Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

STARelief saved Teddy's life!!! I have worked in the veterinary field for 30 years. I am a veterinary hospital manager. I have often run into clients that want to do what is best for their pet but are unable to cover the entire cost of their care. This week a young couple with a toddler came in with an injured beloved kitty. A fractured arm was more than they could afford right now, the father was losing work hours soon. They responsibly discussed their financial situation before coming in and at every point of their pet's visit. When I was able to call STARelief and get a donation for them it gave Teddy a shot at life. They committed to the other half of his care and now Teddy is home in recovery. STARelief is thorough, prompt, caring and responsible. It gave me an opportunity to save a kitty's life and make a family happy. THANK YOU STARELIEF!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

I have had the opportunity to volunteer my services for STARelief and Pet Assistance special events throughout the year. You could not have a more endearing organization for me to spend my time with. Helping animals is such an important part of my life and passion. Volunteering at STARelief comes naturally and brings me such joy!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more events and fundraisers-monthly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

Helping at STAR Animal relief is the most rewarding part of my life.Animals and People in need have been helped in deep meaningful ways.Helping a person make their pet well or keeping them home and not giving them up is at times a life changing event for a person.The staff and volunteers as good dedicated people.I am proud and pleased to be able to help. What we need most to deliver the help and services is simple ,donations and volunteers.Please help.Thank you.Peter Suchy

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 14, 2013

I have been volunteering with STARelief and Pet Assistance since it started, and I continue to be proud of the amazing work being done for pets and their owners. It truly is an honor to work with such... more

May 29, 2014

I have been a Board Member for STARelief since it first started, and I am truly amazed every day by the dedicated pet owners that reach out to us for assistance. It takes courage to ask for help, and I commend all of the people who have set aside their own pride in order to be able to keep their pet at home. I feel honored that I am able to be a part of an organization that helps both humans and their pets. Animals are such an amazing part of our lives, and it is so wonderful when pets get to be happy, healthy and home with their humans!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2013

I have been volunteering with STARelief and Pet Assistance since it started, and I continue to be proud of the amazing work being done for pets and their owners. It truly is an honor to work with such dedicated volunteers who donate their time to keep pets happy, healthy and home! We pride ourselves in providing as much support and assistance as possible, to be sure that both the animals, and the humans that love them, are cared for! The community support that we have received has been amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012

I have had the honor of working with STAR since it was founded in February. In a time when so many people are struggling with financial issues, the work that STAR does is priceless. Seeing the joy on the faces of pet owners when they find out they are going to be able to keep their pet because of the food that STAR can provide, or the medical grant STAR is issuing to them, is amazing. Working so closely with not just animals, but the humans that love them, allows me to feel like I really am making a difference! The warmth and dedication that all of the members of Stamford Animal Rescue show to those that they help, is what volunteering is all about!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

I have both volunteered and donated to STARelief. The mission of helping to keep pets in their homes really fills a need. In tough economic times there is help for those who find it difficult providing for their pet. The STARelief Pet Pantry fills this gap. Also the work that STAR does in helping with veterinary costs is a welcome resource for needy pet owners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization sometimes "wanders" from its mission and looks to find fosters or adopters for animals. I feel there are adequate resources for adoptions but the prime mission of STARelief is original and very much in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2014

more

May 6, 2014

I have been volunteering with this organization almost from the beginning. I am so proud to be part of something that does so much for the animal community. Every single person that is part of STARelief is so dedicated to helping these animals, and with each success story I feel more grateful that this organization is here for the animals and their people.
April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

I have volunteered for several nonprofit organizations and I've finally found one where I plan on staying. With a fantastic mission and strong future goals set in place, I know that this organization will grow in their success in helping families and their pets. Amazing volunteers and already a very rewarding opportunity for me!
April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I serve on the board of several non-profit organizations but none has been as rewarding as that of STARelief. Seeing the good work that STAR does to meet the needs of people who, in most cases, would have to surrender their pets to a shelter (or worse!), it fills a tremendous need. The volunteers are a totally dedicated group of individuals who go above and beyond when helping serve clients. STAR fills a niche currently not serviced by most shelters....keeping animals in the homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

extend the outreach of both volunteers and needs of clients. However, as always is the case, all it takes is money!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I recently had a medical emergency with my Shar-Pei, Sasha. She had a tooth broken in an attack by a deer and it eventually became infected and needed extraction, but every vet I spoke with quoted me a price impossible to pay - starting at $800 for a simple extraction up to $3,000 for a root canal. I was devastated at the thought of watching her suffer because of lack of money and began looking for help.

There are many veterinary assistance organizations but most merely help you set up and manage your own online fundraiser. What we needed was a program with emergency funds available immediately for Sasha's painful tooth.

From the first contact onward STARelief handled my problem with the greatest care and professionalism. They were courteous, immediately responsive by phone and email, and expedited my application for funds during a holiday weekend.

They contacted my vet to verify the estimate and even notified me of my award on a holiday date itself. These volunteers went the extra mile to help a suffering dog, and without them I honestly don't know what we would have done.

The very next day Sasha was scheduled for surgery and the broken, painful tooth was successfully extracted. It was even worse than originally thought - splintered deep below the gumline - and a root canal would have been out of the question. Even the extraction was complex.

Sasha was sent home finally comfortable and pain-free with a neatly stitched gum over a missing canine tooth site. Her eating or chewing would not be affected at all. The difference in her behavior was immediate - she was wagging her tail, happy and full of energy again. She must have been completely miserable from the tooth.

I can't thank or praise STARelief highly enough for the wonderful resolution, service, and emergency award they provided Sasha - and over a holiday weekend to boot. Thank you for all you do, STARelief!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 2, 2013

This is my second year volunteering with this organization. I am so proud of how much this organization has accomplished in such a short amount of time. STARelief goes above and beyond to help their ... more

April 25, 2014

Volunteering for STARelief has been extremely rewarding. The best thing about volunteering for this organization is that you not only help pets in need, but the owners has well.

I've been lucky to have meet some wonderful pet owners through STARelief.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see STARelief be able to hire a full-time volunteer so they can assist more pets and people in need

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2013

This is my second year volunteering with this organization. I am so proud of how much this organization has accomplished in such a short amount of time. STARelief goes above and beyond to help their clients and I couldn't be more proud to be working with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find more dedicated volunteers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been lucky enough to become a volunteer for this organization. I also volunteer at our local animal shelter and the number one reason pets are surrendered to the shelter is because pet caretakers can no longer afford to feed or provide medical care for the beloved pets. Stamford Animal Rescue has been able to help pets and the people who love them by providing food, shelter and medical care that is needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Deliver pet food to people in need, transport an animal to a veterinarian appointment, spend a couple of hours doing community outreach at local businesses to promote our programs Volunteer