Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.985925
Write A Review
September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My experience at Healing Warrior Hearts , (MST) was the most effective therapy I have done in 23 years. The Instructors and staff made me feel like I mattered, which is sometimes a struggle when in the throes of Depression. A Heartfelt Thank you to all for the hugs, love, support and for being so instrumental in my healing. Strongly recommended for anyone who needs to empty the " crap" collected over time and in all the years struggling with PTSD.
September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I began my journey to emotional freedom from the stress and baggage that i carry for combat and my military service by attending Healing Warrior Hearts retreat. The program was such a success in the changes that it made in me that I could tell and others that I had interacted with could also, some people say;" Wow this is amazing you are a changed Man". From this I have chosen and decided that Healing Warrior Hearts is to much for me to not share that I share it with all veterans combat and not. I have continued to support and participate in many weekends to support fellow veterans as they progress through their own quest/ journey, by volunteering to staff weekends and spread the word. This program has helped me to overcome so much and along that to see others also overcome many challenges that we believed were going to be impossible to get past with out the power, caring, professionalism, and excellence of all that I have met since this transformation.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I had done Taking It Lightly in 2000 and felt a true connection to my new "family." I've staffed many weekends so that I continue to grow and reinforce what I learned. My dedication to make the world a safer place inspired me to join The Starfish Foundation Board. By sitting on the Board, I know I make a difference to those who want to experience all the wonderful things the world has to hold. My commitment to my ALIVENESS and that of others shines through in my strengths that I give by being a board member. More individuals should consider it!

Donna Barber
Treasurer
September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended Taking It Lightly in 2010 and it totally changed the course of my life. It was like I was walking through life with dark glasses almost blind and after the course I had clear vision. After volunteering for a few Taking it Lightly courses I was asked by a fellow Veteran to assist with Healing Warrior Hearts and low and behold at the 11th hour I ended up being a participant in June 2014, not realizing healing is a continual process. WOW, I was even more in awe of this program. I was treated like a Princess and pampered in every way. I have never in my life felt this type of support and comraderie. Anyone who is a soldier knows it's deeper than any sorority or fraternity. It doesn't matter what ERA you served, there is a strong connection. The healing I recieved was PRICELESS. I believe that is why it's FREE, there is not a price you can put on this work. Long story short, I was so in awe of this work and felt it was what I was called to do. I have recently been elected to the Starfish Foundation's Board and was honored to assist in the very first MST(Military Sexual Trauma) Healing Weekend. Many Veterans have said they have had many programs and this weekend of healing surpasses every one of them. It's not just a relief it is truly a release! This healing is on a cellular level and heals for many generations to come. Thanks, Natalie Hayes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have it all across the United States in every single Department of Veteran Affairs and the rest of the world. This type of work is what the world needs, be it a Veteran or civilian. We all have layers we taken on in life that dims our view the TRUTH of who we are. This program is producing true AUTHENTIC Beings and stopping the cycle and making the world a brighter place in which to live.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I attended my first "Taking It Lightly" weekend in January of 2012. It was an incredible, powerful weekend filled with love and compassion. Because of that weekend, I now live my life more alive and aware of my own feelings and I have more compassion for others. I have been volunteering by staffing weekends and participating in fund raising events because this work is so important to keep going and healing peoples hearts!
September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first attended "Taking It Lightly" 22 years ago. The program was a life changer for me. I was divorcing at the time and felt lost, alone and my world was up side down. I got so much from the program that I wanted to give back my time because there were many volunteer staff there for me. I have been a part of over 50 weekends because volunteering helps me grow emotionally as much as being supportive of the new attendees. I felt safe to tell my story and I was accepted. I learned that I can safely express my emotions and voice my needs. I learned to find safe people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was originaly a "client" in 2010. The Starfishfoundation helped me grow tremedously as a person. I've come back, to give back myself on several occasions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out to more people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended a Taking it Lightly retreat earlier this year with a Starfish Foundation scholarship. I was a single mother of two n between jobs at that time. I had just experienced a trauma that broke my heart and soul. I believe I may have died inside if not for the support and strength I received in that retreat. I came back to the feelings and lessons from the retreat as I went through PTSD therapy. I encourage anyone who needs their heart and soul healed to consider attending Taking it Lightly or one of the veteran programs. The starfish has become my new symbol of strength.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise more. Many people could benefit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization was great it provided me the opportunity to be a participant in Healing Warrior Hearts. the experience is one that I will not forget I feel so much better and able to really start to enjoy life more than before. I wish more veterans can experience this great organization I also look forward to helping them in the future and volunteering to help other veterans find closure and their way home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not sure of anything that would change now unless being able to make it more available to other veterans.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Although I have professional expertise in the field, I attended the seminar, funded by The Starfish Foundation, as a participant. I had stepped away from my more stressful (however higher paying careers) to focus on my healing. Thanks to the Starfish Foundation, i was able to really get a great foundation for myself to really begin healing as there just isn't enough time (during the 45 minute) thereapy sessions for me to get anywhere. Thank you!!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers