weekend was AMAZING. Participants walked into the weekend with sad and broken spirits. They left revived and with great thankfulness. This was my first experience with this organization and I was truly impressed. I appreciated the dedication of the staff and the expertise of the instructors. Everything was explained forthright so the participants knew what was happening next. The staff worked tirelessly supporting the group and the instructors kept the volunteers well informed. It was incredible to watch the loving care and respect that was given to our hurting military men and women. I highly recommend this organization to anyone who is looking for personal growth and healing. As a volunteer, I was renewed by the end of the weekend, learned so much about the helping profession, and rejoiced with the many people who were uplifted! Thank you Patricia and staff for allowing me to participate in this incredible weekend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 29, 2013

I not only volunteer but have completed several of the weekend intensive workshops, as well as the one-day events. The peace, joy, and contentment I have been searching my entire life for was revealed... more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful


In the Healing Warrior Hearts program, Veterans are offered the opportunity to heal military-related wounds of the heart, mind and soul. There is not one veteran who serves our country and comes back unchanged, unsoiled, unaffected by all they see and do. Sadly there arent many resources for
our vets to have such closure and an opportunity to begin and/or take another step toward integrating in society, their families, and the workforce. I'm very excited that Healing Warrior Hearts is available, free of charge, to aid our proud service men and women in gathering the pieces of the "self" and becoming whole once again.
As a volunteer staff person for Healing Warrior Hearts, I am honored beyond words to be able to give back, just a little, to those who have fought and ensured our freedom. The amount of healing I've witnessed in this program is wonderfully overwhelming.... like that feeling a person may get when the room is filled with love, gratitude, joy and celebration!
August 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I not only volunteer but have completed several of the weekend intensive workshops, as well as the one-day events. The peace, joy, and contentment I have been searching my entire life for was revealed! The secret? I had it all along! I just had to give myself permission, forgive myself and others, and (most of all!!) empower myself!
Through the help of The Starfish Foundation sponsored programs, I have filled my "tool box" with resources for self-confidence, self-live, and am on my continual journey in finding what gifts I can contribute to my community, my world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase marketing resources so more people can benefit from this organisation's programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2010

I am proud to be a volunteer connected to the Starfish foundation. As a staff member of Vets Journey Home, I have the honor of serving the men and women who sacrifice to serve our country, and have witnessed countless people whose lives have been ridden with trauma and pain find healing, comfort and peace in their lives... blessings they may not have received without the financial support of the Starfish Foundation. A Beacon in the community, this foundation shines light onto the journey of the Veterans' path to wholeness and a home-coming of the heart.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

not only watching the transition of Veterans from fearful to hopeful, but also seen personal friends benefit in their relationships, work lives, daily functioning, and even increase their will to live.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the effect it's had on my faith that people care, that there IS hope, that I can make a difference in my own life, as well as the lives of others.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind, comforting, and offered support in a way that makes people feel safe & accepted, while fostering healing.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

spread the gifts of healing to all veterans who have experienced the trauma of combat and the challenges of serving in the armed forces.

Ways to make it better...

more funds were available to include unlimited Veterans.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I began my journey to emotional freedom from the stress and baggage that i carry for combat and my military service by attending Healing Warrior Hearts retreat. The program was such a success in the changes that it made in me that I could tell and others that I had interacted with could also, some people say;" Wow this is amazing you are a changed Man". From this I have chosen and decided that Healing Warrior Hearts is to much for me to not share that I share it with all veterans combat and not. I have continued to support and participate in many weekends to support fellow veterans as they progress through their own quest/ journey, by volunteering to staff weekends and spread the word. This program has helped me to overcome so much and along that to see others also overcome many challenges that we believed were going to be impossible to get past with out the power, caring, professionalism, and excellence of all that I have met since this transformation.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I attended my first "Taking It Lightly" weekend in January of 2012. It was an incredible, powerful weekend filled with love and compassion. Because of that weekend, I now live my life more alive and aware of my own feelings and I have more compassion for others. I have been volunteering by staffing weekends and participating in fund raising events because this work is so important to keep going and healing peoples hearts!
September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first attended "Taking It Lightly" 22 years ago. The program was a life changer for me. I was divorcing at the time and felt lost, alone and my world was up side down. I got so much from the program that I wanted to give back my time because there were many volunteer staff there for me. I have been a part of over 50 weekends because volunteering helps me grow emotionally as much as being supportive of the new attendees. I felt safe to tell my story and I was accepted. I learned that I can safely express my emotions and voice my needs. I learned to find safe people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Starfish Foundation is a truly wonderful organization that supports individuals to do emotional healing working which is very powerful and life changing. It changed my life for the better! Many other people have benefitted as well! Thank you Starfish Foundation for the work that you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I feel that this foundation has had its ups and downs but always thinks about serving those who need the help 1st and foremost and truly care. I have been to 3 of the events and all were very moving spiritual and down right great I left with a feeling of release and have found new friends who if I need them they are there for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to help in all ways I can

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have seen the results of the work that the Starfish foundation does for others and I can honestly say that this organization changes the world. They make it possible for military veterans, sexual abuse survivors, and others who have faced trauma in their lives to begin their healing process. It is because of this organization that hearts are healing and the world is a safer place. Bless all of you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I staffed a VJH seminar for the first time last weekend. I did not really know what to expect. What I found was a safe and loving environment where each veteran was allowed to take as much time as he or she needed to tell his or her story in its entirety. Then each veteran was allowed to do a piece of work to help heal one or more wounds created as a result of his or her time in service. The transformations I saw on that weekend were truly amazing. I will staff again as soon as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers