Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.981825
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I was originaly a "client" in 2010. The Starfishfoundation helped me grow tremedously as a person. I've come back, to give back myself on several occasions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out to more people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I attended a Taking it Lightly retreat earlier this year with a Starfish Foundation scholarship. I was a single mother of two n between jobs at that time. I had just experienced a trauma that broke my heart and soul. I believe I may have died inside if not for the support and strength I received in that retreat. I came back to the feelings and lessons from the retreat as I went through PTSD therapy. I encourage anyone who needs their heart and soul healed to consider attending Taking it Lightly or one of the veteran programs. The starfish has become my new symbol of strength.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise more. Many people could benefit.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

This organization was great it provided me the opportunity to be a participant in Healing Warrior Hearts. the experience is one that I will not forget I feel so much better and able to really start to enjoy life more than before. I wish more veterans can experience this great organization I also look forward to helping them in the future and volunteering to help other veterans find closure and their way home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not sure of anything that would change now unless being able to make it more available to other veterans.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

Although I have professional expertise in the field, I attended the seminar, funded by The Starfish Foundation, as a participant. I had stepped away from my more stressful (however higher paying careers) to focus on my healing. Thanks to the Starfish Foundation, i was able to really get a great foundation for myself to really begin healing as there just isn't enough time (during the 45 minute) thereapy sessions for me to get anywhere. Thank you!!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Thank you! is the first thing that comes to mind when I think of the Center. I was desperate to find something that could help me in my healing process. I found the Center unlikely enough during a web search as I researched a new pediatrician (and past graduate) for my son. In Taking it Lightly, I found the space to safely express and recognize what was going on inside. It also opened my mind to new possibilities and a new community of folks who strive for similar safe spaces. No matter what life's challenges are...the road leads me back to the Center, either as a volunteer or donor & its programming options allow folks to grow no matter where we are in our journey.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a group of wonderfully kind and caring people. Because of the Starfish Foundation, I was able to get some much needed emotional healing through the Center of Creative Learning. I look forward to volunteering with them in the future so I can return the favor of the scholarship I received and also help others on their path to healing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 11, 2010

I am proud to be a volunteer connected to the Starfish foundation. As a staff member of Vets Journey Home, I have the honor of serving the men and women who sacrifice to serve our country, and have wi... more

August 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I not only volunteer but have completed several of the weekend intensive workshops, as well as the one-day events. The peace, joy, and contentment I have been searching my entire life for was revealed! The secret? I had it all along! I just had to give myself permission, forgive myself and others, and (most of all!!) empower myself!
Through the help of The Starfish Foundation sponsored programs, I have filled my "tool box" with resources for self-confidence, self-live, and am on my continual journey in finding what gifts I can contribute to my community, my world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase marketing resources so more people can benefit from this organisation's programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2010

I am proud to be a volunteer connected to the Starfish foundation. As a staff member of Vets Journey Home, I have the honor of serving the men and women who sacrifice to serve our country, and have witnessed countless people whose lives have been ridden with trauma and pain find healing, comfort and peace in their lives... blessings they may not have received without the financial support of the Starfish Foundation. A Beacon in the community, this foundation shines light onto the journey of the Veterans' path to wholeness and a home-coming of the heart.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

not only watching the transition of Veterans from fearful to hopeful, but also seen personal friends benefit in their relationships, work lives, daily functioning, and even increase their will to live.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the effect it's had on my faith that people care, that there IS hope, that I can make a difference in my own life, as well as the lives of others.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind, comforting, and offered support in a way that makes people feel safe & accepted, while fostering healing.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

spread the gifts of healing to all veterans who have experienced the trauma of combat and the challenges of serving in the armed forces.

Ways to make it better...

more funds were available to include unlimited Veterans.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I remember it was my birthday and my friend highly recommended Taking It Lightly and the Starfish Foundation Inc. She sponsored me and encouraged me to apply for a scholarship so I could participate in Taking It Lightly course. So, I was happy to receive this special birthday gift. Because of the trauma I experienced in my life I was angry at my abusers. Taking It Lightly gave me the opportunity to voice my rage in a safe environment so that I could freely be myself. I received a lot of clarity during the group meditation afterwards. Going through this healing process allowed me to transform to my highest self and I had a vision of my future. I love the positive relationships between men and I have now. I feel like a whole and balanced woman.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More opportunities for people who are disabled and who can't drive to participate in events. Carpooling might help enable more people to volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I am a psychotherapist who got involved with the organization in 1988. I feel that if I don't do my own healing, I can not be an effective therapist. So, I started my healing participating in Taking It Lightly where I was encouraged to feel and safely release pent up emotions that had been hidden away for years. Since then I have become more and more of my authentic self. And a much better therapist because of it. I constantly refer clients to Taking It Lightly and the other programs. I also stay involved by instructing weekends, volunteering and supporting in any way I can.
If anyone wants a life changing experience and is willing to go to any lengths to achieve peace and love in your life, connect with this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found the Starfish Foundation after attending a Taking it Lightly weekend. I left that weekend feeling so free. I was able to release so much anger over situations that I had been holding on to since I was very young. The staff was so supportive and I finally felt safe to confront and release these feelings and emotions that I had buried so deeply inside of me. There was no judgement, only love- I can not thank the staff enough for their support during this release!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers